
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

Maine Tax Credit Certification for Dental Care Professionals 

 

2021 Tax Year Instructions 
 

 

 

 Subject: Instructions for completing the 2021 Tax Year Initial Application and Attestation Form 

   Submission Dates:  Application must be postmarked no earlier than January 15, 2022  

and no later than February 18, 2022. 

 

 

 Dear Dental Care Professional: 

 

 The purpose of this document is to provide instructions for completing the application for an income tax  

credit for tax year 2021.  The Maine State Legislature has enacted the Tax Credit Certification Program for Dental 

Professionals which allows up to five eligible dental care professionals, who are paying outstanding student loans, 

to be certified by the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) to receive an income tax credit each year 

the program is in effect. 

 

Successful applicants may participate in this program for a maximum of five years depending on continued 

eligibility. The income tax credit claimed may not exceed $6,000 in the first year of certification; $9,000 in 

the second year; $12,000 in the third year; $15,000 in the fourth year; and $18,000 in the fifth year. DHHS 

will submit the names of the certified individuals to the Maine Revenue Services that manages the income 

tax credit through the certified professional’s annual income tax return. 

 
To Determine if you are eligible to be certified for an income tax credit, refer to the statute 

(http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/36/title36sec5219-DD.html) and these instructions. For participants of 

National Health Service Corps and other HRSA programs, this program is considered a service obligation. 

 

This document contains specific instructions for the 2021 tax year. Applications are subject to a competitive order 

of receipt process (so called “first-come first-served”) so be sure to complete and submit the application with all 

required documents in a timely manner.  

 
This document contains specific instructions for the 2021 tax year.  Complete and submit the 2021 application.  

Please note the following requirements: 

• Applications must be completed in pen (preferably blue ink). 

• All information must be legible. 

• The application must be filled out completely and all required documents must be submitted 

with the application. 

• Applications must be submitted by United States postal mail. Applications transmitted by any 

other means, such as fax or email will not be considered. 

• Only envelopes with a single (1) application will be considered for competitive review. 

• Applications that do not comply with these instructions will not be eligible for consideration. 

 
 

 

 

http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/36/title36sec5219-DD.html


 
 

 

2021 Tax Year: 

Instructions for completing the Initial Application and Attestation Form: 
 

(Page 1 of application form) 

• Print your full legal name 
• Complete your Personal Residence Address 

• Complete all information under Health Profession Information and select an Eligible 
Professional Type. NOTE: If your licensure is not on the list provided, you are not eligible 
for the Tax Credit. 

• Choose one of the three options under Attestation – Practice Establishment and indicate 

the date you joined, purchased or established a practice. 

 
(Page 2 of application form) 

• Fully complete your Designated Practice Location. 

• Place a check-mark next to the Designated Underserved Area Type where the practice is 

located.  

• In the Required Supporting Documentation Check List, check off all documents required and  

submit copies of the documents with the application. All required documents must accompany 

an application for the application to be considered complete. 
• Initial all boxes in the Attestation – Commitment to Practice section. 

• Sign your name and date the form. 

 

 

Completed forms must be submitted by United States Postal Mail to: 
 

Director, Rural Health and Primary Care Program 

Maine Center for Disease Control 

11 State House Station  

Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 
 


