Training and Certification
With 100 certified Breath Testing Device instructors throughout the State of Maine, a large percentage of Maine Criminal Justice Academy (MCJA) Breath Testing Device training takes place off site. MCJA does offer several in-service classes each year for Breath Testing Device Certification and Breath Testing Device instructor training which will be posted in this section.
Breath Testing Device Certification Training:
Breath Testing Device Operation and Certification training is intended for any law enforcement or corrections officer that will be using breath testing instruments for evidential purposes. The class is a combination of an interactive lecture and practical exercises to become familiar with the breath testing instrument. Officers that successfully complete the training and exam will receive their operator certification immediately. MCJA classes are typically small and run in conjunction with the full-time law enforcement training academy.
If your agency has a need for certification training and would like to sponsor a class in your region, we can work with you to schedule a class.
Breath Testing Device Re-Certification Training:
Breath Testing Device Re-certification training is intended for any law enforcement or corrections officer whose certification is due to expire. Re-certification classes typically run 2-4 hours depending the number of students and are held regionally and some on-line options are available with an instructor led practical. Students are allowed to attend the training within 6 months of the expiration of their current certificate. Certificates are valid for up to three years.
If your agency has a need for re-certification training and would like to sponsor a class in your region, we can work with you to schedule a class.
Breath Testing Device Instructor Training
MCJA offers Breath Testing Device Instructor training every other year. We alternate years with the SFST Instructor Development program. Students in this class have to have completed MCJA Methods of Instruction (MOI), be a certified Breath Testing Device operator and have a sincere desire to teach, the 40 hour class involves classroom and live teaching segments.
Intox Training Schedule
None at this time.