Janet T. Mills Governor

Jeanne M. Lambrew, Ph.D. Commissioner



March 4, 2022

## NOTICE:

## State of Maine Health Inspection Program Will License Microblading as Micropigmentation

On August 30, 2021, you received a notice from the Department of Health and Human Services Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention Health Inspection Program (the Department) that a new Maine law would require all microbladers to obtain a micropigmentation license to practice. That notice informed you that license applicants who did not meet the full educational and facility requirements for a micropigmentation license but who satisfactorily met all other requirements in the micropigmentation rules (10-144 CMR Ch 211) would receive a conditional micropigmentation license from the Department that restricts activity to microblading only. This conditional license would be valid for a period of one year, to allow the applicants time to meet the educational requirements for a full micropigmentation license and to meet any remaining facility requirements not deemed to be an immediate health risk.

In November 2021, two requests were brought to the Department's attention from the microblade/micropigmentation community to perform the following:

- 1. Extend the one-year conditional micropigmentation license of microblade only beyond December 30, 2021; and,
- 2. Create a separate microblade license type, due to the costs of tuition and equipment required for a full micropigmentation license.

On December 9, 2021, the Department issued a survey to 381 licensed body artists, including microbladers known to the Department. The survey asked how microblading should best be licensed in Maine, along with questions that included but were not limited to recommended body artist rule revisions for training and certifications requirements. The survey closed on January 14, 2022. The Department received 22 responses. After reviewing these survey results and contacting two industry organizations, the American Academy of Micropigmentation (AAM) and the Society of Permanent Cosmetic Professionals (SPCP), the Department has made the following determinations:

## **Department's Decision**

- 1. The Department will extend the one-year conditional micropigmentation license of microblading only for one year from the legislative effective date of October 19, 2021. The final day for this one-year conditional license for microblading only is October 18, 2022.
- 2. While the Department understands there are tuition and equipment costs to enroll in an approved micropigmentation course, the Department has decided to consider microblading as a type of micropigmentation. Therefore, the Department will not create a separate microblade-only license for the following reasons:
  - a. The micropigmentation (or permanent make-up) industry does not distinguish between micropigmentation and microblading. The industry recognizes microblading as micropigmentation;
  - b. The industry standard for minimum training for a micropigmentation practitioner is 100 hours with a trainer certified by the American Academy of Micropigmentation (AAM) or the Society for Permanent

Cosmetic Professionals (SPCP). For this reason, the Department has reduced the educational and training hours from 200 hours to 100 hours for applicants that do not have a professional license in an associated field of practice, as stated in the micropigmentation rules. At this time, the Department will also allow training from an individual who has obtained Board-Certification with the AAM or a Certified Permanent Cosmetic Professional with the SPCP;

- c. Micropigmentation is performed for cosmetic and/or medical purposes. Application of permanent makeup is extremely technical and potentially dangerous if the practitioner is not performing it in a safe hygienic way. As a result, it is imperative that the micropigmentation practitioner obtain adequate training on proper technique; and,
- d. Fundamental training in micropigmentation provides the base of knowledge, which is necessary before a practitioner goes on to train and specialize in other areas, including microblading.

**Application:** The application for your micropigmentation license can be found here. https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/environmental-health/el/forms.htm

## If you are interested in microblading or any other aspect of micropigmentation, please complete all fields of the application with your information, sign the application, and submit the completed application with payment of the license fee.

**License Fee:** The fee for a micropigmentation license is **\$150**, which will pay for a valid license for two years. The license fee covers one licensure inspection and one follow-up inspection.

**Penalties:** Maine law (32 MRS §4312) requires a person to obtain a Department license before practicing micropigmentation, which includes microblading, in the State of Maine. Any person who performs microblading or any other kind of micropigmentation while unlicensed commits a civil violation, subject to civil penalties for as much as \$500 for each violation, pursuant to 32 MRS §4318.

Rules: A link to the micropigmentation rules can be found here. <u>https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/rules/</u>

If you have any questions about the licensing and inspection process, please contact our office at (207) 287-5671 or by email at <u>Casandra.Lavallee@maine.gov</u>. Should you have any further questions about this notice, please contact Lisa Silva by phone at (207) 287-5691 or by email at <u>Lisa.Silva@maine.gov</u>.