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This brochure answers basic questions about Maine’s 

Parentage Act.  It is not a substitute for the help and 

advice of a lawyer.  Talk to a lawyer if you have any 

questions.  Your rights as a parent may be at stake. 

 

What is Paternity? 

Paternity is legal identification of a child’s genetic 

father.  When paternity is established, the child’s genetic 

father becomes the child’s legal father with all of the 

rights and responsibilities of a parent. 

 

How is paternity of a child established? 

There are three ways to establish paternity of a child: 

1.   by presumption (marriage), or 

 

2.   by voluntary acknowledgment, or 

 

3.   by court order. 

 

Why is establishing paternity important? 

Establishing paternity secures a father’s rights as a 

parent.  Also, children need and are entitled to: 

 

✓ Financial support from both parents.  A court cannot 

order an alleged father to pay child support until 

paternity has been established. 

 

✓ Benefits, such as Social Security, insurance, inheritance 

and veteran’s benefits, from both parents if they are 

available.  A child might not be able to claim benefits 

from the father if paternity has not been established. 

 

✓ Medical history, so children know if they have inherited 

any special health problems. 
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What forms are available if I decide to represent 

myself? 

 

The following paternity-related forms and instructions 

are available through Data, Research, and Vital Statistics 

(DRVS) website at:  

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-

systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml. 

 

• Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP) 

 

• Denial of Parentage (DOP) 

 

• Establishing Paternity by Court Order 

 

• Challenging an Acknowledgment or Denial of 

Parentage 

 

• Rescission of Acknowledgment or Denial of 

Parentage 

 

 

 

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml
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Presumption of Paternity 

 

When parents are married, the Maine law presumes that 

the spouse is the father/parent of the child.  If the spouse 

is the father/parent, nothing else needs to be done.  

Paternity is established by presumption.  Paternity is also 

presumed in several other ways.   

 

When is a man presumed to be the father of a child? 

 

A man is presumed to be the father of a child if: 

 

• he was married to the child’s mother when the child was 

born, or 

 

• he was married to the child’s mother any time during the 

300 days before the child was born, or 

 

• he was married to the child’s mother before the birth of 

the child, even if the attempted marriage is or could be 

declared invalid within 300 days after termination by 

death, annulment, divorce or declaration of invalidity or 

after a decree of separation.   

 

What if the presumed father is not the child’s genetic 

father?   

 

A presumed father is recognized by law as the child’s 

legal father unless: 

 

• he signs a Denial of Parentage (DOP) and the true  father 

(and mother) complete and sign an Acknowledgment of 

Paternity (AOP) form or 

 

• a court determines that he is not the legal father. 

 

Acknowledgment of Paternity 

 

When parents are not married, but everyone agrees on 

the identity of the child’s father, paternity can be 

established by filing a signed Acknowledgment of 

Paternity with Data, Research, and Vital Statistics 

(DRVS).   

 

 

 

 

What is an Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP)?   

 

An AOP is a legal form signed by a man and the woman 

who gave birth to the child who swear that the man is the 

genetic father of the child.  (If the child has a presumed 

father who is not the child’s genetic father, the presumed 

father must sign the Denial of Parentage form.) 

 

When the completed AOP is filed with DRVS, the 

genetic father becomes the child’s legal father with all 

the rights and duties of a parent.  (If a Denial of 

Parentage is included, the presumed father’s rights and 

duties as a parent are relinquished.) 

 

**Note:  If the presumed father is not willing to sign the 

Denial of Parentage, the AOP form cannot be used to 

establish paternity.  However, parents may go to court to 

obtain a court order to establish paternity.   

 

How much does an Acknowledgment of Paternity 

(AOP) cost?    

 

Filing an AOP with DRVS is free.  However, there is a 

$15.00 fee for a certified copy of the birth certificate.  

Each additional copy purchased at the same time is 

$6.00.   

 

When can an Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP) 

be signed?   

 

An AOP (and Denial of Parentage, if needed) can be 

signed after the child is born.  If the child is an adult, a 

paternity case may be filed by the adult child.  (See 

“Court Ordered Paternity” on page 5.) 

 

Can an Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP) be 

signed by someone who is under the age of 18?   

 

Yes, an AOP may be signed by someone who is under 

the age of 18.  
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Are there any special requirements for an 

Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP)?  

 

Yes.  For an AOP to be valid, it must be filed with Data, 

Research, and Vital Statistics (DRVS) and: 

 

• be signed under penalty of perjury (this means you could 

be charged with a crime if you lie), and 

 

• state whether or not the child has a presumed father, and 

if so, the presumed father’s name, and 

 

• state that the child does not already have an 

acknowledged father (this means no one else has signed 

an AOP claiming to be the child’s father) and 

 

• state that the child does not have an adjudicated father 

(this means no one has been named as the child’s father 

in a court order).  

  

What voids an Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP)?   

 

An AOP is void if it falsely denies the existence of a 

presumed, acknowledged or adjudicated father.  

Alterations, erasures, white-outs, cross-outs, write-overs, 

etc., will not be accepted and will invalidate the 

completed AOP form.   

 

Where can I get the Acknowledgment of Paternity 

(AOP) form? 

 

If the child was born in a hospital, parents may complete 

an AOP at the hospital where the child was born.  The 

hospital will then file the AOP with DRVS.   

 

Parents may also obtain the form and instructions from 

the Data, Research, and Vital Statistics website at:  

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-

systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Denial of Parentage 

 

What is a Denial of Parentage (DOP)? 

 

A DOP is a legal form signed by a presumed father to 

swear that he is not the child’s genetic father.  To be 

valid, the child’s father and the woman giving birth to 

the child must also sign an Acknowledgment of 

Paternity (AOP) form.  The AOP and DOP must be filed 

with Data, Research, and Vital Statistics.   

 

Are there any special requirements for a Denial of 

Parentage (DOP)? 

 

Yes.  For a DOP to be valid it must be filed with DRVS 

and: 

 

✓ be signed under penalty of perjury (this 

means you could be charged with a crime 

if you lie), and 

 

✓ the man signing must not have previously 

signed an AOP (unless an AOP was 

successfully rescinded or challenged) and 

 

✓ the man signing must not be named as the 

child’s father in a court order. 

 

Where can I get the Denial of Parentage (DOP) 

form?   

 

If the child was born in a hospital, the presumed father 

may complete a DOP at the hospital where the child was 

born.  The hospital will then file the DOP with DRVS.   

 

The presumed father may also obtain the form and 

instructions from the Data, Research, and Vital Statistics 

website at:  http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-

health-systems/data-research/vital-

records/forms/index.shtml 

 

How much does a Denial of Parentage (DOP) cost?    

 

Filing a DOP with DRVS is free.  However, there is a 

$15.00 fee for a certified copy of the birth certificate.  

Each additional copy purchased at the same time is 

$6.00.   

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml
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Proceeding for Rescission of an Acknowledgment of 

Paternity (AOP) or Denial of Parentage (DOP) 

 

Can I rescind or take back an Acknowledgment of 

Paternity (AOP) or Denial of Parentage (DOP)? 

 

Parents who have filed an AOP or a presumed father 

who has filed a DOP may rescind or take back an AOP 

or DOP by filing a Rescission of Acknowledgment of 

Paternity form with Data, Research, and Vital Statistics.  

However, this form must be filed: 

 

• before the 60th day after the effective date of the AOP 

or DOP (date the AOP and DOP is filed) and 

 

• before a court order regarding the child is initiated.   

 

What if I miss the deadline to rescind my 

Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP) or Denial of 

Parentage (DOP)? 

 

You may be able to challenge your AOP or DOP after 

the time period for rescission (described above) has 

expired.  Read about challenging an AOP or DOP on the 

next page.   

 

Where can I get the form to rescind my 

Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP) or Denial of 

Parentage (DOP)? 

 

The form and instructions may be obtained from the 

Data, Research, and Vital Statistics website at:   

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-

systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml 

 

How much does it cost to rescind my 

Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP) or Denial of 

Parentage (DOP)?    

 

There is no fee associated with the filing of a rescission 

of an AOP or DOP.  However, those who sign an AOP 

or DOP  must also be part of the rescission or removal of 

an AOP or DOP.  All parties will be notified prior to 

amendment to the birth certificate.     

If it’s too late to rescind, can I still try to challenge 

my Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP) or Denial of 

Parentage (DOP)?    

 

You may be able to challenge your AOP or DOP after 

the time period for rescission (described on page 4) has 

expired, but only if: 

 

✓ you signed the AOP or DOP based on fraud, 

duress or material mistake of fact and 

 

✓ you may file a petition to challenge the AOP 

or DOP with a court that has personal 

jurisdiction over you.  A final order from the 

court must be obtained to amend the child’s 

birth certificate.   

 

What forms can I use to challenge my 

Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP) or Denial of 

Parentage (DOP)?    

 

A proceeding to challenge an AOP or DOP must be 

made through a court that has jurisdiction over you.   

 

In most cases, a court that has jurisdiction is in the 

county or division in which:  

 

• the child resides or is present, or 

 

• the parent or intended parent resides, or  

 

• the person challenging an AOP or DOP 

resides or is present if the child does not reside 

in this State, or 

 

• the probate court of the parent or alleged 

parent’s estate has been commenced or 

 

• a child protection proceeding with respect to 

the child has been commenced. 

 

Contact the court that has jurisdiction over you or the 

child to obtain the necessary forms.     

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml
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Can parents who use a surrogate or assisted 

reproduction get their names on the child’s birth 

record without going to court?   

 

Yes, parents who use a surrogate or assisted 

reproduction may be named on the child’s birth 

certificate by presenting Data, Research, and Vital 

Statistics with the following: 

 

✓ an attested copy of the written agreement 

signed by the woman who agrees to carry a 

child and the intended parent or parents, or   

 

✓ a completed and signed consent form by each 

intended parent of a child born through 

assisted reproduction. 

 

The attested copy of the written gestational carrier 

agreement or the signed consent form completed by the 

intended parents must be presented to DRVS prior to the 

filing and registration of the child’s birth certificate. If 

the birth certificate has already been registered with 

DRVS, a court order is required to seal the record from 

the public and create a new one containing the intended 

parents’ names.   

 

Where can I get the consent form if I intend to 

become a parent of a child born through assisted 

reproduction?   

 

The for and instructions may be obtained from the Data, 

Research, and Vital Statistics website at:  

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-

systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml 

 

How much does it cost to file an attested copy of the 

written gestational carrier agreement or the signed 

consent form with DRVS?   

 

Filing an attested copy of the written agreement or the 

signed consent form with DRVS is free.  However, there 

is a $15.00 fee for a certified copy of the birth certificate.  

Each additional copy purchased at the same time is 

$6.00.   

  

 

 

Court Ordered Paternity 

(Adjudication of Parentage) 

 

Paternity of a child can also be established by a court.  A 

parent or other authorized representative of the child 

may ask the court for an order establishing paternity of a 

child by filing a proceeding to adjudicate parentage of 

the child (also called a court determination).   

 

Who can file a paternity case? 

 

A paternity case may only be filed by the following 

individuals or entities: 

 

• the child’s mother, or 

 

• a man who thinks he is the genetic father, or 

 

• a man presumed to be the father, asking the 

court to order that he is not the father, or 

 

• the adult child, or 

 

• a representative authorized by law to act for an 

individual who would otherwise be entitled to 

request a proceeding but who is deceased, 

incapacitated or a minor, or 

 

• a person who is the intended parent in an 

approved gestational carrier agreement 

(agreement for assisted reproduction). 

 

• The Department of Health and Human 

Services or an adoption agency may also file a 

court case to establish paternity of a child. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-systems/data-research/vital-records/forms/index.shtml
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What can the court order in a paternity case include? 

 

The court order in a paternity case can: 

 

✓ order that an alleged father is the legal father 

of the child; 

 

✓ order that an alleged or presumed father is not 

the legal father of the child; 

 

✓ order custody, visitation, child support and 

medical support for the child; 

 

✓ order retroactive child support (support that 

dates back to the child’s birth) and prenatal 

medical expenses; 

 

✓ change the child’s name; 

 

✓ order Data, Research, and Vital Statistics to 

issue an amended birth certificate for the 

child;  

 

✓ determine that a child has more than two 

parents and/or 

 

✓ order one or both parties pay court costs, 

genetic testing fees, attorney fees or travel 

expenses.   

 

 

QUESTIONS 

 

If any questions arise that are not covered in this 

brochure, please feel free to contact this office at: 

   

Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention  

Office of Data, Research, and Vital Statistics 

220 Capitol Street 

11 State House Station 

Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 

(207) 287-3771 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Words to Know 

 

Alleged Father means a man who claims, or is 

claimed to be the genetic father or possible genetic 

father of the child. 
 

Presumed Father means a man who: 
 

• was married to the child’s mother when the 

child was born, or 
 

• was married any time during the 300 days 

before the child was born, or 
 

• was married to the child’s mother before the 

birth of the child, even if the attempted 

marriage is or could be declared invalid 

within 300 days after termination by death, 

annulment, divorce or declaration of 

invalidity or after a decree of separation.   
 

Acknowledged Father means a man who signed a 

valid Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP) form 

claiming to be the genetic father of the child.  To be 

valid, the AOP must also be signed by the child’s 

mother (and presumed father, if applicable) and filed 

with Data, Research, and Vital Statistics. 
 

Adjudicated Father means a man named as the 

father of a child in a court order. 
 

Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP) means a legal 

form signed by a child’s mother and genetic father to 

establish paternity of the child.  When the form is 

filed with DRVS, the genetic father becomes the 

child’s legal father. 
 

Denial of Parentage (DOP) means a legal form 

signed by a presumed father to give up paternity by 

claiming he is not the child’s genetic father.  To be 

valid, the child’s father and mother must also 

complete and sign an AOP.   
 

Gestational Carrier Agreement means a written 

agreement for assisted reproduction between a 

woman who agrees to carry a child and the intended 

parent or parents.   
 

Parentage by Assisted Reproduction means a 

woman agrees to carry an embryo with the intent that 

the child will be raised by another person or couple.   
 

Vital Statistics means the Maine Center for Disease 

Control and Prevention, Data, Research, and Vital 

Statistics office. 
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District Courts in Maine 

 

Augusta (207) 213-2800 

Bangor (207) 561-2300 

Belfast (207) 338-3107 

Biddeford (207) 283-1147 

Bridgton (207) 647-3535 

Calais (207) 454-2055 

Caribou (207) 493-3144 

Dover-Foxcroft (207) 564-2240 

Ellsworth (207) 667-7141 

Farmington (207) 778-2119 

Fort Kent (207) 834-5003 

Houlton (207) 532-2147 

Lewiston (207) 795-4800 

Lincoln (207) 794-8512 

Machias (207) 255-3044 

Madawaska (207) 728-4700 

Millinocket (207) 723-4786 

Newport (207) 368-5778 

Portland (207) 822-4200 

Presque Isle (207) 764-2055 

Rockland (207) 596-2240 

Rumford (207) 364-7171 

Skowhegan (207) 474-9518 

South Paris (207) 743-8942 

Springvale (207) 459-1400 

Waterville (207) 873-2103 

West Bath (207) 442-0200 

Wiscasset (207) 882-6363 

York (207) 363-1230 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DHHS 

Non-Discrimination Notice 

 

The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) 

does not discriminate on the basis of disability, race, 

color, creed, gender, sexual orientation, age, or national 

origin, in admission to, access to, or operations of its 

programs, services, or activities, or its hiring or 

employment practices.  This notice is provided as 

required by Title II of the Americans with Disabilities 

Act of 1990 and in accordance with the Civil Rights Act 

of 1964 as amended, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation 

Act of 1973, as amended, the Age Discrimination Act of 

1975, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 

and the Maine Human Rights Act and Executive Order 

Regarding State of Maine Contracts for Services.  

Questions, concerns, complaints or requests for 

additional information regarding the ADA may be 

forwarded to DHHS’ ADA Compliance/EEO 

Coordinators, 11 State House Station – 32 Blossom 

Lane, Augusta, Maine 04333, 207-287-4289 (V), 207-

287-3488 (V), 207-287-1871 (V), TTY users call Maine 

relay 711.  Individuals who need auxiliary aids for 

effective communication in program and services of 

DHHS are invited to make their needs and preferences 

known to the ADA Compliance/EEO Coordinators.  

This notice is available in alternate formats, upon 

request. 

 

To order additional copies of this publication or if 

you have questions about the content, please call: 

 

Maine CDC, Data, Research, and Vital Statistics at 207-

287-3771.  “TTY users call Maine relay 711”. 

 

 

 

 


