

STATE OF MAINE

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION OFFICE OF HIGHER EDUCATION 23 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333

Application Private Business, Trade and Technical School Certificate of License Under The Statutes of The State of Maine (Title 20-A Chapter 323, Section 9501-9508, Maine Revised Statutes)

The Maine Commissioner of Education has been legally authorized as State approving agent to license all privately owned business, trade or technical schools operating and/or soliciting in Maine. The Commissioner desires to render efficient service to students enrolling in such schools. This application must be complete and must be accompanied by the supporting information requested as well as proof of continuous surety bond coverage in the amount of \$20,000. Applications will not be reviewed until all supporting information is submitted to Jason C. Libby, Higher Education Specialist, Department of Education, Office of Higher Education Services, 23 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333.

<u>*Please Note:*</u> Licenses expire the 31st of December each year. Renewal applications should be submitted 30 days prior to expiration.

STATE OF MAINE

APPLICATION FOR PRIVATE BUSINESS, TRADE OR TECHNICAL SCHOOL

INITIAL LICENSURE

(Responses may be referenced to pages in accompanying school catalog or other official publication. Use additional pages as necessary. <u>*Please Note:*</u> The initial licensing process includes an on-site visitation).

1.	Name of School:	
	Address:	
	Owned by:	
	Subsidiary of:	
	Address:	
	Telephone:	Fax:
	E-Mail:	Web Site:
2.	tive Officer - (List or Attach Training and Experience)	
	Name:	
	Title:	
3.	Solicitor(s) -	[Attach list of any solicitors authorized by the school to recruit students in Maine – (if applicant is an out-of-state school)].
	Name:	

Address: -----

doe/i2

4	
4.	Type of School:
5.	Licensing Fee: Enclosed is a licensing fee in the amount of \$100. Checks are to be made payable to the Treasurer, State of Maine.
6.	Surety Bond: Enclosed is a valid surety bond in the amount of \$20,000. as required by 20-A M.R.S.A. 9502. [Note: For schools that participate in state or federal financial aid programs, except the Federal Direct Student Loan Program, the bond must be in favor of the Finance Authority of Maine. For all other applicants, the bond must be in favor of the Department of Education.]
7.	Certificates of Inspection: Valid certificates from the local fire department and the local code enforcement officer (also the state health department if food is prepared and provided on the premises). [Note: Certificates remain valid for four (4) years from the date of initial issuance unless revoked by one or more of these agencies.]
8.	Financial Statements: Enclosed are statements relative to financial stability [Note: If the school participates in state or federal financial aid programs, the application must include the school's most recent financial audit conducted by a certified public accountant unaffiliated with the school. When the school does not participate in these programs, internally prepared financial statements signed by the applicant are acceptable.]
9.	Accreditation Is the school currently accredited? Yes No If so, indicate the name and address of the accrediting agency and the type of accreditation:

10. School Calendar: ----- Enclosed is a copy of the school's calendar for a complete

year showing school semesters/terms and normal enrollment dates.

doe/i3

- 11. Curriculum: ------ Enclosed is a copy of the school's curriculum showing the content of the subject(s) taught, the type of work or skills to be learned, equipment and instructional materials and library resources..
- 12. Student Records: ------ Enclosed is a copy of each form used for student record maintenance purposes. [Note: A cumulative academic record must be maintained for each student that is separate from financial and other records].
- 13. Admissions Requirements: ----- Enclosed is a copy of all catalogs, advertisements, promotional material, circulars, enrollment or application blanks and contract forms.
- 14. Graduation Requirements: ------ Enclosed is a copy of all graduation requirements.
- 15. Attendance Policy: ------ Enclosed is a copy of the attendance policy.
- 16. Standards of Progress:
 - Define the grading system of the school.
 - Indicate the minimum grades considered satisfactory and the minimum level of achievement necessary to graduate.
 - Describe the academic probation policy.
 - Indicate the readmission policy for students dismissed for unsatisfactory progress.
- 17. Qualifications of Instructors: ------ Enclosed is a list of the school's instructors by name, subject(s) taught, education/training, and experience.

18. Total Costs: Tuition and Fees: -----

Room and Board:	
Other (Specify):	
	doe/i4

19. Refund Policy: ------ Enclosed is a copy of the school's refund policy

[Note: The Chief Administrative Officer must certify that:

A. Information has been included in all school brochures and handbooks provided to students and information has been posted in a location in the school frequented by students advising students of their rights to receive refunds and where to direct any complaints the students have concerning their education. (Enclose copies of school brochure(s) and handbook(s); provide a copy of the posted information).

Signature:

Title:	
--------	--

B. The ______ school is in compliance with all applicable federal and state laws and regulations.

Signature:

Title:	