Medical Facilities Unit

The Federal CDC's newly created webpage, provides all-hazards resources intended for individuals at healthcare facilities tasked with ensuring that their facility is as prepared as possible for an emergency. The healthcare facilities targeted by this page include hospitals, long-term acute and chronic care facilities, outpatient clinics and urgent care facilities, physicians' offices, pediatric offices and hospitals.

Proposed Rules Governing Maine Medical Laboratories and Health Screening Permits 10-144 C.M.R. Ch 256

Facility reporting to the Division of Licensing and Certification (DLC):

  1. Facilities should report all incidents primarily through the on line incident reporting form at this link Medical Facilities - Incident Reporting Form
  2. Facilities unable to report through the above link may complete the Facility Incident Report Form (PDF) and fax or email ( it to the DLC Complaint Unit.  If you have questions regarding form please contact the Complaints Unit at 207-287-9308 or 1-800-383-2441

Quality Indicator Survey (QIS)


  • Federal-State Oversight
    DLC, Medical Facilities Unit, is responsible for health care licensing activities and is the federally designated State Survey Agency for the Medicare certification process. DLC conducts surveys (inspections), including complaint surveys, of healthcare providers, including hospitals, nursing facilities and ambulatory surgical centers.
  • CMS
    The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), US Department of Health and Human Services, maintains oversight for compliance with the Medicare health and safety standards for
    • Laboratories
    • Acute and continuing care providers, including
      • Hospitals
      • Nursing facilities
      • Home health agencies (HHAs)
      • End-stage renal disease (ESRD) facilities
      • Hospices
      • Other facilities serving Medicare and Medicaid beneficiaries
  • Certification Process
    The federal survey (inspection) of health care facilities/units/providers is done on behalf of CMS by the Maine Division of Licensing and Certification. The functions Maine performs for CMS under the agreements in Section 1864 of the Social Security Act (the Act) are referred to collectively as the certification process.

Updated March, 2018