
                                                                                                      

RETAIL TOBACCO SALES BRIEF COMPLIANCE TIPS 

 

What is a Tobacco Product? 
A tobacco product is a product that is made from or derived from tobacco, or that contains nicotine, that is 

meant to be smoked, heated, chewed, absorbed, dissolved, inhaled or ingested by any other means. 

Tobacco products includes, but are not limited to, cigarettes, cigars, hookah, pipe tobacco, chewing 

tobacco, snuff, snus, electronic smoking devices, and any component or accessory used in the 

consumption of a tobacco product, such as filters, rolling papers, pipes and liquids used in electronic 

smoking devices, whether or not they contain nicotine.  Matches and lighters are not considered tobacco 

products. 

 

A retail tobacco sales license required  
A person or entity must obtain a retail tobacco license in order to sell or give away tobacco products 

including cigarettes, cigars, hookah, pipe tobacco, chewing tobacco, snuff, snus, electronic smoking 

devices and any components or accessories used in the consumption of tobacco products, such as filters, 

rolling papers, pipes and liquids used in electronic smoking devices, whether or not they contain nicotine. 

Any and all sales of tobacco products by a retailer without a retail tobacco license may result in criminal 

charges, imprisonment, and fines in excess of $1,000 per violation. 

 

Licenses are issued by the Health Inspection Program at the Maine Department of Health and Human 

Services. Licenses are due annually by April 1st. Licenses may be renewed 60 days prior to expiration 

of March 31st.  

 

Tobacco 21 
A person may not sell, furnish, give away or offer to sell, furnish or give away a tobacco product to any 

person who is younger than 21 years old. Tobacco products may not be sold to any person under 30 years 

old unless the seller first verifies that person's age by means of reliable photographic identification 

containing the person's date of birth. 

 

A notice must be posted by the tobacco retailer explaining that sales of tobacco products to people who 

are younger than 21 years old are prohibited. Notices must be displayed clearly in the retail store.  

 

Free Signage available: https://www.mainepreventionstore.com 

Free Retail Tobacco Training for Employer and Employees: www.nobutstraining.com 

 

U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved Nicotine Replacement Therapy (NRT) is not 

considered a tobacco product and is available for retail sale for persons 18 years and older. 

 

Display of Tobacco Products for sale 
Tobacco products must be displayed or offered for sale in a manner that does not allow the customer 

direct access to the tobacco products. Tobacco Products must be placed behind the sale counter or in a 

locked display case, where only the age appropriate sale clerk can obtain the tobacco product. 

 

No Online Sales, face-to-face transactions only 
Tobacco products may only be sold in a direct, face-to-face exchange in which the customer may be 

clearly identified. It is illegal to sell or deliver tobacco products to Maine consumers online or over the 

phone. For direct, face-to-face sales, employees who sell tobacco products must be at least 17 years of 

age. An employee who is 17 years of age or older and under 21 years of age may sell tobacco products 

only in the presence of an employee who is 21 years of age or older and is in a supervisory capacity.  

https://www.mainepreventionstore.com/
http://www.nobutstraining.com/

