Organizational Structure of the Maine Marine Patrol

The Bureau of Marine Patrol is divided into two regional divisions with a lieutenant and support personnel at division offices in Boothbay Harbor and Lamoine, and a main office in Augusta. Each division is divided into three sections with a sergeant supervising five field officers and one boat specialist per section. The Commissioner, Chief of Marine Patrol and the Major are based at the main office.

The Maine Marine Patrol when fully staffed employs 52 uniformed state law enforcement officers. The entire Department of Marine Resources employs approximately 160 personnel. The staff of the Maine Department of Marine Resources has experienced a rich heritage and to this day continues its proud tradition of serving the citizens of the State of Maine.