Driver Education And Evaluation Programs (DEEP) Frequently Asked Questions
On this page..
DEEP, or the Driver Education and Evaluation Programs of the Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services, Department of Health and Human Services, administers the Impaired Driving Programs in the State of Maine. The goals of the program include providing effective, efficient and meaningful interventions for impaired drivers according to Maine Law so that public safety is maintained.
The DEEP does not have an online course, all services must be completed in person. Individuals should contact the DEEP Office at (207) 626-8600 to sign up for a DEEP Program.
Under the authority of the Maine State Legislature. All of DEEP's programs are mandated by the state statute and regulations.
The Under 21 Program for underage offenders, the Risk Reduction Program for adult offenders and the Completion of Treatment Program for those offenders who choose to go straight into treatment.
Persons with one or more alcohol-or other drug-related motor vehicle offenses.
The 20-hour Risk Reduction Program is offered approximately 150 times per year in approximately 25 communities around the state.
Yes. Underage offenders attend the 16-hour Under 21 Program.
Contact the DEEP office at 207-626-8600 to register for a program.