
 

 
Part B: Fishery Information 

License year Jan. 1, 2023 to Dec. 31, 2023 
Commercial Fishing  
                                Single  $48    Crew  $128    Nonresident  $481   
Commercial Fishing Applicants Only: 

Whelk Permit     Yes   No 
Periwinkle                                    Yes   No 
Dragged Crab (otter trawl only)          Yes   No 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
Non Resident Commercial Fishing Special  
Tuna Permit (Tournaments Only) C        $84                                   
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Commercial Pelagic Fishing AM     
                                 Single  $98    Crew  $328    Nonresident  $900 

Herring Permit M  Yes   No 
Whiting Permit M I  Yes   No 
------------------------------------------------------------------- 

**Carrier License (list boat)            $98 
**Before purchasing a carrier license, please confirm that carriers are allowed in the 

fishery you intend to use the license 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 Eel (not for Elvers) M                    $125 
 

*MusselM                            Dragger  $265              Hand  $133 
 

Quahog (Mahogany)                       $128 
*Surf Clam Boat                                    $265 
*Scallop Spat          $75 
                                                                Resident                   Nonresident 
Seaweed M              Primary                 $58                         $230 
                              Supplemental                  $29                         $58  
        
      If supplemental seaweed, please list name of primary license holder. 
        __________________________________________________ 
Notes:   
A– Includes research surcharge.  
I – Whiting permit may be obtained only by Federal permit holders. Fishing nets 
must be inspected before obtaining permit.  Call Marine Patrol at (207) 633-9595 or 
664-2392 for an appointment. 
M – Mandatory reporting. First time applicants must contact DMR  
        Landings Program at (207) 624-6550, Option 1 for reporting requirements 
T – Mandatory training. Print training materials from the DMR website under 
Halibut at http://www.maine.gov/dmr/commercial-fishing/licenses   
C- Fee may be credited towards nonresident commercial fishing license   
     within 30 days of issuance.  This permit is for tuna tournament. 
             
          
  

This form may be used to apply for or 
renew licenses. Please provide all 
information requested. Delays may 
result from incomplete applications. 

LICENSE FEES ARE 
NONREFUNDABLE 

 

 

 

 

 

Part D: Certification / Signature 
      I hereby declare, under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of 
Maine and  the United States of America that the foregoing information is true and 
correct and, if applying for a resident license, that I have read and understood the 
residency requirements listed on the back of this form and meet those requirements. 
 
Did you fish recreationally in tidal waters of the State of Maine last year?        
    

Yes   No 
 
 
Today’s Date _____/_____/_____ 
 
                                     Month      Day     Year 
 

Applicant_____________________________________________
_ 
  SIGNATURE REQUIRED 
 
Print Name______________________________________________ 
 
Parent or 
Guardian____________________________________________________________ 
(Applicants under 18 must have a parent or legal guardian who also meets the residency requirements 
sign this form.) 
 
Under Title 12, §6306, (1)(2) and (3), a person licensed by the Department 
of Marine Resources has a duty to submit to inspection, search and seizure 
by a Marine Patrol Officer.  Failure to comply with this duty may result in 
a license suspension. For the full text of this law – see Title 12, Section 
6306.     
 

 

Marine Harvesting 2023   Landings#_____________  
Commercial Harvesting Application 
  
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Part C: Supplemental Information 

     Fill out all information completely. False statements or 
misrepresentations will result in the revocation of the license and 
prosecution in Court. 
Boat Reg #   ________________   Boat Name  _______________________ 
       

Boat Length   __________  
 
Town of Primary Anchorage   ____________________ 
 
 
 

Part A: Applicant Information            
Last Name :_____________________________ First Name_______________________ 
Social Security #_________________________   Sex______ DOB_________________ 
Eye Color__________________ Hair Color__________________   Height___________ 
Weight_____________ Driver’s License #_____________________________________ 
If no driver’s license - reason_______________ if under 18 parent lic#___________________ 
Resident Licenses cannot have a driver’s license issued by another state. 
Mailing Address: ________________________________________________  
City: _______________________   State: _____   Zip Code: ______________ 
Physical Address:______________________________ Zip Code:___________________ 

(IF DIFFERENT THAN MAILING) 

Email___________________________________________  
Landline#_____________________ Mobile#__________________________  

Must list at least one phone number 
 
 

http://www.maine.gov/dmr/commercial-fishing/licenses


 
Instructions:  
Complete the information in Part A on the front of this form. Check the license(s) and permits requested in Part B and 
calculate the total fees. Fill out all applicable information in Part C. Read the residency requirements included on this 
document and certify your application with your signature in Part D. Send application and/or check made payable to 
Treasurer, State of Maine or fill out the section below for credit card payments, We cannot accept applications by fax or 
phone. If you have questions call (207) 624-6550, Option 2. 
 
Obtain your license online by using our online system-LEEDS.  See link below.   

           https://maine-dmr-leeds-prod.pegacloud.com/ 
 

Mail to: 
Licensing Division 

Department of Marine Resources 
21 State House Station 

Augusta, ME 04333 
 

 
*Residency Requirements: Any individual who has been domiciled in Maine for the past 6 months preceding the date of 
application is eligible for a resident license. A corporation is eligible for a resident license if it has been created and exists under 
the laws of Maine and it has existed in Maine for 6 months preceding the date of application. A firm or partnership is eligible if 
all of its officers or partners have been domiciled in Maine for 6 months preceding the date of application. For the purposes of 
this license application, a resident is a person who: 

A. If registered to vote, is registered in Maine; 
B. If licensed to drive a motor vehicle, has made application for a Maine motor vehicle operator’s license; 
C. If the owner of one or more motor vehicles located within the State, has registered at least one of the motor vehicles in 

Maine; and 
D. If required to file a Maine income tax return on the previous April 15th, filed a Maine income tax return. 

 
 
 
 
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
PAYMENT INFORMATION:  
 
Please make all checks/money orders payable to:  Treasurer State of Maine – We cannot split payments on license fees.  
 
Your check will be processed as an electronic funds transfer (EFT).   
 
     Please check this box if your bank does NOT accept EFT transactions so we can manually submit your check to the 
bank for processing. Please be aware that if an EFT transaction gets rejected by your bank, you will be responsible for the 
payment as well as a $20.00 bank fee.     
 
Credit/debit card payments: I authorize the State of Maine, Department of Marine Resources, Licensing Division, to charge 
my VISA     MasterCard      Discover        Debit card          
 
First Name__________________________________ Last Name______________________________________________ 
MUST BE AS IT APPEARS ON CARD – PLEASE PRINT LEGIBLY AS THIS MAY AFFECT PROCESSING OF 
APPLICATION 
 
Card No. ________________________________________  CVV#_____________ expiration date _________________ 
 
Signature of Cardholder: __________________________________________________  Date: _____________________ 
 
Your credit card or checking account will be charged for what you have applied for on this application  

https://maine-dmr-leeds-prod.pegacloud.com/
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