Shellfish Advisory Council (ShAC) Meeting Minutes

June 6, 2019 Augusta, Deering Building

Council Members Present: Fiona de Koning, Dan Curtis, Tony Delano, Scott Moody, Mike Danforth, Bridie McGreavy, Jeff McKeen.

Council Members Absent: Kevin Brodie, Jim Norris, Glen Melvin, Dick Douty.

DMR Staff in Attendance: Kohl Kanwit, Sheena Glover, Bryant Lewis

10:05: Called to order by Fiona de Koning

10:06: Roll call & introductions by Sheena Glover

10:07: Review & adoption of minutes – Dan Curtis Motioned to accept as read, Scott Moody 2nd. Motion passed unanimous.

10:08 Agenda Item 1: Discussion of ShAC structure in response to LD961- Fiona de Koning & Kohl Kanwit

Kohl Kanwit was asked to do the Legislative update out of agenda order. Kohl detailed LD961 bill (See Attachment) adding that after the budget is passed the bill will be sent to the appropriations committee to determine if the designated \$50,000 from the General Fund is available.

Fiona de Koning made a motion to readdress the structure voted on at the last meeting of the Shellfish Advisory Council, Mike Danforth 2^{nd} . Motion unanimously carried.

Tony Delano offered his concern that representation on the ShAC is not equal between municipal and state harvesters. Scott Moody stated that if the words "primarily soft-shell clam harvesters" were changed to read "commercial shellfish harvesters" it would solve the problem. Fiona de Koning asked if the council wants to consider all species or just focus on clams as was the original intent when the council was created. Kohl Kanwit expressed that in the bill that establishes the Shellfish Research Fund, it is for shellfish not just clams. Ms. Kanwit continued that it would make sense to broaden the scope to all shellfish since the ShAC would be advising on expenditures of the Shellfish Research Fund. Dan Curtis stated he would like DMR to put conservation efforts on to hard shell clams. Tony Delano responded that conservation efforts are already done for hard shell clams. Mr. Delano than said he would like to have a Marine Patrol position on the council. An audience member stated that adding a Marine Patrol would be a conflict as the officer is an employee of the state. Ms. de Koning asked if the council wished to change the number of seats and asked how many seats on the council would be practical? Scott Moody said 13, Mike Danforth said 15 (adding a scientific seat, as well as a hard-shell clam harvester seat). Ms. de Koning asked if by adding seats would that change the minimum required for a quorum? Ms. Kanwit replied it would. Dan Curtis commented that he would like to see an economic seat added. A member of the audience then asked that by adding the other types of seats wouldn't that then change the dynamic of the council. Ms. Kanwit stated in response to the concern of harvesters not being present for this discussion, that any recommendations the ShAC makes will still go through a public process. Jeff McKeen motioned for there to be 13 members, 4 must be commercial harvesters. Mike Danforth 2nd. 2 against, 1 abstain, motion passed.

Scott Moody motioned to change from 2 municipal wardens to 2 municipal representatives. Mike Danforth 2nd. The seconding was removed, and Scott Moody changed his motion to be 1 municipal warden and 1 shellfish committee member. Jeff McKeen 2nd. Unanimously passed.

Scott Moody motioned to keep 13 members and a non-voting advisory seat in the science field. Dan Curtis 2nd. Motioned approved unanimously.

11:07 - 11:18 Break

11:19 Called to order - Fiona de Koning

11:20 Restructure continued: Fiona de Koning made a motion to amend the waste water treatment plant position to be waste water treatment or municipal code enforcement officer. Dan Curtis 2nd. Unanimously passed.

11:21 Agenda Item 2 - Nominations of New Members

At large seat: Jessica Joyce of Tidal Bay Consulting was nominated. Jessica stated that her education is in policy not science. Jessica did comment that Ethel from Manomet might also be an option.

Warden Seat: Charlie Tetreau Warden for Freeport

Andrew Feeney Warden for Harpswell – due to being a sheriff's deputy, with patrol areas constantly changing likely not to be available.

William Owen Warden for Yarmouth

Aquaculture seat: Ryan McPherson

Municipal Wastewater seat: Lewis Pinkham from Milbridge Water district.

Sarah Randall from Freeport Sanitation District.

Harvester Seat: (Eastern Maine) Victor Doyle, Larry Martin, Abden Simmons, Joe Price.

11:47 Agenda Item 3: Legislative updates (See Attachment)

12:00 Work Plan:

Keith Evans from the University of Maine provided a brief introduction to the economic impacts of marine shellfish. Offering a detailed presentation at a future meeting.

Gabby Hillyer from the University of Maine introduced the Learning Network. Noting at the next meeting she would provide a detailed presentation.

Bryant Lewis provided a PSP update.

Kohl Kanwit gave an update on the biennial ISSC meeting.

Dan Curtis spoke of criminalization of municipal violations, stating that in 1954 the fine was \$300.00, today 65 years later it is still \$300.00. Dan also mentioned possibly requiring labels for gallons of shellfish meat. It was pointed out that tagging requirements already make dealers designate harvest areas.

Bridie McGreavy asked that Shellfish focus day be added to the work plan.

12:58 Scott Moody motioned to adjourn, Mike Danforth 2nd. Unanimously motion passed.