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Chapter 707: RULES RELATING TO THE NATIONAL BREAST AND CERVICAL CANCER 

EARLY DETECTION PROGRAM (NBCCEDP) IN MAINE 

 

 

 

1.0 Introduction 

 

The Maine Breast and Cervical Health Program (MBCHP) is funded through a cooperative 

agreement with the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control 

and Prevention (CDC) under the National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program 

(NBCCEDP) [established under Title XV of the Public Health Service Act]; and, Maine General 

Fund dollars. Maine first received CDC funding in the fall of 1994 and began providing early 

detection services in 1995. The mission of The Maine Breast and Cervical Health Program is, 

within available financial resources, to provide breast and cervical cancer screening and diagnosis 

services to underserved women, to provide public and professional education, and to support 

community partnerships to enhance statewide cancer control activities. 

 

 

2.0 Eligibility for Services 

 

2.1 General 

 

If a woman does not meet the criteria below, she is offered written information regarding 

MaineCare, “free care” and sliding-fee clinics available in the county in which she lives. 

 

To the extent that funding is available from Federal, State and other sources, in order to 

determine eligibility for MBCHP, an applicant must be: 

 

2.1.1 A woman age 35 through 64 (or older than age 64 if the woman does not have 

Medicare Part B coverage); 

 

 2.1.1.1 Women age 35-39 must further meet the following criteria: 

 

2.1.1.1.1   Currently experiencing breast symptoms, and the symptoms 

have been confirmed by a health care provider who has 

recommended further testing; and/or 

 

2.1.1.1.2   Recently had an abnormal Pap test result and the health care 

provider has recommended further testing; and/or 

 

2.1.1.1.3   Have not had a Pap test in five (5) or more years. 

 

2.1.2 A resident of Maine or a New Hampshire resident whose primary residence is 

located less than15 miles from the Maine border; 

 

2.1.3 Financially eligible, and; 
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2.1.4 Uninsured or underinsured. 

 

2.2 Residency 

 

Women residing in Maine with the intention of making Maine their permanent or 

principal home are eligible for the program. 

 

2.2.1 A woman who is visiting in Maine, or residing in the state temporarily, is not 

considered a Maine resident for the purpose of these Rules. 

 

2.2.2 There is no length of residency requirement. 

 

2.2.3 Proof of citizenship is not required. 

 

2.2.4 New Hampshire residents who live less than15 miles from the Maine border are 

eligible for the program. MBCHP has a Memorandum of Agreement with the 

state of New Hampshire, which allows women who live in New Hampshire or 

Maine to choose to enroll in either state. 

 

2.3 Financial Eligibility 

 

2.3.1 Definition 

 

MBCHP will use an applicant’s “Countable Income” at the time of application to 

determine financial eligibility. Self-declaration of income may be accepted; 

however, MBCHP reserves the right to require official documentation to prove the 

amount, timing and/or source of the self-reported income. 

 

2.3.2 “Countable Income” means: 

 

2.3.2.1 Earned and/or unearned income for the calendar year. Examples include, 

but are not limited to, wages, unemployment, alimony, worker’s 

compensation, Social Security, etc. 

 

2.3.2.2 Included are the incomes of the applicant, spouse, and dependent 

children under the age of 21. Earned income of dependent children who 

are under the age of 21, are full-time or part-time students, or receiving 

SSI payments will be disregarded. 

 

2.3.2.3 Income is calculated before taxes and/or payroll deductions 

 

2.3.2.4 In the case of self-employment, the previous year’s federal and state 

income tax returns will be used, and countable income is the reported 

income after allowable self-employment related expenses are deducted, 

but before other tax deductions are taken out. If the person did not file a 

tax return then other suitable documentation may be required to establish 

eligibility. 

 

2.3.2.5 In the case of self-employment with significant reduction in income from 

the previous year, statements from quarterly income tax report, or other 



 

 

 

10-144 Chapter 707     page 3 

suitable documentation, may be required to determine actual countable 

income. 

 

2.3.3 MBCHP will determine a client financially eligible when the applicant's self-

declared countable income is less than or equal to 250% of the Federal Poverty 

Level (FPL) for the applicant’s family size. The "Poverty Guidelines-Federal" is 

issued annually by the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services. Each 

year’s FPL is available on the Internet at http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty. An 

individual can also obtain a copy of the current FPL by contacting MBCHP; by 

calling 1-800-350-5180, Press 1; TTY 1-800-438-5514; or in writing to the 

Maine Breast and Cervical Health Program. 

 

2.4 Insurance Status 

 

2.4.1 MBCHP will determine a client to be uninsured if the women does not have 

health insurance coverage 

 

2.4.2 Women who have MaineCare or Medicare Part B are not eligible. 

 

2.4.3 MBCHP will determine a client to be underinsured if the woman has health 

insurance with unreasonably high co-payments, deductibles, or co-insurance, or 

the insurance does not cover MBCHP Covered Services. 

 

2.4.4 Women who have health insurance, but the plan has co-payments, deductibles or 

co-insurance amounts that are financial barriers to receiving MBCHP covered 

services, are eligible. Co-payments, deductibles or co-insurance will be considered 

a “Financial Barrier” if the applicants’: 

 

2.4.4.1 Countable income is less than 100% FPL, and the applicant reports co-

payments, deductibles or co-insurance greater than $50; 

 

2.4.4.2 Countable income is greater than 100% FPL and less than 150% FPL, 

and the applicant reports co-payments, deductibles or co-insurance 

greater than $100; 

 

2.4.4.3 Countable income is greater than 150% FPL and less than 200% FPL, 

and the applicant reports co-payments, deductibles or co-insurance 

greater than $250; 

 

2.4.4.4 Countable income is greater than 200% FPL and less than or equal to 

250% FPL, and the applicant reports co-payments, deductibles or co-

insurance greater than $500. 

 

 

http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty
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3.0 Enrollment 

 

3.1 After a woman is determined to be eligible for services [as defined in Section 2]. 

 

3.1.1 The woman must complete, sign and return an Initial Enrollment Form to 

MBCHP. The date MBCHP receives the signed form will be the client’s 

application date. 

 

3.1.2 Eligibility can be retroactive up to 90 days prior to the application date, if 

requested at the time of the application and the applicant meets all eligibility 

requirements throughout the retroactive period. 

 

3.1.3 MBCHP will send the client a notice of determination of eligibility for the 

Program no later than 30 days after receiving the signed Initial Enrollment Form. 

 

3.1.4 Upon enrollment, the client selects a MBCHP Primary Care Provider and is 

eligible for 12-months from the Application Date, subject to restrictions in 

Program coverage as provided in Sections 2 and 6 of these rules. The term 

“MBCHP Primary Care Provider” means a provider that is under contract with 

MBCHP or has signed an MBCHP Provider Application/Agreement. 

 

3.1.4.1 If an applicant is unable to access a particular MBCHP Primary Care 

Provider due to unavailable “slots”, MBCHP will assist the applicant in 

selecting another MBCHP PCP who is available in her area. 

 

3.1.4.2 If a client is requesting to change to another MBCHP Primary Care 

Provider due to any “good cause” reason, MBCHP will assist the client 

in selecting another MBCHP PCP who is available in her area. 

 

3.2 Re-Enrollment 

 

Continued eligibility [as defined in Section 2] for program coverage will be determined 

annually. 

 

3.2.1 No more than 45 days prior to the end of the 12-month coverage period, MBCHP 

will, by letter, inform client of the re-enrollment period. 

 

3.2.2 The woman must complete, sign and return a MBCHP Re-enrollment Form 

before the indicated deadline. 

 

3.2.3 In the case that a woman does not return the re-enrollment form before the 

indicated deadline due to a justifiable event causing the delay, the woman will be 

re-enrolled as of the date the form is received by MBCHP.  If the lapse is 90 days 

or more, a re-enrollee may not obtain benefits more than 90 days retroactively 

from the date the form is received by MBCHP. 

 

3.3 Termination of Enrollment 

 

The MBCHP will terminate a client’s Program Enrollment if the woman: 

 

3.3.1 Requests termination from the Program; 
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3.3.2 No longer meets all of the criteria set forth in Section 2: Eligibility for Services;  

 

3.3.3 Does not return the MBCHP Re-Enrollment Form by 30 days after the last day of 

the eligibility period [unless for good cause excused pursuant to Section 3.2.3] 

 

3.3.4 Refuses to receive screening services and referrals through her MBCHP Primary 

Care Provider site. 

 

 

4.0 Covered Services 

 

4.1 MBCHP will cover the following services when provided by a participating MBCHP 

Provider and determined to be medically necessary: 

 

4.1.1 Physical examinations, which must include one or more of the following screening 

services: clinical breast exam, pelvic exam, and Pap test. Annual physical 

examinations are only covered when provided by a MBCHP Primary Care Provider; 

 

4.1.2 Mammography (screening and diagnostic); 

 

4.1.3 Breast diagnostic services (to include but may not be limited to diagnostic 

mammography, ultrasound, breast biopsies, and fine needle aspirations). Hospital 

charges for breast biopsies are not covered; however, physician charges are covered. 

 

4.1.4 Cervical diagnostic services (to include but may not be limited to Colposcopy, 

cervical biopsy and Endocervical curettage) 

 

4.1.5 Surgical consults for diagnosis of breast and cervical cancer; 

 

4.1.6 Interpretation/translation services for MBCHP covered services; 

 

4.1.7 Pathology charges for breast and cervical biopsies; 

 

4.1.8 Anesthesia for breast biopsies (physician charges only, hospital charges are not 

covered). 

 

4.2 Non-covered Services 

 

All other services are not covered including, but not by way of limitation, the following: 

 

4.2.1 Services not related to breast or cervical cancer screening or diagnosis; 

 

4.2.2 Treatment procedures and/or services; 

 

4.2.3 Services provided by non-participating providers; 

 

4.2.4 Hospital charges for breast biopsies; 

 

4.2.5 In-patient services. 

  

Effective 

date 

7/25/2007 
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5.0 Hearing/Appeal Rights 

 

If a client disagrees with or is dissatisfied with program eligibility, covered service determination 

or decision, she has the right to request an administrative fair hearing before the Administrative 

Hearing Unit of the Department in accordance with 5 M.R.S.A. Ch. 375, Subchapter IV. 

 

How To Appeal: MBCHP will process as a hearing request any clear expression, written or verbal 

[in person or by calling], made by a client or person lawfully acting on the client’s behalf, to the 

effect that the client wants a hearing. The request must be directed to the Program Director, Maine 

Breast and Cervical Health Program, Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for 

Disease Control and Prevention, 11 State House Station, Augusta, ME, 04333. The client may 

select, at her discretion, legal counsel to represent her during the administrative appeal. 

 

When To Appeal: The client must request the hearing to the Program Director within 30 days 

from the date of the MBCHP closure or denial notice. The Program Director will consider an 

appeal request received more than 30 days after a closure or denial, provided the client 

demonstrates good cause for the late appeal. Upon receipt of the request, MBCHP will 

immediately forward the appeal to the DHHS Office of Administrative Hearings. 

 

Civil Rights Notice: If a client believes she has been discriminated against because of race, 

color, sex, physical or mental disability, sexual orientation, religion, ancestry, or national 

origin, she may file a complaint by submitting the details of the complaint in writing to the 

Affirmative Action Officer, Department of Health and Human Services, 11 State House 

Station, Augusta, ME 04333. 

 

Free Legal Services May Be Available At: 

(The addresses & telephone numbers listed below are subject to change without notice). 

 

Legal Services for the Elderly (60 or over) 

 

1-800-750-5353, 623-1797, P.O. Box 2723, Augusta, ME 04338-2723. 

 

Pine Tree Legal Assistance, Inc.: 

 

(207) 774-8211, P.O. Box 547, 88 Federal St., Portland, ME 04112 

 

(207) 622-4731, P.O. Box 2429, 39 Green St., Augusta, ME 04338 

 

(207) 784-1558, 145 Lisbon Street, Lewiston, ME 04240 

 

(207) 942-8241, 61 Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401 

 

(207) 764-4349, 373 Main St., Presque Isle, ME 04769 

 

(207) 255-8656, 1 School St., Machias, ME 04654 

 

TTY Maine Relay Service 1-800-855-1155 

 

 



 

 

 

10-144 Chapter 707     page 7 

6.0 Priority for Program Expenditures 

 

In the event the Maine Breast and Cervical Health Program Director certifies, in her/his 

judgment, that there are inadequate funds to meet clients’ needs, either attributable to a 

curtailment of allotments by the Governor, a reduction in federal funding from the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention, or a projected enrollment of women in excess of anticipated 

enrollment, she/he may restrict new applicants’ participation in MBCHP as follows: 

 

 First priority will be given to women age 50+. 

 

 Second priority will be given to women, age 40-49, who are symptomatic. 

 

 Third priority will be given to women, age 40-49, who are high risk. 

 

 Fourth priority will be given to women, age 35-39, who are symptomatic. 

 

In the event the financial exigency abates, the Program Director shall withdraw the financial 

shortfall certification, at which time clients shall be eligible for program services in accordance 

with Sections 1-4 of these rules. 

 

 

 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: P.L. 1993, c.707, Part A, Section A-2 

 

EFFECTIVE DATE: 

November 15, 2005 - filing 2005-471 (EMERGENCY) 

February 26, 2006 - filing 2006-85 

 

NON-SUBSTANTIVE CORRECTIONS: 

 May 16, 2006 – Sections 2.4.4.2, 2.4.4.3, and 2.4.4.4 

 

AMENDED: 

 April 25, 2007 – filing 2007-155 (EMERGENCY) 

 July 24, 2007 – filing 2007-275 

 


