Transition to Public Pre-K and Kindergarten Resources

 

4 young children standing side by side outside, wearing rain boots
Articles and Tip Sheets

Transition to Kindergarten Tip Sheet

Educator Practices for Successful Kindergarten Transitions

Family Engagement in Transitions

Collaborations, Connections and 6 Steps to Success

Early Childhood Transitions: Supporting Children and Families

Information for English Language Learning Families and Migrant Families

English Learner Family Toolkit - US Department of Education

Supporting Migrant and Seasonal Families in Kindergarten Transitions

Welcoming Refugee Children into Early Childhood Classrooms

Supporting Information for Students with IEP's

Maine Parent Federation: Transition to Kindergarten for Parents of Children with Special Needs

Transitioning from Preschool Special Education to Kindergarten

Transition from IFSP Services to PreK IEP Services

Transition Planning Tools

Sample - Individual Child Transition Plan

Transition Planning Form

Family Welcome Questionnaire

District Wide Transition Plan

Transition Documents from Other States and Programs

Texas: Program Self Assessment - Pre-Kindergarten

North Carolina: Terrific Transitions: Ensuring Continuity of Services for Children and Their Families

Head Start Agency: Resources for Kindergarten Transitions 

Education Commission of the States: Transition and Alignment from Preschool To Kindergarten

For additional resources, to share resources and for more information please contact:

Nicole Madore

Early Childhood Specialist

nicole.madore@maine.gov

 

April Perkins

ELS Consultant Title III

april.perkins@maine.gov

 

Marcy Whitcomb

Early Childhood Monitor

marcy.r.whitcomb@maine.gov

 

Deqa Dhalac,

Family Engagement and Cultural Responsiveness Specialist

deqa.dhalac@maine.gov

 

Nena Cunningham

State Head Start Collaboration Director

nena.m.cunningham@maine.gov

Amelia Lyons

Migrant Education Specialist

amelia.lyons@maine.gov