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Background

The State of Maine first legalized medical marijuana by referendum in 1999. In 2009, Maine
voters again took up the topic of medical marijuana, this time establishing a legal distribution
mechanism that had been nonexistent since 1999. The Maine Medical Use of Marijuana
Program (MMMP) became operational in 2010 and was directed to carry out the
implementation of the Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Act, with the first of Maine’s medical
marijuana dispensaries commencing operation in 2011.

Since its establishment in 2010, the state’s medical program has grown from a small, patient-
centric industry consisting of eight dispensaries—one in each public health district of Maine—
and nearly 600 caregivers to a fully commercialized operation consisting of seven dispensaries
and approximately 3,000 registered caregivers.

The Office of Marijuana Policy (OMP) has been responsible for oversight of the MMMP since
2019 and exists, in part, to ensure and facilitate an efficient, responsible, and legal medical
marijuana environment within the State of Maine. It provides oversight, guidelines, and
compliance support to registered participants engaged in the cultivation, manufacture, and sale
of medical marijuana and products containing it.

While usually the subject of robust policy-related discussions at the legislature, due to the
Covid-19 pandemic and the corresponding adjournment of the Maine Legislature early in 2020,
there were no legislative changes that affected MMMP in 2020.

For further information, please contact: The rules and statute governing this

program may be found at:
Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program _ ] .
Office of Marijuana Policy « Maine Medical Use of Marijuana

Act: Title 22, Chapter 558-C
¢ Rules: 18-691 C.M.R. ch. 2
o Rules: 18-691 C.M.R. ch. 4

Department of Administrative and Financial
Services

162 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333-0162

(207) 287-3282

https://www.maine.gov/dafs/omp

Erik Gundersen
Director, Office of Marijuana Policy

erik.geundersen@maine.gov
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Executive Summary

In accordance with 22 M.R.S. § 2425-A(13)(B), the Department of Administrative and Financial
Services (DAFS) shall submit an annual report that does not disclose any identifying
information about cardholders or medical providers, but that does contain, at a minimum:

e The number of applications and renewals filed for registry identification cards and

registration certificates;

The number of qualifying patients and registered caregivers approved in each county;

The number of registry identification cards suspended or revoked;

The number of medical providers providing written certifications for qualifying patients;

The number of registered dispensaries, manufacturing facilities and marijuana testing

facilities approved in each county;

e The number of officers, directors, and assistants of registered caregivers, registered
dispensaries, manufacturing facilities and marijuana testing facilities;

e The revenue and expenses of the Medical Use of Marijuana Fund established in section
2430.

The data in this report reflects calendar year periods, unless otherwise noted.

Key Takeaways — 2020
e The number of printed patient certifications increased 46.9 percent, from 65,368
certifications printed in 2019 to 96,046 printed in 2020.
e The number of registered caregivers increased 17.3 percent, from 2,596 in 2019 to 3,046
in 2020.
¢ The number of employees/assistants for caregivers increased 129.3 percent, from 1,883
in 2019 to 4,317 in 2020.
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Legislative and Regulatory Changes

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the corresponding adjournment of the Maine Legislature
early in 2020, there were no legislative changes that affected MMMP in 2020.

Printed Patient Certifications by County, 2020

Under the Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Act, medical providers registered with OMP can
provide certifications to patients that are, “likely to receive therapeutic or palliative benefit from
the medical use of marijuana to treat or alleviate the patient's medical diagnosis or symptoms
associated with the medical diagnosis.”

To be a qualifying patient in Maine's medical program, among other things, an individual must
possess a valid written certification. A written certification is only considered valid if it is "a
document on tamper-resistant paper signed by a medical provider...". To keep costs low for
prospective patients, OMP provides registered medical providers with the state’s tamper-
resistant patient certification paper at no cost.

An online service hosted by the state’s web portal provider allows for the immediate issuance of
patient certifications. The online system recorded, in 2020, that 96,046 certifications were
printed, a 46.9 percent increase from the 65,368 certifications printed in 2019, and a 109.1
percent increase from the 45,940 printed in 2018.

Printed Patient Certifications, by County
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Figure 1. The numbers contained herein are not an accurate reflection of the number of patients as it includes all
certifications printed, including misprints, the reissuance of lost certifications, and other anomalies.
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Presented another way, the following table includes the specific number of patient certifications
issued in their respective counties and the rate of change from the preceeding to the following
calendar year. As a reminder, these numbers include all patient certifications issued and does
not reflect the specific number of patients certified to access medical marijuana from registered
caregivers, caregiver retail stores, and/or registered dispensaries.

2018 | % change | 2019 | % change | 2020
Androscoggin | 4,086 80.6% 7,378 42.2% | 10,490
Aroostook 1,685 25.9% 2,121 68.4% 3,572
Cumberland 9,750 58.3% 15,433 43.2% | 22,106
Franklin 899 22.9% 1,105 76.3% 1,048
Hancock 2,235 48.4% 3,317 15.2% 3,822
Kennebec 5,287 23.1% 6,506 47.6% 9,603
Knox 1,267 52.2% 1,028 39.7% 2,604
Lincoln 1,387 21.9% 1,601 45.7% 2,463
Oxford 2,190 39.5% 3,056 46.6% 4,479
Penobscot 4,741 34.8% 6,390 54.5% 9,873
Piscataquis 333 72.7% 575 41.0% 811
Sagadahoc 1,193 56.6% 1,868 55.6% 2,006
Somerset 1,705 18.8% 2,026 49.3% 3,024
Waldo 1,443 27.7% 1,842 40.4% 2,586
Washington 1,162 5.3% 1,224 43.4% 1,755
York 6,577 35.4% 8,908 56.2% 13,914
TOTAL 45,040 | 42.3% | 65,368 | 46.9% | 96,046

The increase in patient certifications is attributable to the repeal of the list of qualifying medical
conditions contained in P.L. 2017, ch. 452. In calendar year 2017, the year prior to the repeal of
qualifying medical conditions, there were 41,858 patient certifications issued. This was an 18
percent decrease from 2016, when there were 51,324 patient certifications issued.

To protect patient confidentiality, Maine does not maintain a central registry of qualifying
patients.
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Visiting Qualifying Patients, 2020

P.L. 2019, ch. 209 (LD 538, An Act to Ensure Access to Medical Cannabis for Visiting
Qualifying Patients) went into effect on June 6, 2019 as an emergency measure. This change in
law removed the State of Maine’s medical certification requirements for out-of-state patients,
permitting those visiting patients to instead use patient credentials issued by their state-of-
residence, and required OMP to compile a list of states which authorize the use of their state-

issued medical marijuana credentials to access the services of caregivers and dispensaries while
in Maine.

As of 2020, the following jurisdictions have provided the information necessary to OMP to
permit the use of their credentials in Maine: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut,
Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa. Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana,
Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma,
Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington, and the District of Columbia.

Figure 2. States permitting the use of their medical marijuana credential in Maine appear in blue.
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Caregiver Individuals by County, 2020

The number of registered caregivers increased by 17.3 percent, from 2,596 in 2019 to 3,046 in
2020. There was an increase of registered caregivers in all counties except for Hancock and
Washington.

Registered Caregivers, by County
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Figure 3. This graph represents the number of registered individual caregivers there are in each county.

Medical Providers, Employees, Principal Officers and Board
Members, 2020

To obtain and issue patient certifications, an individual must be a licensed medical provider.
The current statutory definition of medical provider includes physicians, certified nurse
practitioners, and physician assistants. A written certification may be made only in the course of
a bona fide medical provider-patient relationship after the medical provider has completed a full
assessment of the patient's medical history.

In 2020, there were a total of 686 medical providers registered in the system. Of those, 611 have
an active registration. The forthcoming chart indicates the number of providers in each county.
In cases where a provider is practicing in multiple counties, they are listed multiple times.
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Medical Providers, by County
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Figure 4. All counties but Franklin witnessed an uptick in medical providers over the course of the last year.
Cumberland saw the largest uptick with 57 new providers.

All caregiver employees, dispensary employees, dispensary board members, and dispensary
principal officers must possess a registry identification card issued by OMP. The following table
provides caregiver- and dispensary-related registry information.

2018 2019 2020
Number of Caregiver Employees 360 1,883 4,317
Number of Caregiver Cards Revoked 8 5 4
Number of Registered Dispensaries 8 8 71
Number of Dispensary Employees 219 225 258
Number of Dispensary Board Members 21 21 17
Number of Dispensary Principal Officers 5 8
Number of Manufacturing Facilities - 0 0]
Number of Marijuana Testing Facilities - 0 0]

Testing in the MMMP is voluntary except for when certain claims are made on the labeling of
medical marijuana and marijuana products. While there are as many as six labs serving the

1 Late in 2020, Wellness Connection of Maine’s South Portland medical marijuana dispensary location converted to
Maine’s adult use program. Two other Wellness Connection of Maine registered dispensaries similarly converted in

2021. Their registrations remain active but only five dispensaries are operational as of the date of this report.
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medical program, OMP’s licensure of marijuana testing facilities occurs through the adult use
program. There are currently no registered officers or directors for registered caregivers,
manufacturing facilities, or marijuana testing facilities.

The significant increase in the number of caregiver employees reflects the newly-commercialized
nature of the caregiver model. As a result of the legislative changes enacted by the 128th and
129th Legislatures, registered caregivers may employ an unlimited number of individuals,
including individuals who may also independently operate as registered caregivers. Each
individual registrant working as an employee of a caregiver must have a unique employee
identification card tied directly to the primary registrant. Accordingly, a caregiver
employee/assistant may have one or more registration, depending on the number of caregivers
who employ them.

Revenue and Expenses

The State of Maine operates on a fiscal year that runs from July 1 through June 30. Accordingly,
revenue and expense information from state fiscal year 2020 covers the period from July 1, 2019
through the conclusion of the fiscal year on June 30, 2020.

2018 2019 2020
Revenues $ 2,444,917.74 | $ 2,597,338.25 $ 3,969,914.00
Expenses $ (922,033.73) | $(1,179,716.30) | $ (1,460,005.68)

Legislative Transfers

$ (667,626.00)

$ 0.00

$ (1,859,575.00)

The increase in programmatic expenses can be attributed, primarily, to additional headcount
within MMMP as a result of P.L. 2017, ch. 452.

Specifically, this legislation included Other Special Revenue allocations to DAFS to establish 2
Field Investigator positions and 1 Office Specialist position to handle increased investigations.
Additionally, allocation was made to allow DAFS to reimburse the Office of the Attorney General
for one full-time Assistant Attorney General position intended to advise on the interpretation of
new medical marijuana program provisions and to assist with the enforcement thereof.

Finally, P.L. 2017, ch. 452 included a General Fund appropriation to fund 1 Tax Examiner
position within DAFS’ Maine Revenue Services and the related costs to review and process
income tax returns.
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