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Maine Board of Dental Practice 
Dentist Jurisprudence Examination (Updated December 7, 2023) 

 
 
 

To successfully complete this examination, 9 of the 10 questions must be answered correctly by the 
applicant.  It is an open book examination.  The answers may be obtained by going to our website 
www.maine.gov/dental , and click on "Statutes and Rules" on the home page.  Please circle the letter 
identifying the correct answer. 

============================================================================= 

 
 

1. 32 M.R.S. § 18321(1) identifies the Board’s sole purpose, which is to protect one of the following: 
a. Board members. 
b. Dental professionals. 
c. Public health and welfare. 
d. Educational institutions. 

 
2. Which list reflects board membership and terms pursuant to 32 M.R.S. § 18322? 

a. 9 dentists; 10-year term. 
b. 6 dentists, 3 hygienists, 1 denturist; 5-year term. 
c. 5 dentists, 2 hygienists, 1 denturist, 1 public member; 5-year term. 
d. 5 dentists, 2 hygienists, 1 denturist, 1 public member; 10-year term. 

 
3. Which statutory provision outlines the Board’s authority to take disciplinary action? 

a. 32 M.R.S. § 18323. 
b. 32 M.R.S. § 18305. 
c. 32 M.R.S. § 18325. 
d. 32 M.R.S. § 18324. 

 
4. 32 M.R.S. § 18325(1) identifies grounds for disciplinary action that the board may take. Which 

most accurately reflects the Board’s statutory authority: 
a. Obtaining a license by fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation; incompetent 

practice, unprofessional conduct. 
b. Aiding and abetting unlicensed practice; any violation of board rule; 

failure to provide supervision as required. 
c. Misuse of alcohol, drugs or other substances that has resulted or may 

result in endangering the health or safety of patients. 
d. All of the above. 

 
5. Which Board Rule identifies failure to adhere to the practice standards, including failure to 

utilize the CDC Guidelines set forth in Board Rule Chapter 12, as unprofessional conduct? 
a. Board Rule, Chapter 1. 
b. Board Rule, Chapter 2. 
c. Board Rule, Chapter 9. 
d. Board Rule, Chapter 14. 
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6. Pursuant to 10 M.R.S. § 8003-G(2), licensees and applicants are required to report into the Board 
within 10 days after any of the following changes or events: 

a. Change of name or address. 
b. Criminal convictions. 
c. Disciplinary action taken in Maine or any other jurisdiction. 
d. All of the above. 

 
7. Dentists, as part of their scope of practice, are authorized to delegate certain duties to unlicensed 

individuals pursuant to one of the following statutory provisions: 
a. 32 M.R.S. § 18342(1). 
b. 32 M.R.S. § 18347. 
c. 32 M.R.S. § 18371(3). 
d. 32 M.R.S. § 18379. 

 
8. Dentists who prescribe opioid medications must complete the following continuing education 

requirement as a condition to prescribe pursuant to 32 M.R.S. § 18308(4): 
a. 6 hours of continuing education related to every year. 
b. 6 hours of continuing education every two years. 
c. 3 hours of continuing education every year. 
d. 3 hours of continuing education every two years. 

 
9. Board Rule, Chapter 14 identifies the following sedation and anesthesia permits issued by the 

Board: 
a. Minimal, moderate, deep sedation, general anesthesia, and site permits. 
b. Moderate and deep sedation; general anesthesia; and itinerant dental 

sedation. 
c. Moderate, deep sedation, general anesthesia, and site permits. 
d. Moderate, level I; moderate – level II, deep sedation and general 

anesthesia, and itinerant dental sedation. 
 

10. Board Rule, Chapter 13 requires that a dentist obtain the following continuing education hours in 
order to qualify for re-licensure as follows: 

a. 40 hours per biennium; 30 hours in category 1 and 10 hours in category 2. 
b. 40 hours annually; 30 hours in category 1 and 10 hours in category 2. 
c. 40 hours per biennium. 
d. 40 hours annually; 10 hours in category 1 and 30 hours in category 2. 
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