

Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention

An Office of the Department of Health and Human Services Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention (Maine CDC) 220 Capitol Street 11 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 (207) 287-3771

Fax : (207) 287-1093 TTY Users: Dial 711 (Maine Relay)

APPLICATION FOR THE REGISTRATION OF GENEALOGICAL RESEARCHER IDENTIFICATION CARD

Maine birth records after 75 years old, death records after 25 years old and marriage records after 50 years old are private documents available only to those with a direct and legitimate interest in the matter recorded on the record and genealogists registered with the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention (Maine CDC). In order to receive a genealogical researcher identification card, applicants must complete this application and provide the following: (1) documentation of membership in an existing genealogical society in the form of a valid membership card or a statement of membership on the genealogical society's letterhead (2) a completed and signed genealogical disclosure agreement, (3) proof of identification and (4) the required \$50 fee. Please make checks payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine. Return the completed application, genealogical disclosure agreement, supporting documents and fee to the Data, Research, and Vital Statistics office at the address provided above.

The researcher card is valid for one year and will entitle the genealogical researcher to view or purchase **non-certified** copies of birth, death, and marriage records registered in Maine from any municipality or the Data, Research, and Vital Statistics (DRVS) office. Genealogical researchers will be provided with a username and password to access the online death and marriage portal. Requests for copies of vital records may be submitted electronically through the portal or written applications may be mailed. The registered genealogical researcher identification card must be presented to the municipal clerk or DRVS when making a request for records in addition to acceptable identification.

Date:	
Name of Applicant:	
Address:	
Telephone Number:	
Signature of Applicant:	
Fee received? (yes/no):	
Proof of identity (specify):	Approved
Proof of membership in an established genealogical society (required)	Rejected
Completed and signed genealogical disclosure agreement? (yes/no):	
Issuing clerk:	

Notice: Any individual who willfully or knowingly violates the laws of the State of Maine governing Maine's vital statistics system, including making any false statement on a required form or application, commits a Class E crime, currently punishable by fine and/or incarceration. Violation of Maine's vital statistics laws, or mistreatment of any original records or the information contained therein, may also result in the revocation of access rights to Maine vital records as a registered genealogist.