

Department of Health and Human Services Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention 286 Water Street # 11 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 Tel: (207) 287-8016 Fax: (207) 287-9058; TTY: 1-800-606-0215

John E. Baldacci, Governor

Brenda M. Harvey, Commissioner

Notice of X-Ray Unit Registration Requirements in Maine

Please be advised of the following registration and safety requirements for operating x-ray producing equipment in the State of Maine:

Per the State of Maine Rules Relating to Radiation Protection (Part F):

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/eng/rad/documents/Rules/Part F X-Ray In the Healing Arts 2009.pdf

Part F.3.B. Shielding Requirements and Plan Review.

- (1) Prior to initial operation, the floor plans and equipment arrangement of all new installations, or modifications of existing installations, utilizing x-rays for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes shall be submitted to the Agency. The required information is denoted in Appendices A and B of this part.
- (2) The applicant shall utilize the services of a Radiological Physicist to determine the shielding requirements prior to plan review and approval by the Department. In determining the shielding requirements for dental x-ray facilities, the Department may authorize other professionals, providing their qualifications justify such an authorization. Click the link below for a list of Radiological Physicists also called Qualified Experts: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/eng/rad/documents/Qualified%20Experts%20list%2010%2020%2009.pdf

Part F.3.C Initial and Periodic Survey

Except for intra-oral, panorex, mammographic and podiatric x-ray machines, all new facilities and existing facilities adding new machines shall have a survey made by a Qualified Expert within 30 days. The intraoral, panorex and podiatric machines shall be inspected within 12 months. Mammographic facilities shall be inspected by a Qualified Expert prior to operation. In addition, such surveys shall also be done after any change in the facility or equipment which might cause a significant increase in radiation hazard. See F.4.

Click the link below for a list of Qualified Experts:

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/eng/rad/documents/Qualified%20Experts%20list%2010%2020%2009.pdf

Part F.3.E. Applications for Registration of Radiation Machine Facilities.

(1) Each person having a radiation machine facility shall apply for registration of such facility with the Agency following the effective date of these regulations or thereafter prior to the operation of a radiation machine facility. Application for registration shall be completed on form HHE 805 "X-Ray Registration Form" furnished by the Agency and shall contain all the information required by the form and accompanying instructions. Click the link below for a registration form:

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/eng/rad/documents/Forms/HHE-805%20Radiation%20Machine%20Registration.pdf

Please call or email Maine's Radiation Control Program - X-Ray Section for assistance in registering your x-ray machine. Failure to do say may result in fines and or late fees.

steven.sprengel@maine.gov 207-287-5673 or gene.kaler@maine.gov 207-287-5719

Caring..Responsive..Well-Managed..We are DHHS.