Speed Trailer Sites

The Maine Bureau of Highway Safety has purchased 17 variable message board / speed trailers for Maine Law Enforcement use. These trailers can collect speed data to assist with grant applications but also have a variable message board feature. The message board can be a static message or warning of a hazard ahead or it can be programmed to change with the speed of the oncoming vehicle. The operators of these trailers can provide a detailed report of the data collected.  These trailers are housed with the agencies listed below but available for loan if you need assistance. Please contact the agency directly to check on availability.


Houlton Police Department

Dover-Foxcroft Police Department

Caribou Police Department

Cumberland County Sheriff's Office (Portland)

Franklin County Sheriff's Office  (Farmington)

Hancock County Sheriff's Office  (Ellsworth)

Knox County Sherriff's Office  (Rockland)

Lincoln County Sheriff's Office (Wiscasset)

Maine State Police    (Bangor)

Maine State Police    (Gray)

Maine State Police    (Skowhegan)

Mount Desert Police Department

Norway Police Department

Veazie Police Department

Wells Police Department

Winslow Police Department

Yarmouth Police Department


Thomas J Reagan
Law Enforcement Liaison for the Maine Bureau of Highway Safety
45 Commerce Dr. STE. 1
164 State House Station (mailing address)
Augusta, ME. 04333

Dirigo Safety, LLC.
Tel: 207-480-0603
Fax: 207-287-3042