

MAINE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

23 State House Station AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333

STATE OF MAINE

The State Board of Education held a special meeting on May 21, 2025, at the Burton Cross State Office Building. The following members were present: Chair Fern Desjardins; Vice Chair Paulette Bonneau; Thomas Keller; Edmond Morin; and Denham Ward. James Ford and Victoria Kornfield attended the meeting via zoom.

Absent with Excuse: Wendy Ault; Phat Thai; and Cedar Worster

Others Present: Michael Perry, Director of Higher Education and Educator Support Services; Kristin Smith, Senior Director, Regulatory Strategy and Planning, Global Network and Strategic Initiatives, Northeastern University; Jon Doty, Assistant Superintendent, RSU 34; Jonathan Moody, Superintendent, MSAD 54/RSU 54; Robbie Feinberg, Director of Communications and Government Relations, MSMA.

CALLED TO ORDER:

Chair Fern Designations called the meeting to order at 1:05 PM.

Roll call was taken by Chair Desjardins who declared a quorum present.

VISION STATEMENT:

Read by member, Edmond Morin: The vision of the Maine State Board of Education is that all students will receive a high-quality education leading to graduation with the skills, knowledge, and principles to be prepared for future learning, careers, and life.

ADJUSTMENTS TO THE AGENDA:

No adjustments to the agenda.

PUBLIC COMMENT:

There was no public comment.

NEW BUSINESS:

APPROVAL OF REVIEW COMMITTEE FOR NORTHEASTERN UNIVERSITY PROGRAMS AT ROUX INSTITUTE

<u>BACKGROUND</u>: Northeastern University is an out-of-state institution of higher education operating programs in the state of Maine at Roux Institute. Their programs are offered via out-of-state program approval pursuant to State Board of Education Rule Chapter 149.

Northeastern University has provided information related to the renewal of previous approved programs, corrections/amendments to prior State Board program approvals, and the introduction of new programs for initial approval. These requests will be considered in concert by a review committee coordinated by the Maine Department of Education and approved by the Maine State Board of Education. Rule Chapter 149, Section 2, Part C, Paragraph 5 defines a review committee as "at least three individuals representative of Maine's institution of higher education".

The following individuals have agreed to serve on the Northeastern University Review Committee:

Joan Ferrini-Mundy, PhD, President, University of Maine and Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation, University of Maine System (Chair)

Megan Aube, MS, Graduate Admissions Officer, Thomas College

Dominic Barraclough, PhD, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, University of Southern Maine

Gwen Mahon, PhD, Provost & Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of New England

Non-voting observers of the Northeastern University review will include the following:

Thomas E. Keller, EdD, State Board of Education

Phat Thai, Student Representative, State Board of Education

Laura Cyr, PhD, Maine Department of Education

Michael T. Perry, Maine Department of Education

Pursuant to Rule Chapter 149, the review committee shall "review and evaluate the [institution's] submitted material... [and] meet with institution officials to discuss the details of the proposed offerings". They will "prepare a report based upon a review" which will "include a recommendation as to whether approval should be granted or denied". Final action regarding the institution's application shall be made by a vote of the State Board.

<u>RECOMMENDATION</u>: That the State Board of Education, pursuant to Rule Chapter 149, approve Joan Ferrini-Mundy, PhD; Megan Aube, MS; Dominic Barraclough, PhD; and Gwen Mahon, PhD, as committee members for the review of Northeastern University's application for approval of programs by an out-of-state institution, with Dr.

Ferrini-Mundy serving as committee chair and Dr. Keller and Phat Thai serving as State Board observers.

MOTION by Thomas Keller, seconded by Victoria Kornfield, and unanimously voted by those present that pursuant to State Board of Education Rule Chapter 149, the State Board approve Joan Ferrini-Mundy, PhD; Megan Aube, MS; Dominic Barraclough, PhD; and Gwen Mahon, PhD, as committee members for the review of Northeastern University's application for approval of programs by an out-of-state institution, with Dr. Ferrini-Mundy serving as committee chair and Dr. Keller and Phat Thai serving as State Board observers. The motion was adopted.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- > Upcoming Higher Education Reviews were discussed. Volunteers included:
 - Antioch University James Ford
 - University of New England Fern Desjardins
 - University of Maine at Augusta Victoria Kornfield
 - Thomas College Paulette Bonneau
 - University of Maine at Machias Edmond Morin
 - University of Maine at Presque Isle Fern Desjardins
 - Maine College of Art & Design Denham Ward
- > Submit expense account vouchers to Mary Becker by the 15th day following the month of the expenses incurred. When you have your last meeting in May, please submit your expense voucher so it can get processed.
- ➤ The next regular State Board meeting will be held on Wednesday, June 11, 2025, at 1:00 PM at the Burton Cross State Office Building and virtually via Zoom.

ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting adjourned at 1:22 PM.

Fern Desjardins, Chair Maine State Board of Education