MAINE BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE

Application Checklist for Limited Dentist Licensure

STANDARD APPLICATION for limited dentist means "...a dentist who has retired from the regular practice of dentistry and who holds a valid license issued by the board to practice only in a nonprofit clinic without compensation for work performed at the clinic. Services provided by a limited dentist must be in accordance with this chapter."

The following is a list of required items when filing an online licensure application. Some of the items can be submitted directly by the applicant or submitted directly from a third party such as an academic institution verifying a degree program.

Verification of Doctoral Degree (either official transcript submitted by applicant or form submitted directly by the academic institution). Link to access the form: www.maine.gov/dental/documents/certificate_of_education_form.pdf .
Official Educational Equivalency Report issued by a recognized professional organization if doctoral degree is not CODA accredited. The report may be submitted online but the original must be filed via USPS mail. Link to access organizations that perform educational evaluations: https://www.naces.org/
Verification from the nonprofit dental clinic that the applicant will be practicing dentistry in the dental clinic without compensation for work performed at the clinic.
Verification of an active dental license in good standing issued under the laws of another jurisdiction OR verification of an active, inactive, or expired Maine dentist license in good standing.
Curriculum vitae (resume), including references, and dates of clinical practice as a dentist.
Passing Score on Jurisprudence Examination. Link to access the examination: www.maine.gov/dental/jurisprudence-examinations.html
Current; valid basic life support (BLS) certification.
National Practitioner's Data Bank (NPDB) Self-Query Report. NPDB link: www.npdb.hrsa.gov/
Payment of \$871.00 in fees (includes \$21.00 Maine criminal background fee, \$100.00 application fee, and \$750.00 license fee)

For more information regarding qualifications for all categories of dentist licensure please review Board Rules Chapter 6 "Qualifications for Dentist Licensure" here: www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#313

Board Contact Information:

Board of Dental Practice 143 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0143

Telephone: (207) 287-3333 TTY users call Maine relay 711

Fax: (207) 287-8140

Email: dental.board@maine.gov

Website: www.maine.gov/dental