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Maine Board of Dental Practice
Expanded Function Dental Assistant Jurisprudence Examination
(Updated December 7, 2023)

To successfully complete this examination, 9 of the 10 questions must be answered correctly by the
applicant. Itis an open book examination. The answers may be obtained by going to our website
www.maine.gov/dental , and click on "Statutes and Rules" on the home page. Please circle the letter
identifying the correct answer.

1. 32 M.R.S. § 18321(1) identifies the Board’s sole purpose, which is to protect one of the following;:
a. Board members.
b. Dental professionals.
c. Public health and welfare.
d. Educational institutions.

2. Which list reflects board membership and terms pursuant to 32 M.R.S. § 183227
a. 9 dentists; 10-year term.
b. 6 dentists, 3 hygienists, 1 denturist; 5-year term.
c. 5 dentists, 2 hygienists, 1 denturist, 1 public member; 5-year term.
d. 5 dentists, 2 hygienists, 1 denturist, 1 public member; 10-year term.

3. Which statutory provision outlines the Board’s authority to take disciplinary action?
a. 32M.R.S. §18323.
b. 32 M.R.S. § 18305.
c. 32MRS. §18325.
d. 32M.R.S. § 18324.

4. 32 ML.R.S. § 18325(1) identifies grounds for disciplinary action that the board may take. Which
most accurately reflects the Board’s statutory authority:
a. Obtaining a license by fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation;
incompetent practice, unprofessional conduct.
b. Aiding and abetting unlicensed practice; any violation of board
rule; failure to provide supervision as required.
c. Misuse of alcohol, drugs or other substances that has resulted or

may result in endangering the health or safety of patients.
d. All of the above.

5. Which Board Rule identifies failure to adhere to the practice standards, including failure to
utilize the CDC Guidelines for Infection Control set forth in Board Rule Chapter 12, as
unprofessional conduct?

a. Board Rule, Chapter 1.
b. Board Rule, Chapter 2.
c. Board Rule, Chapter 9.
d. Board Rule, Chapter 14.
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Pursuant to 10 M.R.S. § 8003-G(2), licensees and applicants are required to report into the Board
within 10 days after any of the following changes or events:

Change of name or address.

Criminal convictions.

Disciplinary action taken in Maine or any other jurisdiction.

All of the above.
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An EFDA’s authorized scope of practice is found in the following statutory provisions:
a. 32M.RS. §18344.
b. 32 M.RS. § 18374.
c. 32MRS. §18373.
d. 32M.RS. §18392.

An EFDA is not authorized to practice which of the following procedures:
a. Surgical or cutting procedures of hard or soft tissue.
b. Pulp capping, pulpotomy or other endodontic procedures.
c. Placement and intraoral adjustments of fixed or removable prosthetic appliances.
d. All of the above.

Board Rule, Chapter 13 requires that EFDAs obtain the following continuing education hours in
order to qualify for re-licensure as follows:
a. 50 hours during a 5-year period; 40 hours in category 1 and 10 hours in
category 2.
b. 50 hours annually; 40 hours in category 1 and 10 hours in category 2.
c. 20 hours during a 2-year period.
d. 50 hours annually; 10 hours in category 1 and 40 hours in category 2.

In addition to the duties authorized to perform expanded function dental assisting there are
duties that a dentist may delegate to an unlicensed individual, also known as a dental
assistant. The provision outlining the duties authorized to be delegated by a dentist to an
unlicensed person is:
a. 32 M.R.S. §18343(1
b. 32 MLR.S. §18344(1
c. 32MRS. §18371(3
d. 32M.RS. §18371(4
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