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Group A and B Congregate Care Facility SARS-CoV-2 Response FAQs 
 

Outbreak Definition: 
 Maine CDC now defines a SARS-CoV-2 outbreak as “5 or more people who have been in-

person at a facility with confirmed or probable COVID-19 within a 14-day period.” 
o Confirmed: At least 5 total positive cases (resident [healthcare onset] + staff) in 

14 days, with at least one PCR positive in mix, PER UNIT/DEPARTMENT.  
o Probable: At least 5 total positive cases (resident [healthcare onset] + staff) in 14 

days, all cases are results based on antigen testing, no PCR results available, PER 
UNIT/DEPARTMENT. 

 Regardless of outbreak status, at the identification of a positive case a facility should 
continue with their internal response of an exposure investigation with close contact 
identification, testing, instituting quarantine of patients or work restrictions of HCWs 
when indicated. See resources below for guidance and tools.  

 
Testing reporting requirements for state: 

 Any facility conducting point-of-care SARS-CoV-2 testing shall report data for all testing 
completed, for each individual tested, within 24 hours of results being known or 
determined, on a daily basis to the state, per HHS CARES Act.   
o For CMS-certified long-term care facilities (skilled nursing and/or nursing 

facilities), the CDC- and CMS-preferred pathway is to submit data via CDC’s 
NHSN.  Test data submitted to NHSN will be reported to the state health 
department.  (Note:  This is in addition to the CMS reporting requirement for 
aggregate reporting [at least weekly] of the total number of positive staff and the 
total number of positive residents, etc.) 

o Other types of LTC facilities should fulfill the HHS CARES Act reporting 
requirement using Red Cap. 

 Any facility receiving SARS-CoV-2 testing supplies from the state, which are 
provided through the HHS CARES Act, shall report both positive and 
negative test results. 

 
Testing Reporting and Supplies: 

 For a facility to receive testing supplies they need to report all SARS-CoV-2 positive and 
negatives. 

 If a facility is not receiving testing supplies through state, it is preferred that both 
positive and negative results be reported but only required to report positives. 
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Reporting positive cases of a healthcare worker or resident/patient: 

 Facilities should report to Maine CDC by calling 1-800-821-5821 at the identification of 5 
total positive cases (resident [healthcare onset] + staff). As resources allow, an outbreak 
investigator will be assigned for review. 

 At the identification of a positive case facilities should continue with their internal 
response of an exposure investigation with close contact identification, testing, 
instituting quarantine of patients or work restrictions of HCWs when indicated.  See 
resources below for guidance and tools.  

 
When can testing through HETL be utilized? 

 As resources allow and in consultation with an Outbreak Investigator, HETL testing may 
be considered when a facility has reached outbreak status. 

 
What guidance should a facility follow: 

 Requirements for federally certified healthcare facilities are generally more stringent 
than requirements for Assisted Housing facilities (i.e., CMS and U.S. CDC 
healthcare/nursing home guidance), but given the current prevalence of COVID-19, 
Assisted Housing facilities should follow the more stringent guidance to the greatest 
extent possible. 

 
 
Resources: 
 Maine CDC HAI Website:  https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/infectious-disease/hai/resources.shtml  
 Division of Licensing and Certification Website:  https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/dlc  
 U.S. CDC SARS-CoV-2 Infection Prevention and Control Guidance:  

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/infection-control-recommendations.html  
 U.S. CDC SARS-CoV-2 Nursing Home guidance: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/hcp/nursing-home-long-term-care.html  
 U.S. CDC Staffing Strategies at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/mitigating-staff-

shortages.html  
 CMS QSO 20-38: https://www.cms.gov/files/document/qso-20-38-nh-revised.pdf  
 CMS QSO 20-39: https://www.cms.gov/files/document/qso-20-39-nh-revised.pdf  

 
Note:  guidance is subject to change


