What’s New at DSER
For clients who have never received assistance, effective October 1st the fee of $25 per year charged once the state collects more than $500 each year will increase to a fee of $35 per year when more than $550 has been collected.
Effective July 29, 2016, the Maine Child Support Guideline Table has a new look! We have changed the format from a two-tier system taking into account the age of the child (one for children up to age 11, the other for children aged 12-18/19) to one only taking into account the number of children in the family. Recent studies have shown that there is no longer a significant cost difference in raising older children (base costs, not including child care and extracurricular activities), so splitting the table is not necessary. This new format will greatly reduce confusion and calculation errors and prevent underpayments and overpayments. Click the links for the new Child Support Guideline Table and Child Support Worksheet
The Maine Parentage Act became effective on July 1, 2016. This legislation clarifies parentage issues involving same-sex relationships, births from assisted reproduction and de facto parents, and institutes a non-marital presumption of parentage. The statute may be found here.
The Division now has a Client Portal where you can check the status of your case, disbursement and payment information and even print out a list of payments. To register in the portal you will need your PIN used for the Voice Response System. To go to the portal click on Client Portal.
Parties who need the standard child support withholding order should download the payor notice. The standard child support withholding order, Income Withholding for Support (IWO), is sent to the Non-Custodial Parent's employer for child support withholding.