IMMUNIZATION OF STUDENTS

All students who enroll in the Education in the Unorganized Territory schools (EUT) are required by Maine law to present a certificate of immunization or evidence of immunization or immunity against poliomyelitis, diphtheria, pertussis (whooping cough), tetanus, measles, mumps, rubella and varicella (chicken pox).

One dose of Tetanus/Diphtheria/Pertussis (Tdap) is required for students entering 7th grade.

Immunization against meningococcal disease is required as follows:

- A. One dose of meningococcal vaccine MCV4 is required for students entering 7th grade.
- B. Students entering 12th grade are required to have received two doses of MCV4. The first dose shall have been received on or after the 11th birthday, and the second dose shall have been received on or after the 16th birthday, at least eight weeks after the first dose. Only one dose is required if the first dose is administered when the student is 16 years of age or older.

Non-immunized students shall not be permitted to attend school unless one of the following conditions is met:

- A. The student's parent/guardian provides to the school written assurance that the child will be immunized within 90 days of enrolling in school or his/her first attendance in classes, whichever date is earlier. This option is available **only once** to each student during their school career; or
- B. The parent/guardian provides a written statement each year from a licensed physician, nurse practitioner or physician assistant that, in his/her professional judgment, immunization against one or more of the diseases may be medically inadvisable (as defined by law/regulation).

The Superintendent shall exclude from school any non-immunized student when there is a clear danger to the health of others as provided by law.

The Superintendent/designee is directed to develop such administrative procedures as are necessary to carry out this policy and comply with statutory requirements.

Link to State of Maine Q&A page

Adopted: 1/2025