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Teacher of Children With 
Disabilities

Birth to School Age 5
282B



Conditional 
Certification
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Earned at least a bachelor’s degree from an 

accredited college or university, in 

accordance with Part I Section 6.1 of this 

rule; 

Completed a minimum of nine semester 

hours in special education; and

In the first year of employment, be enrolled 

in a Maine approved program for mentoring 

teachers under a Conditional Certificate for 

a special education endorsement.

c

If a potential preschool educator already has a 282 
for K-8 teaching, then they will have the necessary 
degree requirements and 9 semester hours of special 
education coursework to get a conditional 282B as 
soon as they apply.
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Earned at least a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or 
university, in accordance with Part I Section 6.1 of this rule; 
Completed a minimum of three years of experience as an 
Educational Technician III with positive evaluations from 
administrator(s); 

Employed as a special education classroom teacher and received 
positive evaluations annually from a school administrator; 

Accepted into a post-baccalaureate or graduate program in 
special education at an accredited university program; 
Maintained good standing in the program (e.g., grades, 
cumulative GPA, successful academic progress); and 
In the first year of employment, be enrolled in a Maine approved 
program for mentoring teachers under a Conditional Certificate 
for a special education endorsement. Conditional Certification 
Supports in the SEEDS project

Ed Tech III Pathway to Conditional Certification
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Chapter 115
Chapter 115 today

• At least 3 semester hours each in 
• Evaluation & Assessment

• SDI

• Reading (including phonemic awareness 
& phonics)

• At least one course
• UDL

• Inclusion/LRE

• Types of disabilities

• Program planning

• Behavior intervention & supports

• Special Education law

• 3 semester hours in
• Diversity-centered content related to 

today’s classrooms

• Human development/child development

• And for 282B
• 3 semester hours in teaching early 

childhood special education

4
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Supports for Educators 
Needing 282 B Certification in 

Cohort 1

• Reimbursement for certification 
costs
• $100 for conditional license 

issued
• $100 for professional license 

when requirements met

• Coursework reimbursement 
above SAU offerings in contracts



Next Steps
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• Have educators reach out to Tracy 
Whitlock at tracy.w.whitlock@maine.gov 
for assistance

• Educators with 282 licensure should 
apply for the 282 B conditional as soon 
as possible

mailto:tracy.w.whitlock@maine.gov
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Stay Connected!

Find Us Online!
www.maine.gov/doe

@MaineDOEComm

@mainedepted

@mdoenews

@MaineDepartmentofEducation1

http://www.maine.gov/doe
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