Prevent Underage Tobacco Sales
You Can Help Your Store and Maine Youth

THE NO BUTS! PROGRAM

ABOUT NO BUTS!:

The NO BUTS! program was created to help retailers avoid selling tobacco to minors. It is an effort of the State of
Maine Office of the Attorney General (OAG) and the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention Tobacco and
Substance Use Prevention and Control Program (TSUPC).

TRAINING:

This voluntary training for employers and employees will help prevent under-age tobacco sales. It is recommended all
register trained employees complete prior to selling tobacco products and on an annual basis. The training can be
found at: www.nobutstraining.com

BENEFITS TO YOUR STORE:

Retailers that participate in the NO BUTS! program can earn State Compliance Credits and avoid fines.

A State Compliance Credit may be issued if your store fails an inspection, had no violations within the last three
inspections, and the sales clerk completed the NO BUTS! online training prior to the violation. You can also receive
free materials to help educate your register staff and customers here:
www.mainepreventionstore.com/collections/tobacco/retailer

TOBACCO 21 - Tobacco cannot be sold to anyone under 21

LEGAL SALES AGE FOR TOBACCO PRODUCTS:

Retailers are required to card all persons 30 years of age or younger by photographic identification that contains the
persons date of birth. Tobacco products may not be sold to any person under 21 years of age. (22 M.R.S. §1555-B)
For More information please visit: http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/22/title22ch262-Asec0.html )

TOBACCO PRODUCTS INCLUDE:

Any product that is made from tobacco, or that contains nicotine, that is intended for human consumption or is likely
to be consumed, whether smoked, heated, chewed, absorbed, dissolved, inhaled or ingested by any other means,
including, but not limited to, a cigarette, a cigar, a hookah, pipe tobacco, chewing tobacco, snuff or snus. "Tobacco
product™ also means an electronic smoking device and any component or accessory used in the consumption of a
tobacco product, such as filters, rolling papers, pipes and liquids used in electronic smoking devices, whether or
not they contain nicotine.

Contact the Maine CDC Tobacco and Substance Use Prevention and Control Program with questions
tsup.dhhs@maine.gov or 207-287-4627

STATE OF MAINE
OFFICE OF THE
ATTORNEY GENERAL

NO BUTS! S T

[ET0CHINGIUNDERAGERTOBACCOJSALES: 1-800-QUIT-NOW



http://www.nobutstraining.com/
http://www.mainepreventionstore.com/collections/tobacco/retailer
https://www.portlandmaine.gov/1809/MLSA-Tobacco-21
mailto:tsup.dhhs@maine.gov



