STATE OF MAINE Department of Environmental Protection



Mark C. Draper, Chair

Cynthia S. Bertocci Executive Analyst

Ruth Ann Burke Board Clerk

JANET T. MILLS GOVERNOR

Sent by electronic mail only

June 12, 2020

Mr. James T. Kilbreth Drummond Woodsum 84 Marginal Way, Suite 600 Portland, ME 04101-2480 jkilbreth@dwmlaw.com

RE: Central Maine Power Company, New England Clean Energy Connect Department Order L-27625-26-A-N, L-27625-TB-B-N, L-27625-2C-C-N, L27625-VP-D-N, L-27625-IW-E-N Request for Stay of Commissioner's Order

Dear Mr. Kilbreth:

The Board of Environmental Protection (Board) is in receipt of the appeal filed by you on behalf of the Natural Resources Council of Maine (NRCM) of the Commissioner of Environmental Protection's (Commissioner's) May 11, 2020 order conditionally approving Central Maine Power Company's (CMP) application for the New England Clean Energy Connect (NECEC) project. NRCM's filing includes a request that the Board stay the Commissioner's Order pending the Board's consideration of NRCM's appeal.

Prior to ruling on NRCM's request for stay, Board Chair Mark Draper will accept legal arguments in support of, or opposition to, a stay from the other parties to the proceeding before the Commissioner. This is not an opportunity to supplement the record in any way and no new evidence will be accepted.

The deadline for other intervenors to comment on NRCM's request for a stay of the Commissioner's order is Friday, June 19, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. The deadline for CMP to respond to NRCM's request for a stay is Friday, June 26, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. Filings should be directed to: Mark C. Draper, Chair, Board of Environmental Protection, c/o Ruth Ann Burke, 17 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0017; <u>Ruth.a.burke@maine.gov</u>. Filing by electronic mail is sufficient.

If you have any questions, you may contact me at (207) 287-2452 or Assistant Attorney General Peggy Bensinger at (207) 626-8578.

Sincerely,

Cynthia & Bertocci

Cynthia S. Bertocci, Executive Analyst Board of Environmental Protection Cynthia.s.bertocci@maine.gov

Cc: Matthew Manahan, Pierce Atwood Gerry Mirabile, CMP DEP Commissioner Gerald Reid Susanne Miller, DEP James Beyer, DEP Peggy Bensinger, AAG Lauren Parker, AAG