
MISSED SCREENINGS 

The Maine Newborn Hearing Program promotes and supports hearing screening for all Maine newborns and refers 

those in need for further testing and/or intervention services. 
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Missed Screening (203)

of  the 12,480 births that occurred in Maine in 

2016 received a newborn hearing screening 

A DATA BRIEF FOR HEALTHCARE PROVIDERS AND BIRTHING CENTERS (2016) 

98% 
of hospital 
births screened 

of home 
births screened 

 Of those screened, 98% (12,192 newborns) were 
screened within 1 month of birth 
 
 

 99% (12,041 newborns) who were screened passed, 

1% (151 newborns) were identified as having possible 
        hearing loss and referred for additional testing 

288 newborns (2% of  all births) did not receive a hearing screening in 2016 

Births that occur at a hospital are more 

likely to be screened than births that 

occur at home: 
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NEWBORN HEARING SCREENING IN MAINE 

of  the 203 missed screenings in 

2016 were home births, 

 Early identification of hearing loss and early intervention can minimize the impact hearing 
loss has on a child and family. 

 

 According to the American Academy of Pediatrics’ Early Hearing Detection and Intervention 
(EHDI) 1-3-6 Guidelines, a child should receive: 

A hearing screening no later than 1 month of age; 

A diagnosis no later than 3 months of age; and 

Entry into early intervention services no later than 6 months of age.1 
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MAINE SCREENING DATA 

< 1% 

accounting for 99% of  all missed screenings 

and 69% of  all births not screened in 2016 

 In the United States, over 97% of newborns are screened for hearing loss - however, many 
do not receive recommended follow-up diagnostic and intervention services.1  

Reasons for Not 

Being Screened 



The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) does not discriminate on the basis of disability, race, color, creed, gender, sexual orientation, age, or national origin, in admission to, access 

to, or operations of its programs, services, or activities, or its hiring or employment practices. This notice is provided as required by Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and in 

accordance with the Civil Rights Act of 1964 as amended, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 

1972 and the Maine Human Rights Act and Executive Order Regarding State of Maine Contracts for Services. Questions, concerns, complaints, or requests for additional information regarding the 

ADA may be forwarded to DHHS’ ADA Compliance/EEO Coordinators, 11 State House Station – 221 State Street, Augusta, Maine 04330-0011, (207) 287-4289 (V), (207) 287-3488 (V), TTY users call 

Maine Relay 711. Individuals who need auxiliary aids for effective communication in program and services of DHHS are invited to make their needs and preferences known to the ADA 

Compliance/EEO Coordinator. This notice is available in alternate formats.                                                                                                                                   

  

Data Sources: 1. Hearing Loss In Newborns: The ‘1—6’ Guidelines – Medscape – Apr 23, 2018   NOTE: 2016 Maine Newborn Hearing Screening data obtained via ChildLink, 

the Maine Newborn Hearing Program’s data reporting platform.  

For more information: Maine Newborn Hearing Program, 207.287.4623 

70% 
of  the 10 newborns with confirmed enrollment 

with an early intervention (Part C) provider were 

enrolled within 6 months* 

 23% (35) had no follow-up 

testing and received no diagnosis 
 

 77% (116) had an audiological 

report with a complete diagnosis 
sent to the Maine Newborn 
Hearing Program 

Of the 151 

newborns who 

were referred 

for further 

testing: 

11% 

89% 

Hearing
Loss

Normal
Hearing

Of the 116 births with a complete 
diagnosis and audiological report: 

63% 
of  the 116 newborns with an audiological 

report and a complete diagnosis occurred within 3 months of  birth 

MAINE DIAGNOSTIC DATA 

MAINE EARLY INTERVENTION DATA 

www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/population-health/mch/cshn/hearing-screening 

Of the 13 newborns with 

hearing loss referred to 

the Maine Newborn 

Hearing Program: 

 100%  (13) referred to early intervention (Part C) provider  
 

 77% (10) had confirmed enrollment with an early 

intervention (Part C) provider sent to the Maine Newborn 
Hearing Program 

The goal is 100% for all of the Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) 1-3-6 
Guidelines. While Maine already screens most newborns for hearing loss, there is room to 
improve home birth screening rates, diagnosis rates within 3 months of birth and enrollment 
of those with confirmed hearing loss in early intervention within 6 months of birth. 

ROOM TO IMPROVE 

*3 of 10 newborns (30%) 

with confirmed enrollment 
in early intervention were 
diagnosed after 6 months 

Published February 2019 


