
GENERAL INFORMATION 

 

When a marriage ceremony is performed in Maine, 

there are certain procedures that must be followed.  

Data, Research, and Vital Statistics (DRVS) or the 

municipal clerk who issued the license will have 

already made sure that the parties to be married are 

free to marry and have complied with the laws of 

Maine.  However, there are several duties for which 

the person performing the marriage (officiant) is 

directly responsible: 

 

1. The parties to be married must present a valid 

State of Maine marriage license to the marriage 

officiant.  (See section on who can perform a 

marriage in Maine.)   
 

2. The marriage license is only valid for a 

ceremony taking place in the State of Maine and 

must not be used outside the State, nor does a 

marriage license issued by another State or 

Country authorize marriage in Maine. 
 

3. Marriage by proxy (or online) is not permitted in 

the State of Maine.  
 

4. The officiant must review the license to ensure 

that both the issuing official and the parties have 

signed and that the license has not expired.  

Typically, the license is signed by the parties in 

front of a municipal clerk when the license is 

issued, but if the license is unsigned, it may be 

signed by the parties in front of the officiant. 
 

5. Once the marriage ceremony has been 

performed, the officiant must have two witnesses 

who were physically present for the ceremony 

sign the license.   
 

6. The officiant must complete the ceremony 

section of the marriage license. 

 
7. The officiant or the parties must file the 

completed license with the official who issued it 

within 15 days after the marriage ceremony was 

performed.  

   

WHERE CAN I GET A MARRIAGE 

LICENSE? 

 

A Maine marriage license is valid for 90 days from 

the date the intentions are filed.  The residence of 

the parties to be married determines where the 

marriage intentions must be filed, and the marriage 

license is issued.  Please see the examples below.   

 

a) If both the parties reside in the State of 

Maine, in the same municipality, the 

marriage intentions must be filed in the 

municipality in which they reside to obtain 

a marriage license.  The parties are free to 

marry anywhere within the State of Maine. 
 

b) If both the parties reside in the State of 

Maine, but in separate municipalities, they 

may file their marriage intentions at either 

of the municipalities (they do not have to 

file in both) to obtain a marriage license. 

They are free to marry anywhere within the 

State of Maine. 
 

c) If one of the parties resides in the State of 

Maine, and the other party is a non-resident 

of Maine, then they must file their marriage 

intentions in the municipality where the 

Maine resident lives to obtain a marriage 

license. They are free to marry anywhere 

within the State of Maine. 
 

d) If both parties reside outside of the State of 

Maine, they may file their marriage 

intentions at any municipality to obtain a  

marriage license.  (DRVS recommends 

filing in the municipality where the 

marriage ceremony is to be performed.)  

They are free to marry anywhere within the 

State of Maine. 
 

e) In the event a municipal office is closed, 

marriage intentions may be filed at DRVS.  

Please call the office to make an 

appointment at (207) 287-3771.   

Some municipalities may require appointments 

to be made for the issuance of a marriage license.  

Please call or visit the municipalities’ website for 

more information and their hours of operation.   

 

RESPONSIBILITY OF THE PARTIES 

 

▪ The parties to be married are responsible for 

filing marriage intentions and obtaining a 

marriage license to provide to the marriage 

officiant before the marriage ceremony is 

performed. (See section on who can perform 

a marriage in Maine.)   
 

▪ Parties must provide the issuing official 

with acceptable identification before a 

marriage license is issued.  The name and 

sex/gender indicated on the identification 

provided must match the information 

provided on the marriage intentions.   
 

▪ Parties who have been previously married 

must prove they are free to marry in the 

State of Maine by presenting the issuing 

official with a certified copy of a death or 

divorce certificate, depending on how the 

previous marriage ended. 
 

▪ Effective September 25, 2025, parties under 

the age of 18 are not permitted to be married 

in the State of Maine.  

 

 

▪ If a party intends to change their name after 

marriage, their new proposed name must be 

provided on the marriage intentions and 

marriage license.   
 

▪ Once the officiant receives the marriage 

license from the parties, the marriage license 

is then the responsibility of the officiant.   
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WHO CAN PERFORM A MARRIAGE IN THE 

STATE OF MAINE? 

 

The following persons are authorized to solemnize 

marriages in Maine: 
 

• If the officiant is a resident of this state: 
 

1. Justice or judge. 

2. A lawyer admitted to the Maine Bar; or 

3. A marriage officiant licensed under Title 5, 

section 90-G. 
 

• Whether the officiant is a resident or nonresident 

of this State and whether a citizen of the United 

States: 
 

1. An ordained minister of the gospel.  

(Ordinations obtained online are 

acceptable.)   

2. A cleric engaged in the service of the 

religious body to which the cleric belongs; 

or 

3. A person licensed to preach by an 

association of ministers, religious seminary 

or ecclesiastical body. 
 

• A nonresident of Maine who has a temporary 

registration certificate issued by the Maine CDC 

vital records office. 

 

PERFORMING THE CEREMONY 

 

Both of the parties, the officiant, and two witnesses, 

must be physically present during the 

ceremony.   The officiant cannot be a witness. 

 

The ceremony must include a formal declaration of 

intent to be married, typically with the couple stating, 

"I do", and the officiant must pronounce the couple 

married after the exchange of vows.    Parties or the 

officiant may plan the ceremony to reflect their own 

tastes and traditions.  

 

 

 

 

AFTER THE CEREMONY 

 

After the ceremony, the officiant must complete the 

ceremony section of the marriage license.  Black ink 

is preferred but not required.   Please print or type 

all information clearly except for the signature areas.  

Necessary signatures include those of the parties, the 

officiant, and the two witnesses. 

 

The officiant, or the parties, must return the 

marriage license to the issuing office within 15 

working days after the marriage ceremony was 

performed.  The completed license may be mailed or 

delivered in person.   

 

NOTE: Do not add or correct any information 

already on the license.  All corrections must be 

made by a municipal clerk or DRVS.  

QUESTIONS? 
 

If any questions arise that are not covered in this 

pamphlet, please feel free to contact this office at: 

   
Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention 

Vital Records Office 

220 Capitol Street 

11 State House Station 

Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 

(207) 287-3771 
 

       
The Departments Non-Discrimination Notice may be 

found at https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/non-

discrimination-notice. 

 

     

 

 

A GUIDE FOR PARTIES AND OFFICIANTS 

 

 

PERFORMING 

A 

MARRIAGE 

CEREMONY 

 
 

 
 

 

 

Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention 

(Maine CDC) 

Data, Research, and Vital Statistics (DRVS) 

220 Capitol Street 

11 State House Station 

Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 

(207) 287-3771    Fax: (207) 287-1093 

    TTY Users:  Dial 711 (Maine Relay) 

 

https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/non-discrimination-notice
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/non-discrimination-notice

