#### **Completing Your Logsheets**

- Log your fishing days and have them initialed by your sponsor(s).
- Only whole hours can be documented. <sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> hours will not be accepted and you must round down to the nearest whole number.
- You may have up to three sponsors. You must keep a separate logsheet for each sponsor.
- Keep the logsheets in your possession. If something happens to your logsheets, you will have nothing to help you document your time.
- You must complete all information on the logsheet.

Completed logsheets MUST be signed by your local Marine Patrol Officer every 250 hours and received by the Department within 30 days of the date the 250<sup>th</sup> hour was logged.

- Time will not be counted if logsheets are not received by the Department within 30 days of the 250<sup>th</sup> hour being logged.
- When requesting a Marine Patrol Officer's signature, you must present your apprentice or student license with the completed logsheet.
- Keep a copy for your records as this is your only receipt. Mail the logsheet to:

Department of Marine Resources 21 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0021 Attn: Apprentice Program

## What are the responsibilities of the sponsor of a lobster apprentice?

The primary purpose of the Lobster Apprentice Program is to ensure that the people entering the fishery understand their responsibilities to the resource and to other fishermen.

- The Sponsor is the individual who will teach the apprentice good fishing practices, local fishing conditions and current laws and regulations.
- Sponsors must purchase their license prior to the apprentice or student naming that sponsor on his/her license application.
- Sponsors must initial the logsheet daily to certify that the apprentice or student license holder has gained experience. This includes the knowledge of a student fishing his/her own traps. Please note
  your license may be suspended for falsification of records if you sign documented time that has not been fished.
- Sponsors should encourage the apprentice to maintain and keep his/her own logsheets complete and up-to-date.
- EVERY zone requires that a sponsor shall have held a Class I, II, or III lobster and crab fishing license for at least 5 years and have the same declared zone the apprentice has declared, in order to sponsor an apprentice/student license holder.

## What happens once my apprentice requirements are completed?

• If you do not meet the age requirements for obtaining a commercial license, you will be placed on the waiting list for that zone based on your eligibility date.

### Maine Lobster Apprenticeship Program



21 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0021 (207) 624-6550, option 2

StudentApprentice.DMR@maine.gov

For questions for the Maine Marine Patrol

Division I – (207) 633-9595 Division II – (207) 664-2392



April 2023

This brochure is designed to answer frequently asked questions pertaining to obtaining a Commercial Lobster and Crab fishing license. If you have any further questions, please contact the Department at the telephone number on the cover. Note: Laws & Rules are subject to change. Do not rely upon this for legal purposes.

## How do I obtain a Commercial Lobster and Crab fishing license?

To obtain a Commercial Lobster and Crab fishing license, you must enter the apprentice program. You may enter the apprentice program by purchasing an apprentice license or student license provided you are eligible for a student license. The apprentice program consists of a minimum of 24 months, documenting 1,000 hours, 200 fishing days with up to three sponsors <u>AND</u> apprentice/student fishermen must provide documentation of successful completion of a United States Coast Guard approved Fishing Vessel Drill Conductor Course.

• See new criteria for eligibility insert.

Apprentices may only enter a zone  $\underline{IF}$  they apprenticed in that zone. Sponsors must have held a Class I, II or III lobster and crab fishing license for at least 5 years and have the same declared zone as the apprentice.

# What is the difference between an Apprentice license and a Student license?

• You must be a student who is at least 8 years of age and under age 23 in order to purchase a student license. If you are age 18 and over, you must provide DMR with verification of at least a half time course of study at a postsecondary

institution accredited by a staterecognized accrediting agency or body.

- Students can purchase the following amount of tags:
  - $\circ$  8–10 years old up to 10 tags
  - $\circ$  11–13 years old up to 50 tags
  - $\circ$  14–22 years old up to 150 tags.
- Students may document fishing days while fishing their own traps, as well as time fishing with their sponsor(s). However, your sponsor(s) must be aware of the time you are fishing your own traps and must sign your log sheets.

Falsification of records may result in license suspension or ability to obtain a commercial lobster license.

NOTE: On your initial commercial license year you are allowed to purchase up to 300 tags. You may only purchase 100 additional tags the following year. For example, if you purchase 100 tags your initial license year, the following year you are only allowed 200 tags.

## What are the responsibilities of an Apprentice or Student?

- Be sure to obtain an apprentice or student license each year *prior* to documenting time. Do not document time without a license, as it will not be counted towards the apprentice program.
- Your sponsor must have a current commercial lobster license prior to you obtaining a student or apprentice license.

- You may document up to 200 hours of your entire apprenticeship as gear time. Gear time does not include boat repairs.
- Your apprenticeship start date begins on the first fishing or gear day documented with an apprentice or student license.
- To meet the requirements of the apprentice program, over a minimum of 24 months, you must document 1,000 hours, 200 fishing days **AND** submit documentation of completion of a United States Coast Guard approved Fishing Vessel Drill Conductor Course.
- If a person has finished 200 logged days, 1,000 hours and provided the Department with documentation of having successfully completed the Fishing Vessel Drill Conductor Course, then their eligibility date is 24 months from the first documented fishing day.
- If a person has been in the program for over 24 months from the first documented fishing day, then the eligibility date is the date the Department receives the completed logs and documentation of the safety course, whichever comes last.