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Multilingual Learner Exemption Guidance:  
Maine Through Year Assessment 

 

Federal law, under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act section 1111(b)(3)(A) as amended by the 
Every Student Succeeds Act, allows for a one-time exemption of “recently arrived English learners who 
have been enrolled in a school in one of the 50 States in the United States or the District of Columbia for 
less than 12 months” from the state summative reading or language arts assessment. 

The Maine Through Year Assessment consists of both a required fall interim reading assessment and a 
required spring summative reading assessment. See the table below for dates for of the exemption of newly 
arrived multilingual learners from the fall and/or spring administrations of the Maine Through Year 
Assessment. 

 

*Please note that the First US Enrollment dates for reading assessment exemptions for the 2026-27 school year are 
expected dates and will be finalized when the 2026-27 assessment calendar is finalized. 

 

Newly Arrived 
Multilingual 

Learners 
First US 

Enrollment 

Interim Reading 
Fall 2025 

(State Requirement) 

Summative Reading 
Spring 2026 

(Federal & State 
Requirement) 

Interim Reading 
Fall 2026 

(State Requirement) 

Summative Reading 
Spring 2027 

(Federal & State 
Requirement) 

First US 
Enrollment:  
On or before 
October 24, 
2024 

Required 

Required 
 

(No exemption; US 
School Entry Date is ≥12 

months from the last 
day of the assessment 

administration) 

Required Required 

First US 
Enrollment:  
October 25, 
2024 to 
May 29, 2025 

Optional 

Required 
 

(No exemption; US 
School Entry Date is ≥12 

months from the last 
day of the assessment 

administration) 

Required Required 

First US 
Enrollment:  
May 30, 2025 to 
October 23, 
2025* 

Optional 

Optional 
 

(One-time exemption; 
US School Entry Date is 

<12 months from the 
last day of the 
assessment 

administration) 

Required Required 

First US 
Enrollment: 
October 24, 
2025 to May 28, 
2026* 

N/A 

Optional 
 

(One-time exemption; 
US School Entry Date is 

<12 months from the 
last day of the 
assessment 

administration) 

Optional  
Required 


