
Reportable Events Matrix 

OCFS utilizes an electronic system of collection of Reportable Events from all OCFS children's providers.  The 
electronic system identified is web-based through the Enterprise Information System (EIS), which is familiar for 

many providers.  

NOTICE: This Reportable Events Matrix governs only the provider’s obligation to report Reportable Events using 
EIS. Cross-references to reporting abuse and neglect to the CPS/APS hotlines by mandated reporters are provided 
as a convenience to the provider. All mandated reporters are responsible for educating themselves about their 
obligations under Maine’s mandated reporter statutes and for participating in all trainings required by those 
statutes. REPORTING OF REPORTABLE EVENTS DOES NOT RELIEVE AN INDIVIDUAL OF THEIR DUTY TO REPORT 
UNDER MAINE’S MANDATED REPORTER STATUTES, 22  M.R.S. §§ 4011-A AND 4012 AND 22  M.R.S. § 3477.  

Mandated reports  under 22 M.R.S. §§ 4011-A and 4012 and 22 M.R.S. § 3477 include any known or suspected 
abuse and/or neglect by a caregiver. 

Any concerns related to a child in DHHS custody should be reported directly to the child’s guardian (or designee) or 
to CPS intake if outside of normal business hours (e.g. nights/holidays/weekends). 

For clients under 18 years old, report to CPS intake: 1-800-452-1999 (TTY Maine Relay 711) 
For clients age 18 and older, report to APS intake: 1-800-624-8404 (TTY Maine Relay 711) 

EIS REPORTS TO OCFS SHOULD BE SUBMITTED ELECTRONICALLY AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, AND MUST BE SUBMITTED 
NO LATER THAN THE NEXT BUSINESS DAY.  

Some reports must be made by phone within 4 hours of the event, as noted in the matrix below. 

Reportable Events that must be reported within 4 hours must be made by phone to: 
In State Providers: Lana Pelletier, LCSW, (207) 624-5391 

Out of State Providers: Cassie Antonelli, LCSW, (207) 557-1753 

As soon as possible thereafter, the Reportable Event must also be entered into EIS. 

For more information about Reportable Events, reporting of suspected abuse and neglect by mandated reports, 
and to access additional resources (including EIS Access/Removal Request and Staff Update Form and a Microsoft 
Word version of OCFS Reportable Event Form), please visit https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/provider-
resources/staff-development-training/reportable-events  

For clients age 18-21, all Reportable Events must be reported to OCFS EXCEPT for those clients that are eligible for 
OADS services. For those clients eligible for OADS services, please report to OADS following their Reportable 
Events guidelines found at https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oads/providers/adults-with-intellectual-
disability-and-autism/reportable-events  

https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/provider-resources/staff-development-training/reportable-events
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/provider-resources/staff-development-training/reportable-events
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oads/providers/adults-with-intellectual-disability-and-autism/reportable-events
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oads/providers/adults-with-intellectual-disability-and-autism/reportable-events


 

 

 

REPORTABLE EVENTS MATRIX 

Reportable Event Type Reportable Event Mandated CPS/APS Report 
 Report to OCFS via EIS Report to OCFS via Child 

Protective Intake or APS 
DEATH (Must Report within 4 hours)   
Death of a client for any reason X  
Death of a client due to suspected abuse or neglect X X 
Homicide by client or household member X X 
SERIOUS INJURY TO CLIENT   
Serious Injury of client requiring immediate/emergency 
medical attention (REPORT SERIOUS INJURIES EVEN 
WHEN TREATMENT WAS NOT SOUGHT IMMEDIATELY, 
for example 2ND DEGREE SUNBURN) 

X Residential and Treatment 
Foster Care Only  

MEDICATION ERROR   
Medication error requiring emergency medical care X Residential and Treatment 

Foster Care Only  

Medication errors not resulting in the need for medical 
intervention (Do not report refusals) 

X  

ABUSE AND NEGLECT   
Alleged Abuse by a Provider (Sexual Abuse/Exploitation, 
Physical, Verbal/Emotional, Neglect) 

X X  
 

Alleged Abuse by a Non-Professional Caregiver (Sexual 
Abuse/Exploitation, Physical, Verbal/Emotional, 
Neglect) 

 X 

Alleged Abuse of a minor client by another client 
(Sexual Abuse/Exploitation or Physical Abuse) due to 
negligence on the part of staff. 

X Residential and Treatment 
Foster Care Only  

SUICIDE (Must report death by suicide within 4 hours 
under DEATH category) 

  

Serious suicide attempt or threat X Residential and Treatment 
Foster Care Only 

DANGEROUS SITUATION   
Missing/Runaway Client (*Must Report within 4 hours 
of when staff first realize client is unaccounted for)  

Residential and Treatment 
Foster Care Only 

Treatment Foster Care Only 

Law enforcement involvement and/or arrest of client. 
(Only report when police physically respond to the 
situation-do not report proactive calls to police 
department) 

X  

Any act or situation that endangers a client – does not 
have to result in harm or injury 

X  

Serious property damage by client. X  
Major Physical Plant Disasters (must report within 4 
hours) 

X  

RESTRAINT/ISOLATION   
Any use of approved restraint/isolation procedures.  X  
RIGHTS LIMITATIONS/RESTRICTIONS    

Any limitation/restriction of a child’s rights as defined in 
the Rights of Recipients of Mental Health Services who 
are Children in Need of Treatment by a Provider 
(REPORT ALL SECLUSIONS AND UNAPPROVED 
PHYSICAL INTERVENTIONS HERE) 

X  



OCFS REPORTABLE EVENT GUIDANCE 

For questions with in-state reportable events and to make reports requiring a 4-hour phone call per 
the above matrix, please call Lana Pelletier at (207) 624-5391. 

For questions with out-of-state reportable events and to make out-of-state reports requiring a 4-hour 
phone call per the above matrix, please call Cassie Antonelli at (207) 557-1753.  

• Abuse and Neglect: Physical/Verbal abuse of client.  Please note only abuse of a client by 
provider or another client must be submitted in EIS.  ANY abuse--including by family members 
or any non-professional caregivers-- should be reported to the CPS/APS hotline.  

o Describe abuse.  By whom? Witnessed by others or client disclosure?  Include the location 
where abuse occurred. 

o  Describe response to abuse.  Has client received follow up for physical and psychological 
well-being by providers?  Has CPS/APS been contacted? Other steps taken? 

o Indicate which type of abuse (physical, sexual, neglect, verbal/emotional) and indicate if 
abuse was by provider (staff) or another client (report abuse by family/nonprofessional 
caregivers to CPS/APS hotline only). 

o Report all types of sexual abuse including exploitation. Sexual exploitation may include 
exposing a client to pornographic material.   

o If a client exposes him/herself to other clients, report the aggressor under “Dangerous 
Situation” and report all victims under the “Abuse” category. 

 
• Dangerous Situations: means an act or situation that endangers a client, including dangers that 

have been ignored or uncorrected.  Actual harm or injury need not occur. Describe provider 
response following the event summary.  Some examples of Dangerous Situations are below; 
please note this is not an exhaustive list of scenarios that must be reported. Please reach out to 
the Reportable Events Coordinator with any questions. 

o Arson; 

o Attempted homicide; 

o Building/Home rendered uninhabitable (e.g. fire, flood, infestation)-this includes any 
time a client is unable to sleep in their designated PNMI and is considered a Major 
Physical Plant Disaster and a 4 hour report is necessary (see matrix); 

o Police/Law Enforcement physically responding to the situation (do not report proactive 
phone calls in which police do not respond to the situation); 

o Significant Property Damage (causing possible danger to self or others); 

o Injury to staff by client (requiring outside medical attention); 



o Missing person/runaway; 

 For services other than Residential Treatment, Crisis Units, and Therapeutic 
Foster Care, missing person/ runaway would ONLY be reported if it occurred 
during the provision of the Maine Care service.  

 A client is only considered a missing person/runaway if STAFF have lost sight of 
the client and they haven’t been located within 4 hours. (Report to EIS AND call 
Reportable Events Coordinator within 4 hours of when staff realize client is 
unaccounted for if the client is not located within that four-hour period. In-state 
providers call Lana Pelletier at (207) 624-5391; out-of-state providers call Cassie 
Antonelli at (207) 557-1753.  Leave voice mail if after hours). 

o Injury to client by another client/client-to-client aggression (submit victim report under 
abuse category on the same day; if both clients are aggressors, report both under 
Dangerous Situation), 

o Specific Type Other (Please Specify: for example, client climbing on unit roof, client in 
possession of staff keys and gaining access to unit vehicles, client spraying cleaning 
supplies on peers, etc).  

o For Targeted Case Management and other community providers, do not report events 
that do not occur during the provision of your service.  The only events you are required 
to report in EIS outside the provision of services are death and serious suicide attempts. 
Example:  A parent tells you about a dangerous situation that happened the day before you 
arrived (child getting hurt at park).  This would not be an event you are expected to report. 

• Restraint/ Isolation 

o Complete all text boxes answering all guiding questions: 

o  The antecedent (triggers, what happened to lead up to the restraint or isolation).  

o Include staff’s preventative strategies to de-escalate the client (I.e., which parts of the 
client’s behavioral or crisis plan you implemented). 

o Describe the physical intervention/restraint (restraint model, etc.). Both debriefing with 
the client AND staff debriefing should be summarized. Depending on developmental 
needs of client, he/she may not be able to debrief. Address psychological well-being of 
the client as much as possible.   Staff debriefing should reflect that planning is ongoing 
to reduce/avoid the need for physical intervention, such as updates to crisis plan and 
new strategies to avoid physical restraint. 

o Injuries/medical follow up. 

Please note: Multiple restraints/isolations that were part of the same behavioral episode can be 
submitted as a single Reportable Event.  An episode would be considered ended when the client re-
integrates back into the milieu. 

o Prone restraints are prohibited for Maine clients and should be reported under the 
“Rights Limitation/Restriction” category. 



Isolation: means involuntary removal of a client from a stimulus. Isolation may mean in 
an unlocked room with adequate supervision, but shall not mean confinement in a 
locked room. Time out in a bedroom, if involuntary, is isolation. 

• Serious Injury to Client: means any harm to a client that requires emergency/medical services.  
The key words are “requires emergency services.”  For example, if a client sustains a cut while 
playing outside that is treated with antiseptic and a band-aid, there is no need to report this to 
EIS.   In the case of an injury that was not immediately treated but is found to be serious (2nd 
degree sunburn treated the next day, for example), this should be reported as well.  In the event 
of questions, please call the Reportable Events Coordinator. 

o Describe the type of injury and what caused the injury. 

o Describe response.  What treatment was received and where did the client receive 
treatment? 

• Rights Limitations/Restrictions:  A limitation or restriction of rights happens when a person 
violates any of the provisions contained in the following Maine rules: 

o  For clients under 18 years of age: Rights of Recipients of Mental Health Services who are 
Children in Need of Treatment, which can be found at:  
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/about-us/policy-rules  

o For clients age 18-21: Rights of Recipients of Mental Health Services, which can be found 
at:  
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/obh/support-services/rights-and-legal-issues/rights-of-
recipients   
 

o Please note that any seclusion in a residential or outpatient setting violates the Rights 
of Recipients of Mental Health Services who are Children in Need of Treatment and 
must be reported under the “Rights Limitation/Restriction” category. 
Seclusion: means the placement of a client alone in an isolation room from which exit 
is denied. 

 
o Any unapproved restraint—including unapproved escorts (for example, dragging a 

client)—must be reported under the “Rights Limitation/ Restriction” category. 
 
o Prone restraints are prohibited for Maine clients and must be reported under the 

“Rights Limitation/Restriction” category.  

• Suicidal Attempts/Threats 

o Only report serious attempts/threats or suicides (verbal/gestural threats can be 
reported as a Dangerous Situation if they resulted in crisis response or other 
emergency service). 

https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/about-us/policy-rules
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/obh/support-services/rights-and-legal-issues/rights-of-recipients
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/obh/support-services/rights-and-legal-issues/rights-of-recipients


 Suicidal Attempts/ Threats: means when a client attempts, or threatens, to take 
their life.    

o Describe the event. Provide a brief description of what happened including known 
antecedents.  Include information about history of this behavior. For example, is this a 
first attempt or does the client have a known history of serious attempts? 

o  Describe provider response.  How did staff respond?  Describe assessment of the 
act/attempt/threat.  If treatment is received, indicate the type and location of that 
treatment.  If you determine that client did not require outside treatment, what follow 
up occurred in the setting?  

o For more information about language describing suicidal behavior, visit 
https://www.maine.gov/suicide/about/language.htm.  

o National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-8255. 

o Maine Crisis Hotline 1-888-568-1112. 

 

https://www.maine.gov/suicide/about/language.htm

