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Aquaculture Lease Expansion Guidance 
 

You are encouraged to review the aquaculture lease expansion laws and regulations to obtain a complete 

understanding of the aquaculture lease expansion procedure. Laws and regulations are available at the 

Maine Department of Marine Resources (DMR) website: www.maine.gov/dmr/aquaculture 

 

An expansion application is a joint application to be used by the DMR and the U.S. Army Corps of 

Engineers (USACOE). Written authorization from both agencies is required before aquaculture 

activities may be conducted within the expansion area.  Information regarding the USACOE permit is 

available at: 

https://www.nae.usace.army.mil/Portals/74/docs/regulatory/StateGeneralPermits/ME/Maine-General-

Permit-2015.pdf 

 

• The expansion application only applies to existing standard leases. 

 

• Expansion acreage can be up to 25% of the existing lease or 4 acres, whichever is less.   

 

• If the current lease contains multiple tracts, the expansion must be proportional to each tract.  The 

dimensions of the proposed expansion must be reasonably based on the original lease 

dimensions. 

 

• Approved expansions do not amend other aspects of the current lease operations.  If a 

fundamental change to the current operation is desired, the applicant must apply for an 

amendment and expansion of the current lease, separately. 

 

• The Department of Marine Resources has the discretion to require an environmental 

characterization of the proposed expansion. 

 

• The application fee for a lease expansion is $500 for non-discharge leases and $2000 for 

discharge leases. 

 

• Procedure:  The procedure for a lease expansion follows DMR regulations as described in 

Chapter 2.61. 

  DMR determines expansion application is complete and establishes a 30-day comment 

period 

 Applicant notifies landowners within 1,000 feet and municipal officers in the town in 

which the lease is located of the expansion application and the 30-day comment period 

 DMR publishes notice of the expansion application and the 30-day comment period in the 

local newspaper 

 The Commissioner of DMR renders a decision regarding the expansion 
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