
Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention (Maine CDC) 
220 Capitol Street 
11 State House Station 
Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 
(207) 287-3771 
Fax : (207) 287-1093     TTY Users:  Dial 711 (Maine Relay)

APPLICATION FOR A MAINE CDC 
VITAL RECORDS RESEARCHER CARD 

Maine birth records less than 75 years old, death records less than 25 years old and marriage records that are less than fifty years old 
are private documents available only to those with a direct and legitimate interest in the matter recorded on the record and genealogists 
registered with the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention (Maine CDC).  In order to receive a Maine CDC issued 
researcher card, if an applicant is a member of an established genealogical society, they may provide proof of membership, provide 
positive proof of identity, and submit the required fee ($50) along with this application.  Please make checks payable to:  Treasurer, 
State of Maine.  If applying by mail, enclose a photocopy of a government issued photo ID or other positive identification, as well as a 
photocopy of the applicant’s membership card in an established genealogical society, with this application.  Return the completed 
application, supporting documents and fee to:  Maine CDC vital records office, Data, Research, and Vital Statistics at the address noted 
above.

The researcher card is good for one year and will entitle the bearer to view or purchase non-certified copies of birth, death, and 
marriage records registered in Maine from any municipality or from the Maine CDC vital records office, Data, Research, and Vital 
Statistics.  This card, along with positive proof of identity, must be presented to the municipal clerk or Maine CDC vital records office 
staff when making a request for records

Date: _____________________ 

Name of Applicant: _________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address: __________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Telephone Number: _________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Applicant: ______________________________________________________________________________ 

For Office Use Only: 

Fee received: _________________________________________________ 

Proof of identity (specify): ______________________________________ 

Proof of membership in an established 
genealogical society (if 
applicable)_____________________________________________________ 

Approved (yes/no): ____________________________________________ 

Issuing clerk: _________________________________________________ 

Notice:  Any individual who willfully or knowingly violates the laws of the State of Maine governing Maine’s vital statistics system, 
including making any false statement on a required form or application,  commits a Class E crime, currently punishable by fine and/or 
incarceration.  Violation of Maine’s vital statistics laws, or  mistreatment of any original records or the information contained therein, 
may also result in the revocation of access rights to Maine vital records as a registered genealogist. 

S:\vradminf\AMaster forms\applgenresearch R 2/2014


	Date: 
	Name of Applicant: 
	Address: 
	Telephone Number: 
	Rest Form: 
	Tab Key: 


