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Key Points

e This virus can spread from person-to-person. It can cause severe disease and death.

e Community-wide transmission of the COVID-19 virus is occurring in Androscoggin, Cumberland, Penobscot, and
York counties. (4/19)

e The directives outlined in Executive Orders 28 and 49, requiring people to “Stay Safer at Home” unless engaging
in a service or activity authorized by Executive Orders 19 or 28, are eased to the extent that people may access
the increased business and personal activities that are being reopened. This is effective until the Stay Safer at
Home Order is officially rescinded. (6/3)

e Currently, the greatest risk for COVID-19 is still travel to an area with ongoing community transmission and/or
close contact with a confirmed case. (3/17)

e The Governor outlined her plan for a gradual, safe reopening of Maine’s economy on April 23, 2020. She
announced updates to this plan on May 27, 2020.

e The Governor outlined her Rural Reopening plan on May 8, 2020.



Situation in Maine
What is the Maine Stay Healthier at Home order? (6/3)

The directives outlined in Executive Orders 28 and 49, requiring people to “Stay Safer at Home” unless engaging
in a service or activity authorized by Executive Orders 19 or 28, are eased to the extent that people may access
the increased business and personal activities that are being reopened. This is effective until the Stay Safer at
Home Order is officially rescinded. Modifications to this order will be made slowly as Maine progresses through
the Governor’s plan to restart the economy.

o When out of the home or when at work at an essential business, individuals shall maintain a minimum

distance of six feet from other people.

The use of public transportation is prohibited unless for an essential reason or job that cannot be done from
home.
The number of people traveling in private vehicles is limited to people within the immediate household unless
transporting for essential activities.
This order is enforced by law enforcement and violations will be subject to up to six months in jail and a $1000
fine.

What happens when a case of COVID-19 is identified in Maine? (6/8)

When a person is tested for COVID-19, they are asked to self-isolate at home if they are well enough or are
isolated in hospital if required. This continues until they meet criteria for release from isolation.

When Maine CDC is notified of a positive result, an epidemiologist reaches out to the patient to conduct an
investigation. Close contacts of the positive person who may have been exposed are identified and contacted.
These individuals are instructed to quarantine for 14 days and monitor for symptoms. A negative test result
when someone is identified as a close contact does not mean that they can forgo the quarantine.

Can [ stay at a hotel, motel, or short-term rental? (Updated 9/23)

Residents of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, New Jersey, New York, or Massachusetts may stay
in lodging establishments in Maine and are exempt from the testing and 14-day quarantine requirement.
People who are not residents of these states will be asked to sign a Certificate of Compliance at check-in at all
Maine lodging, campgrounds, seasonal rentals, overnight camps, and other commercial lodging (Airbnb, etc)..
o This certificate indicates either that the signer has received a negative COVID-19 test result, that they
will quarantine in Maine for 14 days, or that they have already completed their quarantine period in
Maine.
Lodging can be provided for housing vulnerable populations; for health care workers or other workers deemed
necessary to support public health, public safety, or critical infrastructure; for self-quarantine or self-isolation
facilities as arranged by the state; and under limited verifiable extenuating circumstances for the care and safety
of residents as approved by the State.
o Vulnerable populations include children in emergency placements, persons at risk of domestic violence,
and homeless individuals as permitted by the State.
Added health and safety precautions must be followed.

Can I stay at a campsite? (Updated 9/23)

Residents of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, New Jersey, New York, or Massachusetts may stay
at campgrounds in Maine and are exempt from the testing and 14-day quarantine requirement.
People who are not residents of these states will be asked to sign a Certificate of Compliance at check-in at all
Maine lodging, campgrounds, seasonal rentals, overnight camps, and other commercial lodging (Airbnb, etc).
o This certificate indicates either that the signer has received a negative COVID-19 test result, that they
will quarantine in Maine for 14 days, or that they have already completed their quarantine period in
Maine.
o Added health and safety precautions must be followed.
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What is the guidance for events or gatherings in Maine? (7/30)
e Beginning August 1, outdoor gatherings of up to 100 people, with no more than 5 people per 1,000 square feet,
is allowed.
e Indoor gatherings are still limited to 50 people or less.
e This is a proactive measure to help reduce the spread of COVID-19 in Maine.

When can bars open? (6/23)
e Bars and tasting rooms may open for outside service in all counties.

o Added health and safety precautions must be followed.
e Indoor bars and tasting rooms are postponed until further notice (6/23)

What health and safety precautions should businesses follow to reopen when they are permitted to?
(5/8)
e Implement physical distancing measures. Guidance on the number of customers that can be allowed
in stores of specific sizes can be found here.
o The limits must be enforced and a 6-foot separation be placed between any customers waiting
in lines.

As much business as possible must be conducted by curbside order, pick-up, or delivery.

The handles of every cart and basket must be disinfected between uses.

Customer handling of unpurchased merchandise must be minimized.

Separate operating hours for Maine people over the age of 60 and those with underlying

medical conditions must be provided.

o Fitting rooms must be closed.
o Stagger break times for employees and require frequent hand washing.

e Other businesses are encouraged to have employees work remotely or implement social distancing
measures if this is not possible, including: legal services, business and management consulting,
professional services and insurance services, etc.

e Any business that violates this order will be subject to further on-site restrictions or closure until those
violations are addressed.

e Further guidance for businesses from US CDC can be found here.

O O O O

Where can I find the checklist for my business and who can I call with questions about it? (5/8)
e Checklists for best practices for safely operating your business during COVID-19 are available on Maine

Department of Economic & Community Development’s (Maine DECD) webpage.
e Contact Maine DECD with questions about the checklists:
o Business.answers@maine.gov
o 1-800-872-3838

How long will concerns about COVID-19 last? (3/31)
e Concerns will linger until there is more scientific data about the behavior or COVID-19 and its impacts.
e |tis likely that the virus that causes COVID-19 will continue to circulate.
e Concerns will persist as long as the virus continues to spread rapidly.

Return to top
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Business Complaints

[ have a complaint about a grocery store or retail store that is not complying with the Governor’s Order.
Who should I contact about this? (7/7)
o Please fill out Maine’s Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) non-compliance form:
https://appengine.egov.com/apps/me/non-compliance
e Please contact Maine DECD:
o Business.answers@maine.gov
o 1-800-872-3838
e In addition, please let local law enforcement know.

[ have a complaint about a restaurant that is not complying with the Governor’s Order. Who should I
contact about this? (5/8)
o Please fill out Maine’s Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) non-compliance form:
https://appengine.egov.com/apps/me/non-compliance
e Please contact Maine’s Health Inspection Program.
e Please contact Maine’s Department of Economic and Community Development:

o Business.answers@maine.gov
o 1-800-872-3838
e In addition, please let local law enforcement know.

Return to top

Response to COVID-19

What is the Governor doing? (4/28)
e See Governor Mills’ executive orders.

[ would like to volunteer to help with the COVID-19 response (including contact tracing). How can I do
this? (6/8)
e Please visit www.maineresponds.org to register as a volunteer to provide services during a disaster or
emergency situation.
e US CDC Foundation also has a number of positions to fill in Maine. Please go to www.cdcfoundation.org for
more information and qualifications.
e You can learn more about Maine CDC’s COVID-19 response positions and see jobs postings at:
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/infectious-disease/epi/airborne/contact-tracing-positions.shtml

[ tried to sign up for Maine Responds but it says by form won’t go through. What do I do? (5/27)
e Please use the “Contact Us” button on the left-hand navigation pane on www.maineresponds.org to

communicate the issue.

[ would like to volunteer for emergency or disaster relief efforts in Maine. How can I do this? (4/15)
e Please visit www.maineready.org to register as a volunteer for current and future emergency or disaster relief
efforts.

Where can I find more information on donating time or resources? (3/31)
e Please visit the MaineHelps resource for information on how you can support efforts to combat the COVID-19
pandemic.
e Extending financial support:
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o To donate financial support for critical needs such as food and shelter, contact your local United Way.
o To donate financial support for regional and community-based nonprofits, area agencies on aging,
community action programs, homeless shelters, and food pantries, visit the Maine Community
Foundation.
e Supporting the healthcare and medical response:
o To donate certified medical supplies, like personal protective equipment (PPE), fill out this form.
o Maine people are encouraged to donate blood via the American Red Cross of Maine, which is
experiencing a critical shortage of blood donations.
e Supporting local small businesses:
o Maine people are encouraged to safely support local businesses through efforts like
PayltForwardMaine.
= Be mindful of physical distancing guidelines and using online transactions or pickup and delivery
services.

[ would like to donate homemade cloth face masks for health care providers. How can I do that? (4/15)
e Please contact the health care facility where you would like to donate cloth face masks. This will ensure that the
facility is accepting masks and that you follow any materials requirements.

Return to top

Prevention and Protection

What should I do if I had contact with someone with COVID-19 (not a health care or critical infrastructure
worker)? (7/21)
e These guidelines apply to people who are not considered health care or critical infrastructure workers.
o If you had close contact (within 6 feet for 15 minutes or more) with a COVID-19 case while they were
symptomatic or within 48 hours before their symptoms started:
o You need to quarantine at home for 14 days. Take your temperature 2x per day and monitor for fever,
cough, or difficulty breathing.
o You can have contact with people in your household and they can continue to leave home as long as you
are not symptomatic.
e If you had contact (within 6 feet for less than 15 minutes) with a COVID-19 case while they were symptomatic or
within 48 hours before their symptoms started:
o No quarantine is recommended. Monitor for symptoms for 14 days and contact healthcare provider if
symptoms develop.
e If you have been in the same room (more than 6 feet away) at the same time as a COVID-19 case:
o No quarantine is recommended. Monitor yourself for symptoms for 14 days and contact a healthcare
provider if symptoms develop.
e If you have been in a room at a different time than a COVID-19 case:
o No action is needed. You are not considered a contact.
e If you have had contact with someone who has been in contact (no direct contact) with a COVID-19 case:
o No action is needed.
o You can monitor yourself for symptoms and contact a healthcare provider if symptoms develop.
e If you have had any contact with someone who is sick but is not a known COVID-19 case:
o No quarantine is recommended. Monitor yourself for symptoms for 14 days and contact a healthcare
provider if symptoms develop.

What should I do if I had contact with someone with COVID-19 (health care or critical infrastructure
worker)? (4/29)
e These guidelines apply for people who are considered health care or critical infrastructure workers.
e  Critical Infrastructure workers include:
o Federal, state, and local law enforcement.


https://www.unitedwaysofmaine.org/covid/
https://www.mainecf.org/initiatives-impact/covid-19-response/
https://www.mainecf.org/initiatives-impact/covid-19-response/
https://appengine.egov.com/apps/me/covid-19-donations
https://www.redcrossblood.org/
http://payitforwardmaine.com/

911 call center employees.

Fusion Center employees.

Hazardous material responders from government and the private sector.

Janitorial staff and other custodial staff.

Workers (including contracted vendors) in food and agriculture, critical manufacturing, informational
technology, transportation, energy, and government facilities.

Asymptomatic critical infrastructure workers may continue to work following potential exposure to COVID-19.

o Potential exposure means being a household contact or having close contact (within 6 feet for 15
minutes or more) of an individual with confirmed or suspected COVID-19.

o This contact period includes up to 48 hours before the sick individual became symptomatic.
Asymptomatic health care providers should follow the recommended self-quarantine if their facility can still
remain open without the asymptomatic health care worker.

o If the facility would have to close in their absence, then the asymptomatic person can continue to work

following these guidelines.
Health care and critical infrastructure workers who remain asymptomatic should follow these practices prior to
and during their work shift:

o Pre-screen: measure the employee’s temperature and check for symptoms prior to starting work.
Temperature checks should occur before the individual enters the facility.

o Regular monitoring: Employee should self-monitor for symptoms during shift.

o Wear a mask: Employee should wear a face mask at all times while in the workplace for 14 days after
the last exposure.

o Social distance: Maintain 6-foot distance and practice social distancing as work duties permit.

o Disinfect and clean work spaces: clean and disinfect all areas like offices, bathrooms, common areas,
and shared electronic equipment.

If the employee shows symptoms of COVID-19, they must be sent home immediately.

o Surfaces in workspace should be cleaned and disinfected.

o Information on anyone who had contact with the ill employee from 48 hour before up to the time the
employee became symptomatic should be collected. Anyone with close contact within 6-feet during this
time would be considered exposed.

This and further guidance can be found at US CDC Interim Guidance for Critical Infrastructure Workers page.

O O O O O

What can people do to prevent infection with COVID-19?

The best way to prevent infection is to avoid being exposed to this virus. People should avoid travel to affected
areas, practice social distancing, and follow general respiratory prevention measures:

o Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. This is especially important after
using the bathroom, before eating, and after blowing your nose, coughing, or sneezing. If soap and
water is not available, use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer with at least 60% alcohol.

Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands.

Avoid touching high-touch surfaces in public.

Avoid close contact with people who are sick.

Cover your cough or sneeze into a tissue, then throw the tissue in the trash.

Clean and disinfect frequently touched objects and surfaces using a regular household cleaning spray or
wipe.

o Stay home when you are sick.

O O O O O

I cannot find facemasks or other personal protective equipment (PPE) anywhere. Can Maine CDC help?

(4/4)

Maine CDC is not able to provide personal protective equipment to members of the public or assist in helping
members of the public find sources for personal protective equipment.

If you are sick, contact your healthcare provider for assistance in finding facemasks and other equipment.

If you are not sick, you can wear a cloth facemask.


https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/critical-workers/implementing-safety-practices.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/travelers/map-and-travel-notices.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/travelers/map-and-travel-notices.html

o Information is available from US CDC on the use and creation of cloth face coverings.
e Wearing facemasks should not take the place of other prevention measures. Continue to practice general
respiratory prevention measures.
o Healthcare facilities should follow US CDC's strategies for optimizing the supply of PPE.
e Information is available from US CDC on the use and creation of cloth face coverings.

Who do I contact for information on N95 respirator fit testing? (5/20)
e Forinformation on N95 respirator fit testing, contact your County Emergency Management Agency and District
Liaison.
o Contact information for County Emergency Management Agencies.
o Contact information for District Liaisons.

[ am allowed to reopen my private business under the Governor’s plan (Ex: hair salons). Can I get PPE
through the State cache? (4/30)

e The process currently put in place to request PPE from the State cache is intended to provide supplies to
healthcare facilities in Maine.

e The State cache is not an appropriate source of PPE for reopening of private businesses under the Governor’s
plan.

e |[f private businesses cannot secure enough PPE to reopen services safely, then they may not reopen.

Where can I find cloth face coverings? (4/30)
e Please go to https://pages.mainemep.org/ to find cloth face covers sold by Maine manufacturers.

Do I have to wear a mask every time I go out in public in Maine? (7/9)

e The Governor’s order requires Maine people to wear cloth face coverings in public places where
physical distancing is difficult to maintain, as recommended by the U.S. CDC. The order identifies public
settings as:

o Indoor spaces that are accessible to the public such as grocery stores, retail stores, pharmacies
and healthcare facilities

o Outdoor spaces such as playgrounds, busy parking lots, and other areas such as lines for take-
out service where the public typically gathers in a smaller area

o Public transportation such as a taxi, Uber, Lyft, ride-sharing or similar service

o Ferry, bus, or train

o Any semi-enclosed transit stop or waiting area

e Governor Mills issued an Executive Order on July 8, 2020 requiring Maine’s large retail stores, eating
establishments, bars, tasting rooms, and lodging operations and accommodations located in the Counties of
Cumberland, Hancock, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc, Waldo and York, or in the Municipalities of Auburn, Augusta,
Bangor, Brewer, and Lewiston to implement measures requiring customers to wear face coverings. Measures
may include denial of entry or service.

e Cloth face coverings are not required for children under age 2, a child in a child care setting, or for
anyone who has trouble breathing or related medical conditions, or who is otherwise unable to
remove the mask without assistance.

e Even if you wear a facemask, you should also use other prevention methods.

Are there any cleaning recommendations to prevent COVID-197? (3/20)
e (Clean and disinfect frequently touched objects and surfaces (tables, countertops, light switches, doorknobs,
cabinet handles, etc.) daily using a regular household cleaning spray or wipe.

e Find cleaning recommendations for households with suspected/confirmed COVID-19 cases here. (7/7)
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What type of hand sanitizer should I be using?
e Use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer that contains 60 percent to 95 percent alcohol.
e |f soap and water are readily available, wash hands instead of using alcohol-based hand sanitizer.

How long will it take to develop a vaccine for COVID-197? (3/31)
e Currently, a massive effort is underway to develop a vaccine for COVID-19.
e |t can take one to two years to develop a fully-tested vaccine.
e Initial supplies of a COVID-19 vaccine would be for those at highest risk of exposure and those at highest risk of
severe disease.

What is the difference between isolation and quarantine? What is involved? (6/4)
e Self-quarantine means that you need to separate yourself from others because you may have been exposed to
the COVID-19 virus but are not currently symptomatic.
e Self-isolation means that you need to separate yourself from others because you may be infected with the
COVID-19 virus and you are experiencing symptoms.
e Self-monitoring means that you need to pay attention to your health to note if you develop symptoms of COVID-
19, including fever, cough, or difficulty breathing.
e For both self-quarantine and self-isolation:
o Stay home.
o You cannot go to public places even for essential reasons, including grocery stores.
o Do not have visitors in your home.
o Avoid contact with others, especially those who are at high risk of severe COVID-19 illness.
o Keep a distance of at least 6 feet from other people.
o If you are sick, wear a mask that covers your nose and mouth.
e During self-quarantine, you can have contact with other members of your household.
e During self-isolation, you should avoid having contact with other members of your household as much as
possible.
e These are different from the Stay Healthy at Home Order.
o This order allows you to go out for essential personal reasons.
o If you are self-quarantining or self-isolating, you cannot leave your house for essential personal reasons.
e Exercise during self-quarantine and self-isolation.
o If you are self-quarantining, you may leave your house for outdoor exercise activities, such as swimming,
hiking, provided that you abide by physical distancing guidelines and avoid contact with other people.
o Ifyou are self-isolating, you may not leave your house for exercise.
If you were instructed by Maine CDC to enter self-isolation or quarantine, you must be officially released by
Maine CDC in order to leave isolation/quarantine.

I recovered from COVID-19 and would like to donate plasma to help others who are sick. How can I do
this? (4/15)
e The American Red Cross is recruiting plasma donors who have recovered from COVID-19. Donors must:
o Have recovered from confirmed (lab-tested) COVID-19.
o Be 17 years of age or older.
o Have been recovered (without symptoms) for at least 14 days.
e Anyone who meets these criteria can register with the American Red Cross.

Return to top

Epidemiology
How is COVID-19 spread and acquired?
e The virus that causes COVID-19 can be transmitted from person-to-person.
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http://www.redcrossblood.org/plasma4covid

o This is thought to occur when an infected person coughs or sneezes within 6 feet of an uninfected
person and the uninfected person breathes in the virus.
e The best way to prevent infection is avoiding exposure to the virus by practicing prevention measures.

Can a person spread the COVID-19 virus even if they have no symptoms? (4/1)
e Itis possible that people infected with COVID-19 may be infectious before showing symptoms.
o More detailed studies are being done to determine whether people acquire COVID-19 from those
without symptoms.
e People are thought to be most contagious when they are most symptomatic/the sickest.
e Maine CDC recommends that only people who are showing symptoms be tested for COVID-19.

Can the COVID-19 virus be spread from contaminated surfaces? (3/31)
e The COVID-19 virus can be acquired from contaminated surfaces, but this is not the primary way the virus

spreads.
o This happens when an infected person coughs or sneezes and droplets land on surfaces. A person can
become infected by touching the contaminated surface and then touching the eyes, nose, or mouth.
e Clean and disinfect frequently touched objects and surfaces.
e Most often, spread of the virus happens among close contacts through respiratory droplets. Practice general
prevention measures.

Can the COVID-19 virus be spread in the air or only by droplets? (3/31)
e People mainly acquire COVID-19 by respiratory droplets from coughs or sneezes.
o Experts believe that COVID-19 does not spread via the airborne route.
e There are important differences between droplet and airborne transmission.
o Droplets are larger and heavier than airborne particles and settle faster.
e Only a limited number of diseases are capable of airborne transmission, like measles and tuberculosis.

Can someone who has recovered from COVID-19 spread the illness to others?
e Someone who is actively sick with COVID-19 can spread the illness to others.
e Once a person with COVID-19 has been released from isolation and is no longer showing symptoms without the
aid of medication (fever-reducers, cough suppressants), they are no longer considered able to spread the
COVID-19 virus.

What is community spread?
e Community spread means people have been infected with the virus in an area, including some who are not sure

how or where they became infected.

Am [ at risk for COVID-19 infection in Maine? (3/17)
e Visit the Maine CDC Coronavirus website for updated information on cases in Maine.
e Elevated risk: People in places with ongoing community spread of the virus, healthcare workers, and close
contacts caring for COVID-19 cases.

What information will Maine CDC release about any confirmed cases? (3/18)

e Maine CDC will release the following information: gender, age range, county of residence, and test status.
Maine CDC will not release additional personal information about confirmed cases.
Maine CDC conducts investigations for all confirmed cases. Any potential contacts will be contacted.
Press releases and information about cases are located on Maine CDC’s website.
The recommendations for the public do not change based on personal details of confirmed cases. Continue to
follow proper precautions.
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What about people from out of state who test positive? Where are their results reported? (3/31)

e Qut-of-state travelers who test positive in Maine are reported by the state of their primary residence. This is to

ensure an accurate national tally of COVID-19 cases under guidance from US CDC.
e Patients may continue to receive treatment in the state where they are tested.

Return to top

Medical Information and Testing

What are the signs/symptoms of COVID-19 and when do they appear? (7/21)
e Signs and symptoms include:
o Fever or chills.
Cough.
Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing.
Fatigue.
Muscle or body aches.
Headache.
New loss of taste or smell.
Sore throat.
Congestion or runny nose.
Nausea or vomiting.
o Diarrhea.

0O O 0 O O O O O O

o Seek medical attention immediately if you experience any of these emergency warning signs for COVID-19:

o Trouble breathing.
o Persistent pain or pressure in the chest.
o New confusion.
o Inability to wake or stay awake.
o Bluish lips or face.
e Symptoms may appear 2-14 days after exposure to the virus.

Who is at higher risk for serious illness from COVID-19? (7/21)

e Older adults and people who have serious chronic medical conditions are at higher risk for serious illness.
e Underlying medical conditions that can increase risk for severe illness from COVID-19 can be found here.

What should people at higher risk of serious illness with COVID-19 do? (3/13)
e If you are at a higher risk of getting very sick from COVID-19, you should:
o Stock up on supplies, including daily medications.
Take everyday precautions to keep space between yourself and others.
When out in public, keep away from others who are sick.
Limit close contact with others.
Wash your hands often.
Avoid crowds
o Practice social distancing.
o If there is an outbreak in your community, stay home as much as possible.
e  Watch for symptoms. If you get sick, stay home and call your healthcare provider.

O O O O O

e Visit U.S. CDC’s page for People at Risk for Serious Illness from COVID-19 for more information.

Who can be tested (PCR, antibody, or rapid test) for COVID-19? (Updated 9/22)

e Governor Mills announced a vast expansion of COVID-19 testing on June 8%, including “Swab and Send” sites

across Maine. View the current and proposed COVID-19 testing map (PDF).
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e Find a COVID-19 test center near you: https://get-tested-covid19.org/. Always call ahead before visiting to make
sure you follow their infection prevention rules and that they are able to test you.

e DHHS is issuing a standing order allowing any individual in Maine who is at least 12 months of age or older to
obtain a testing for SARS-COV-2. This means individuals can seek testing even if they don't have a primary care
provider or a written order from a clinician if they face a higher risk of exposure, with or without experiencing
symptoms.

e Maine DHHS developed frequently asked questions on the Governor’s standing order. (6/18)

Where can I get tested? (Updated 9/22)
e Find a COVID-19 test center near you: https://get-tested-covid19.org/. Always call ahead before visiting to make
sure you follow their infection prevention rules and that they are able to test you.
e Under the standing order, anyone in Maine who is at elevated risk of exposure to COVID-19 may get a test at
participating sites: https://www.maine.gov/covid19/restartingmaine/keepmainehealthy/testing.
e [f you are getting tested to forgo the travel 14-day quarantine, you must quarantine immediately upon entering
Maine until you receive a negative test result.

[ want to get tested at a testing site, but they are not adhering to the Governor’s standing order. What
should I do? (Updated 9/22)
e Please point the testing site to the standing order.

e This is available on Maine CDC’s coronavirus website: www.maine.gov/dhhs/coronavirus in the “Additional

Resources and Translated Materials” section.
e Maine DHHS developed frequently asked questions on the Governor’s standing order. (6/18)

[ was tested for COVID-19. How long will my results take? How can I find results? (3/24)
e Contact the healthcare provider that tested you for a timeframe and for results.
e Maine CDC does not provide test results to individuals.

My healthcare provider is not able to test me for COVID-19. What should I do? (3/12)
e If your symptoms are mild and do not require a visit to your healthcare provider, you should self-isolate at
home.
o If your symptoms are serious enough to require a visit to your healthcare provider, call ahead BEFORE you leave
for your healthcare provider’s office.
o IFyour provider is not able to test you, ask if they can facilitate testing at another location.
o Always call ahead BEFORE arriving at a new healthcare provider’s location.

What should I do if I don’t have a Primary Care Provider (PCP)? (3/15)
e If you are sick or would like to be tested for COVID-19 but do not have a PCP, you can visit an urgent care or
walk-in facility for care and testing. Always call BEFORE you arrive to let them know you are coming.
e The Emergency Department should be reserved for patients whose symptoms require emergency care.
e Always call a healthcare facility BEFORE going inside to let them know you are sick.

What should I do if I am under-insured? If I do not have insurance? (5/19)
e Mainers who may have lost their job or income due to the COVID-19 pandemic are encouraged to visit
www.coverme.gov to find insurance options.
e Maine residents who are uninsured are entitled to receive coverage for testing and diagnosis of COVID-19 at no
cost, administered through the MaineCare program.

o Coverage includes testing for the COVID-19 diagnosis as well as limited related services, including office
visits and evaluations, telehealth triage and screening, but does not include coverage for services for
treatment.

o Guidance and the application are available now.
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e On March 12, 2020, Maine Governor Janet Mills declared an Insurance Emergency. This requires all private
insurers in Maine to cover the costs of coronavirus testing, as well as associated costs, including healthcare visits
and copays.

Does COVID-19 affect children and adults differently?
e Older adults and people with underlying or chronic health conditions are at greatest risk.
e Youth appears to offer some protection from severe COVID-19 illness.
e All age groups can help slow the spread of COVID-19 by practicing general prevention measures.
e Find the latest information on the risk of COVID-19 for children here.

Does COVID-19 affect pregnant women?
e Initial studies indicate COVID-19 does not pass to a fetus during late pregnancy or cause severe health outcomes
in a newborn.
e Information is very limited. Find the latest information on the risk of COVID-19 for pregnant women and infants,
as well as recommendations for breastfeeding on US CDC’s Pregnancy and Breastfeeding site.

What is the medical treatment for people affected by COVID-19? (6/3)
e There are currently no approved treatments for COVID-19 besides supportive care.
e Supportive care means that the symptoms of disease are treated, rather than the cause of the disease.
e Remdesivir is an investigational antiviral compound undergoing clinical trials as a potential treatment for COVID-
19.

How can a person be released from isolation at home? (7/21)
e Forindividuals who have tested positive for COVID-19:
o Self-isolate until:
= At least 10 days have passed since symptoms first appeared (5/6), AND
= At least 1 day (24 hrs) has passed since recovery (no fever without the use of fever-reducing
medications) and symptoms have improved.

o All close contacts without symptoms of a person who has tested positive for COVID-19 should stay home
(self-quarantine) for 14 days from the time of their last exposure.

e  Forindividuals with symptoms compatible with COVID-19 who are not tested, or who are awaiting test results:

o Self-isolate until:

= At least 10 days have passed since symptoms first appeared (5/6), AND
= At least 1 day (24 hours) have passed since recovery (no fever without the use of fever-reducing
medications and improvement in symptoms).

o There are no recommendations at this time for close contacts of an individual that has been asked to
self-isolate but has not been tested. Any close contacts who become sick should self-isolate and follow
this same guidance.

e Specific criteria are available for healthcare workers with confirmed or suspected COVID-19 for release from
isolation.

[ was released from isolation, but my symptoms came back again. What should I do? (4/8)
e Maine CDC is now aware that some people who have met the criteria to be released from isolation may develop
symptoms again after release.
e If this happens to you, please isolate yourself again until 24 hours after your symptoms have resolved again,
without the use of any fever-reducing or cough-suppressing medication.
e Maine CDC does not recommend additional testing. The testing methods available would not provide any useful
information about your infection status.

How is COVID-19 different from the flu and common cold? (3/31)
e Some of the symptoms of COVID-19 are similar to influenza.
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e Most coronavirus infections cause very similar types of respiratory illness. In some mild cases, COVID-19 may
cause runny nose, cough, sore throat, and fever.
e Confirmed COVID-19 illness has ranged from mild symptoms to severe illness and death.

If one of my employees tested positive for COVID-19, do I need to report it to Maine CDC? (5/1)
e The places and people required to report any reportable disease, including COVID-19 are: health care providers,
medical laboratories, health care facilities, administrators, health officers, and veterinarians.
e Any other employer or entity is not required to notify Maine CDC if an employee tests positive. The testing
laboratory and health care provider are required to report this.

If one of my employees tested positive for COVID-19, should I notify all of the rest of my employees?
(5/1)

e A Maine CDC investigator will contact the employer of anyone who tests positive for COVID-19.

e All close contacts of the positive employee will need to be notified.

e An employer is not required to notify any other employees that are not close contacts, but may do so if they

choose.
o If an employer decides to notify other employees that a fellow employee tested positive, the employer
must keep the identity of the positive person private, following HIPAA laws.

What specimens will Maine’s State Lab (HETL) run? (5/19)
o HETL will now test specimens from any person who has one or more symptoms that are consistent with
COVID-19. Testing must be ordered by a clinician.

o Maine health care providers should use their clinical judgment to determine if a patient has signs and
symptoms compatible with COVID-19 and whether the patient should be tested.

o HETL will now also test persons without symptoms who may be at risk for spreading COVID-19 to others. As
examples, these may include but are not limited to:

o Asymptomatic close contacts of confirmed COVID-19 cases in an outbreak setting. For reference, Maine
CDC generally defines an “outbreak” as three or more epidemiologically linked cases of a specific
disease, and generally defines “close contacts” as individuals who have spent 15 minutes or more within
6 ft of an individual with confirmed COVID-19.

o Asymptomatic health care workers, including first responders, who have had contact with or exposure
to a confirmed COVID-19 case; or

o Asymptomatic persons tested as part of a sentinel COVID-19 disease surveillance program established
by Maine CDC.

Will Maine’s State Lab (HETL) run specimens collected that by congregate facilities that choose to
conduct universal testing when that recommendation has not been approved by Maine CDC? (5/19)
e In order to maintain laboratory capacity for the activities noted above, HETL will not test specimens collected by
congregate facilities that choose to conduct universal testing of their staff and residents when that
recommendation has not been approved by Maine CDC.

Where can I find testing forms, information on swabs, and information on transport media? (5/19)
e Please see HETL's SARS-CoV-2 Laboratory Submission Information Sheet

Return to top
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Daily Life and COVID-19
Can [ visit my dentist during the COVID-19 response? (5/19)
e Dental practices can open to routine dentistry: https://www.medental.org/.

e You can also access a map of dental offices open for emergencies.
o Emergency dental care includes:

= Bleeding that doesn’t stop.
= Painful swelling in or around your mouth.
= Painin atooth, teeth, or jaw bone.
=  Gum infection with pain or swelling.
= After surgery treatment (dressing change, stitch removal).
= Broken or knocked out tooth.
= Denture adjustment for people receiving radiation or other treatment for cancer.
= Snipping or adjusting wire or braces that hurts your cheek or gums.
= Biopsy of abnormal tissue.
e Guidance is available for dentists from US CDC.

I need help with rent assistance/evictions due to COVID-19. Who can I contact? (7/30)

e The COVID-19 Rent Relief Program issues a one-time payment of up to $1000 in rental assistance directly to
landlords for households that meet certain ability to pay requirements (effective August 3). The landlord agrees
not to evict the tenant for nonpayment for the month the payment was issued.

o Visit www.mainehousing.org/covidrent for more information and application materials.

e Please contact the Maine State Housing Authority for assistance at 207-626-4600.

Should I be worried about getting evicted if [ cannot pay my rent due to COVID-19? (7/30)
e Effective August 3™ Governor Mills issued an executive order which:
o Allows evictions scheduled for hearing prior to, and unrelated to, the pandemic to move forward.
o Requires landlords to provide at least 45 days’ notice for “at will” tenants to leave, rather than 30 days
required by law.
o Extends the eviction notice timeframe from 7 to 30 days for “at-wil
payment.
o Strengthens penalties for landlords who may try to evict tenants by unlawful means (such as turning off
utilities).
e The Governor’s order does not prevent a tenant from being evicted if they pose a substantial risk to another
person, immediate and severe risk to property, or a violation of health, sanitation, fire, housing, or safety laws.
e The Governors order does not relieve any tenant of their obligation to pay rent.

III

tenants when in arrears in rent

Where can I find information on unemployment insurance and unemployment benefits? (3/26)
e Visit the Maine Department of Labor COVID-19 Site for more information.

Where can I find information on services offered through the Maine Department of Health and Human
Services? (5/19)
e Programs include Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, Food Supplement Benefits, Health Care Assistance,
Emergency Assistance, Child Care Subsidy, and General Assistance.
e Find information here.
o Apply for benefits online.
e Visit My Maine Connection for information on Food Supplement, Health Care, Cash Assistance, and to apply for
Maine’s Child Care Subsidy.
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Where can I find information about paid sick leave or expanded family and medical leave during the
COVID-19 outbreak? (4/1)
e The Families First Coronavirus Response Act requires certain employers to provide their employees with paid
sick leave or expanded family and medical leave for specified reasons related to COVID-19.
o These provisions apply from April 1 through December 31, 2020.
e A summary of employee rights under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act can be found here.

[ am a farmer/food producer. Where can I look for assistance during the COVID response? (4/1)
e Information is changing rapidly. Please visit the Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry’s
COVID-19 website under the Financial Resources for Farmers and Producers heading for the most up-to-date
information on programs that are available.

[ am a farmer/food producer. What do I need to know about the Maine COVID-19 response? (4/1)
e Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry (Maine DACF) has published interim
guidance for those who work in agriculture, horticulture, animal care, and pesticide application.
e Farmer’s markets, farm stands and community supported agriculture (CSA) are direct-to-consumer
outlets that are considered essential services, along with other agricultural and grocery services.
o Recommendations for social distancing have been issued by MDACF for these direct-to-
consumer outlets.

Where can I find information on Local Food and Food Assistance? (4/1)
e Visit the Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry’s website under the Find Local Food and
Food Assistance for more information on food assistance programs.

[ have split custody of my child/children. Should they continue to go to their other parent’s house as
stipulated in a custody agreement? (4/1)
e Itis considered to be essential that co-parents comply with custody agreements. If all parties abide by physical
distancing guidelines, shared custody of children can continue.

Can pets and livestock be infected with the COVID-19 virus? (4/28)
e Itisvery rare, but possible for animals to become infected with the COVID-19 virus.
o These animals are believed to be infected by people.

e The risk of animals spreading COVID-19 to people is considered low.

e Thisis why it is very important to protect your pets by limiting contact with them if you are sick with suspected
or confirmed COVID-19. If possible, have another member of your household care for your animals while you
are sick.

o Your pets should be included in your family’s preparedness planning efforts. This includes a 2-week
supply of pet food and pet medicines available.
= Visit U.S. CDC’s Pet Disaster Preparedness Kit site for more information.

e Maine CDC and Department of Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry currently do not recommend testing
animals that don’t have symptoms for COVID-19.

o Any testing of animals will be limited and only on recommendation of the state veterinarian, state
epidemiologist, and National Veterinary Services Laboratory.

e Guidance is available from the American Veterinary Medical Association for the intake of companion animals
from households where humans with COVID-19 are present.

o ltis recommended that a pet exposed to a person with suspected or confirmed COVID-19 stay in that
household, rather than being transferred to another household or facility for care.

e US CDC issued infection prevention and control guidance for Veterinary Clinics here.

Can you get COVID-19 from mail packages that arrive from affected areas? (3/31)
o No cases of COVID-19 have been reported from packages or imported goods.
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e Coronaviruses may persist on surfaces for a few hours or up to several days, depending on the surface type and
environmental conditions.

e The risk of catching COVID-19 from a package that has been moved, travelled, and exposed to different
conditions and temperatures is believed to be low.

e The likelihood of a person with COVID-19 contaminating commercial goods is believed to be low.

e Wash your hands for 20 seconds with soap and water after bringing in packages, or after trips to the grocery
store or other places where you may have come into contact with infected surfaces.

How should I cope with stress during a COVID-19 outbreak in my community? (4/22)
e An outbreak of COVID-19 in your community may be very stressful.
e Visit US CDC’s Stress and Coping During COVID-19 site for ways you can support yourself during an outbreak.
e A Frontline Warm Line is available for first responders, health care workers, those in law enforcement, and
anyone else who is involved in the direct response to COVID-19.
o Call 207-221-8196 or 866-367-4440 to connect with someone for support services.
o Volunteers staffing the Warm Line include licensed psychiatrists, psychologists, therapists, social
workers, and nurse practitioners.

Am [ at risk if I go to a funeral or visitation service for someone who died of COVID-19? (3/12)
e There is currently no known risk associated with being in the same room at a funeral or visitation service with
the body of someone who died of COVID-19.

Am [ at risk if  touch someone who died of COVID-19 after they have passed away? (3/12)
e Since we are still learning how the virus spreads, people should consider not touching the body of someone who
has died of COVID-19.
e Activities such as kissing, washing, and shrouding should be avoided before, during, and after the body has been
prepared.
o If these actions are important religious or cultural practices, wear appropriate personal protection
equipment (PPE) while working with the deceased. Funeral homes can help with this guidance.

What do funeral home workers need to know about handling people who have died of COVID-19? (3/12)
e Funeral home workers should follow their routine infection prevention and control precautions. Embalming can
be conducted following standard precautions. Follow local ordinances for burial or cremation of remains
involved in an infectious disease outbreak.

My family member died from COVID-19 while overseas. What should I do? (3/12)
e If you are overseas, contact the nearest US embassy or consulate.
e Ifyouare in a different country from the deceased person, call the Department of State’s Office of Overseas
Citizens Services, open Monday through Friday, 8 AM to 5 PM EST at 888-407-4747 (toll-free) or 202-501-4444.

Can the COVID-19 virus be passed through water? Should wastewater treatment workers be
worried?(3/15)
e No. Conventional water treatment methods should remove or inactivate the virus that causes COVID-19.
e Visit US CDC’'s Water Transmission and COVID-19 page for more information.

Where can I find resources for children during the COVID-19 response? (3/26)
e Visit the Maine Department of Education COVID-19 resources page.

[ work for a community or religious organization. How can we respond to COVID-19? (3/12)
e Guidance for responding to COVID-19 before, during, and after an outbreak occurs, as well as recommendations
for cleaning facilities can be found on US CDC’s website.
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[ work for an organization that serves homeless populations. How can we respond to COVID-19?7 (3/12)
Guidance for responding to COVID-19 before, during, and after an outbreak occurs, as well as recommendations for

cleaning facilities can be found on US CDC's website.

Return to top

Travel and COVID-19

Should I be concerned about travel within the US?
e Governor Mills recommends that people stay in place if possible, rather than traveling.
e Traveling increases your chances of getting COVID-19.
e |f you must travel, practice general prevention measures.
e Consider these questions before travel within the US:
o Is COVID-19 spreading where you’re going?
o Will you or your travel companions be in close contact with others during your trip?
o Are you or your travel companions at higher risk of severe illness if you do get COVID-19?
o Do you have a plan for taking time off from work or school, in case you get exposed to, or are sick with,
COoVID-19?
Do you live with someone who is older or has a severe chronic health condition?
o Is COVID-19 spreading where you live?

O

What are Maine’s policies for out-of-state visitors? (Updated 9/23)
e There are two options for visitors from out of state:

o Complete a 14-day quarantine upon arrival in Maine OR
o Adults who obtain and receive a negative COVID-19 antigen or PCR test result within 72 hours prior to
arrival in Maine may forgo the 14-day quarantine.

e Travelers may be tested upon arrival in Maine as well but must quarantine while they wait for test results.

e Visitors from out of state, excluding New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, New Jersey, New York, and
Massachusetts residents, will be asked to sign a Certificate of Compliance indicating either they have received a
negative COVID-19 test result, that they will quarantine in Maine for 14 days, or that they have already
completed their quarantine in Maine. This form must be provided to check-in at all Maine lodging,
campgrounds, seasonal rentals, overnight camps, and other commercial lodging, such as Airbnb. Visitors may be
asked to show proof of the negative test result upon request.

What are Maine’s policies for residents of New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, New Jersey, and New
York? (Updated 9/23)

e Maine is exempting residents of New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, New Jersey, New York, and
Massachusetts from the testing and 14-day quarantine requirements because, when adjusted for population,
the prevalence of active cases of COVID-19 in these states is similar to Maine’s, as compared to other states in
the northeast.

What are Maine’s policies for a resident of Maine that visits New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, New
Jersey, New York, or Massachusetts and returns to Maine? (Updated 9/23)
e If a Maine resident visits New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, New Jersey, New York, or Massachusetts they

are not required to quarantine upon returning to Maine.
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e |f a Maine resident visits a state other than New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, New Jersey, New York, or
Massachusetts the requirement that they quarantine for 14 days remains in place, or they may utilize a negative
test result within 72 hours of arriving to Maine as an alternative.

What are Maine’s policies for international travelers coming to Maine? (Updated 9/23)
e There are two options for international travelers coming to Maine:

o Complete a 14-day quarantine upon arrival in Maine OR
o Adults who obtain and receive a negative COVID-19 antigen or PCR test result within 72 hours prior to
arrival in Maine may forgo the 14-day quarantine.

e Travelers may be tested upon arrival in Maine as well but must quarantine while they wait for test results.

e International travelers will be asked to sign a Certificate of Compliance indicating either they have received a
negative COVID-19 test result, that they will quarantine in Maine for 14 days, or that they have already
completed their quarantine in Maine. This form must be provided to check-in at all Maine lodging,
campgrounds, seasonal rentals, overnight camps, and other commercial lodging, such as Airbnb. Visitors may be
asked to show proof of the negative test result upon request.

What are Maine’s policies for seasonal homeowners coming to Maine? (Updated 9/23)
e Seasonal homeowners may utilize a negative test result within 72 hours of arriving to Maine or they may
complete a 14-day quarantine.
o Visitors from New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, New Jersey, New York, and Massachusetts are
exempt from quarantine and testing.

What are the travel guidelines for essential workers traveling to Maine to perform essential work or who
are from Maine and are traveling out of state for work and returning home? (6/11)
e Essential workers continue to be exempt from testing and quarantine requirements if they are traveling to

Maine to perform essential work or are from Maine and are traveling out of state for work and returning home.
e Essential workers that have not received a negative test result upon return to Maine must quarantine for 14
days when not at work.

What are Maine’s testing policies for children 18 years and younger coming to visit Maine for leisure?
(Updated 9/23)
e Testing for children, 18 years and younger, who are traveling with adults for leisure is not required.
e All other adults in the household must receive a test within 72 hours prior to entering Maine to forgo the 14-day
quarantine.

What type of test do [ need to get if | am coming to Maine to forgo the 14-day quarantine? (Updated 9/23)
e A negative SARS-COV-2 antigen or PCR test.

e A negative antibody test is not accepted to forgo quarantine.

Can I take a test more than 72 hours before I arrive to Maine to forgo the quarantine? (6/11)
e No. A test taken more than 72 hours before arrival in Maine does not qualify for you to forgo the quarantine.

[ can’t get a COVID-19 test within 72 hours prior to my travel to Maine. What can [ do? (6/11)
e If you are unable to get a test within 72 hours prior to arriving in Maine, then you can quarantine for 14 days up

on arrival. You can also find a testing site in Maine and quarantine until you get the test result back.

[ have to go to a medical appointment out of state. Do I have to quarantine or get a negative antigen or
PCR test upon return? (Updated 9/23)
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e Yes, if you travel to a non-exempt state for a medical appointment, the quarantine or recent negative antigen or
PCR test result rule applies. You could be tested upon return to Maine and would need to quarantine until you
receive negative test results.

o Exempt states include New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, and
Massachusetts.

Return to top
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