

Notice to Menhaden License holders:

Good afternoon,

Many of you may be aware that the Legislature recently passed LD 1908, An Act to Limit Eligibility for Commercial Menhaden Fishing Licenses. This bill proposed to establish the criteria that an individual would need to meet in order to be eligible for a **commercial** menhaden license in the **2023** licensing year. **The Department's bill was amended through the legislative process and the criteria were changed.** The law that was ultimately passed requires that in order to be eligible for a commercial menhaden license in 2023, an individual must meet the following criteria:

- You must have held a license that authorized you to fish commercially for menhaden in any **2 of the 3 years between 2019 and 2021**. As a reminder, since menhaden licensing changed over this this time, these are the licenses that you need to have held to meet this criteria:
 - o 2019: Commercial pelagic and anadromous license
 - o 2020: Commercial pelagic and anadromous license WITH menhaden endorsement
 - 2021: Commercial menhaden license
- In addition, you must have had at least 25,000 lbs of landings in either 2019, 2020, 2021, or 2022.

For clarity, if you do not meet the license criteria in the first bullet above (2 of the 3 years from 2019-2021) you cannot become eligible for a commercial license in 2023 by getting a license in 2022. The 2022 season may only be used to qualify with regard to the 25,000 lbs landings requirement. Individuals who falsify reports will be summonsed and other commercial fisheries licenses may be suspended.

After the conclusion of the 2022 season, DMR will make the determination regarding which license holders have met the eligibility criteria for a 2023 license. In the meantime, if you have questions about your license history, please contact the Licensing Division at (207) 624-6550, Option 2. If you have questions about your landings history, you can obtain your landings information by completing a form provided by the Landings Division, which you can reach at (207) 633-9500, Option 2.

Based on the Department's analysis of this new law there is the potential for over 600 people to become eligible for a 2023 license. Nearly 400 fishermen may increase their efforts in 2022 to try to meet the

25,000 landings threshold. Because this is many more harvesters than have ever previously participated in a single season, DMR is concerned that we will very quickly catch the quota associated with the state allocation fishery (2.1 million lbs, same as last season). While the current regulation specifies four harvesting days the week beginning June 13, harvesters should be aware that the Department may need to use emergency regulations to further limit days and/or landing levels to ensure the quota is not exceeded.

Fair winds to you and yours.

Melissa D. Smith Marine Resource Management Coordinator - Scallop & Pelagic Fisheries Maine Department of Marine Resources 21 State House Station, 32 Blossom Lane Augusta, ME 04333-0021 Updated contact info: Call or text (207) 441-5040

DO NOT REPLY TO THIS EMAIL AS RESPONSES ARE NOT MONITORED.

This service is provided to you at no charge by <u>Maine Department of Marine Resources</u>.