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Background

Several laws were enacted during the second regular session of the 131 Legislature that will

impact the regulation of Maine Medical Use of Cannabis Program (MMCP) participants.

Specifically, An Act to Protect Liberty and Advance Justice in the Administration and

Enforcement of the Cannabis Legalization Act and the Maine Medical Use of Cannabis Act, P.L.

2023, ch. 679, makes changes to the Maine Medical Use of Cannabis Act (MMUCA) regarding:
e Issuance and renewal of registry identification cards;

Short term assistance between caregivers;

e Dispensary parking; and

Labeling and advertising requirements of the Act.

Also included in that law are changes that could impact the municipal regulation of participants
in Maine’s medical cannabis program. Like all non-emergency legislation enacted during the
second regular session, these laws go into effect August 9, 2024. The Office of Cannabis Policy
(OCP) is providing the following overview as a courtesy to interested program participants, but
this document is not an exhaustive review of legislative changes affecting the administration of
the State’s medical cannabis program, nor should it be construed as legal advice. Program
participants are encouraged to contact their own counsel to determine what impact, if any, the
changes identified below will have on their operations.

Guidance

The following is a brief review of the statutory and rule provisions of which OCP has received
questions regarding the timelines for implementation. However, it does not address the
implementation timeline for every provision of recently enacted legislation affecting the MMCP.

Issuance and Renewal of Registry Identification Cards

As discussed in previous guidance, An Act to Protect Liberty and Advance Justice in the
Administration and Enforcement of the Cannabis Legalization Act and the Maine Medical Use of
Cannabis Act, P.L. 2023, ch. 679, included provisions regarding the criminal history record
check and renewal requirements for assistants, registered caregivers, and officers and directors of
registrants operating in the medical cannabis program. Pursuant to that previous guidance
document, the following changes have already been implemented by OCP:

Page 1 of 4


https://legislature.maine.gov/backend/App/services/getDocument.aspx?documentId=107388
https://legislature.maine.gov/backend/App/services/getDocument.aspx?documentId=107388
https://www.maine.gov/dafs/ocp/sites/maine.gov.dafs.ocp/files/inline-files/Enacted%20Cannabis-related%20Legislation%20Memo%20%E2%80%93%202nd%20Regular%20Session%20of%20the%20131st%20Legislature.pdf
https://legislature.maine.gov/backend/App/services/getDocument.aspx?documentId=107388

o Effective May 15, 2024, employees and assistants, who are not officers or directors, of
registered caregivers, dispensaries, manufacturing facilities, and cannabis testing
facilities are no longer required to submit to a criminal history record check in order to
obtain or maintain an assistant registry identification card.

o Effective July 1, 2024, registry identification cards issued to assistants, officers, and
directors are valid for two years from the date of issuance or renewal. Caregiver registry
identification cards and registration certificates issued to registered dispensaries,
manufacturing facilities, or cannabis testing facilities are still valid for one year from the
date of issuance, but registered caregivers and officers and directors of registered
dispensaries, manufacturing facilities, or cannabis testing facilities are now only required
to submit to a criminal history record check once every 24 months.

Short Term Assistance Between Caregivers

P.L. 2023, ch. 679 also created a process by which registered caregivers can temporarily assist
one another for up to 90 days without running afoul of the statutory prohibition on the operation
of “collectives” by registered caregivers. Effective August 9, 2024, a registered caregiver may
assist up to two other registered caregivers for a period not to exceed 90 days within a calendar
year, provided the registered caregiver has provided notice of that assistance to OCP on the
Caregiver Short-Term Assistance Form which will soon be available here. Caregivers can also
use the form to request approval from OCP for temporary assistance that is expected to exceed
90 days.

Dispensary Parking

Another change included in the law and effective Friday, August 9, is the elimination of the
requirement that registered dispensaries maintain dedicated parking spots in order to receive or
renew a dispensary registration certificate issued by OCP. While OCP will not be requiring the
designation of parking spots for dispensaries, current and prospective dispensaries should review
local regulations in their host community to ensure compliance with all applicable municipal
requirements.

Labeling and Advertising Requirements of the Act

Effective Friday, August 9, P.L. 2023, ch. 679 also permits the use of patient testimonials
regarding the palliative or therapeutic effect of medical cannabis on the patient’s medical
condition(s) in advertising and marketing materials used by a registrant, or on the labels of
harvested cannabis offered to qualifying patients. Any such patient testimonials must include the
following disclaimer: This statement has not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug
Administration (FDA). This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any
disease. The disclaimer must be printed in the same font, and at the same font size, as any
testimonials it accompanies.

Changes Affecting the Municipal Regulation of MMCP Participants

Finally, P.L. 2023, ch. 679 included several changes to the medical cannabis program that could
impact the municipal regulation of medical cannabis program participants and could require
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action by municipalities. That is because the new law repeals the definitions section of MMUCA,
22 MRS § 2422 and replaces it with a new definitions section altogether, 22 MRS § 2421-A.
Some municipal regulations cite directly to the repealed definitions section for a number of
applicable definitions used in local municipal cannabis regulations, and so it may be important
for municipalities to update those citations. It is also important to note a substantive change to
the definition of the term “caregiver retail store”.

Effective Friday, August 9, a “caregiver retail store” will be defined as “a store authorized in
accordance with this chapter and used by a registered caregiver to sell cannabis paraphernalia,
cannabis plants, harvested cannabis, related supplies or educational materials to qualifying
patients and other items to the general public at a fixed location.”! This new definition
encompasses more kinds of retail locations than the previous definition and includes most
“offices” used by registered caregivers to make sales to qualifying patients. As a result, some
registered caregivers who did not previously request authorization to operate a caregiver retail
store will need to do so, as they will need to provide OCP with proof of municipal authorization
and municipal approval to operate that caregiver retail store upon annual renewal of their
caregiver registry identification card.

It is OCP’s understanding that some municipalities have not opted in to permit the operation of
caregiver retail stores in accordance with the requirements of 22 MRS § 2429-D. That section of
MMUCA requires a municipality to affirmatively authorize the operation of caregiver retail
stores in order for a municipality to give municipal approval to permit a registered caregiver to
operate a retail store. The only exception to this local authorization requirement is a
“grandfathering” provision for registered caregivers who were operating a retail store with local
approval prior to December 13, 2018.% This means that a registered caregiver that is operating a
caregiver retail store must provide to OCP, upon request to add the authorized activity of
operating a caregiver retail store and each year at renewal, a copy of the Caregiver Retail Store
Local Authorization Form completed by an authorized municipal official. A copy of that form is
available on OCP’s website and program participants or municipalities with questions regarding
the form can reach out to OCP’s Licensing Team at Licensing. OCP@maine.gov.

Whether or not a caregiver retail store is “grandfathered” in accordance with 22 MRS § 2429-D
is a determination of the municipality. For a caregiver that is not “grandfathered” in accordance
with 22 MRS § 2429-D, a municipality may not give local approval to a caregiver retail store (or
other registrant) unless the municipal legislative body has voted to adopt or amend an ordinance
or warrant article authorizing the operation of caregiver retail stores within that municipality.

! The repealed definition of “caregiver retail store” from 22 MRS § 2422(1-F) reads: ““Caregiver retail store" means
a store that has attributes generally associated with retail stores, including, but not limited to, a fixed location, a sign,
regular business hours, accessibility to the public and sales of goods or services directly to a consumer, and that is
used by a registered caregiver to offer cannabis plants or harvested cannabis for sale to qualifying patients.”
2 Both the local authorization and grandfathering provisions of 22 MRS § 2429-D apply not only to caregiver retail
stores, but to registered dispensaries, manufacturing facilities and testing facilities as well. Given that the changes
discussed above are necessitated by the change in the definition of “caregiver retail store”, the guidance is focused
on the interplay between that definitional change and the local regulation provisions of MMUCA for the sake of
simplicity.
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OCP understands that this change may cause challenges for registered caregivers and
municipalities alike, as some municipalities may not have an ordinance or warrant article that
authorizes the operation of caregiver retail stores. OCP strongly encourages program participants
to reach out to the municipality where they operate a caregiver retail store to ensure that there is
an ordinance or warrant article on the books that authorizes the operation of caregiver retail
stores, as defined in 22 MRS § 2421-A within the municipality, or area of the municipality,
where the store is located. If updates are necessary, municipalities are encouraged to reach out to
OCP immediately to discuss the municipality’s plans to adopt or amend a warrant article or
ordinance regarding caregiver retail stores. While OCP cannot authorize the operation of
caregiver retail stores in communities that have not adopted or amended a warrant article or
ordinance authorizing the same, OCP is committed to working with program participants and
their host communities to reduce any disruption to registered caregivers, their employees, and the
patients they serve if municipalities wish to permit the continued operation of caregiver retail
stores within their borders.

Conclusion

An Act to Protect Liberty and Advance Justice in the Administration and Enforcement of the
Cannabis Legalization Act and the Maine Medical Use of Cannabis Act, P.L.. 2023, ch. 679,
includes provisions that impact the regulation of participants in Maine’s medical cannabis
program. In anticipation of this new law going into effect, OCP is providing this guidance to
ensure that current and prospective medical program participants are aware of legislative changes
that could impact their businesses.

Unless otherwise specified in this guidance, the statutory changes included in P.L. 2023, ch. 679
will go into effect on August 9, 2024. Program participants are encouraged to contact their own
attorney for guidance regarding the applicability of these changes to their particular
circumstances, and individuals with questions regarding this guidance can contact OCP’s
Licensing Team at Licensing. OCP@maine.gov or OCP’s Policy Director at
Gabi.Pierce@maine.gov.
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