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Background

Several laws were enacted during the second regular session of the 131 Legislature that impact
the administration and enforcement of the Cannabis Legalization Act, Title 28-B, ch. 1. Those
recent legislative changes are outlined in guidance previously issued by the Office of Cannabis
Policy (OCP). OCP is now issuing this guidance to provide current and prospective Adult Use
Cannabis Program (AUCP) participants with additional information regarding the
implementation of those recently enacted laws, particularly those affected by ongoing major
substantive rulemaking.

Unless otherwise indicated in this guidance document, all non-emergency legislation enacted
during the second regular session of the 131% Legislature goes into effect on Friday, August 9.

Notably, An Act to Protect Liberty and Advance Justice in the Administration and Enforcement of
the Cannabis Legalization Act and the Maine Medical Use of Cannabis Act, P.L. 2023, ch. 679,
makes a number of substantive changes to the laws governing the AUCP. It also authorizes OCP
to finally adopt three major substantive rules affecting the adult use program. That authorization
is contingent, however, on OCP integrating legislative changes made during the 131% Legislature
into those major substantive rules. As a result of this requirement, several of the provisions
included in P.L. 2023, ch. 679 will not go into effect until those major substantive rules are
finally adopted and made effective later this year.

Licensees are also reminded that some of the changes indicated herein will require updates to the
facility plan of record that is on file with OCP prior to implementing such changes at their
facility. The guidance below identifies which changes may require an update to a licensee’s
facility plan of record, but this guidance is not legal advice and does not address all legislative
changes that may be applicable to program participants. Licensees are advised to consult their
own counsel regarding the applicability of these changes to their particular circumstances.

! Per the Maine Administrative Procedure Act, Title 5, ch. 375, major substantive rules must be finally adopted
within 60 days of the effective date of any legislation authorizing their adoption. Finally adopted major substantive
rules become effective 30 days after the rules are finally adopted by the agency that promulgated them. In this case,
P.L. 2023, ch. 679 goes into effect on August 9, 2024, which means OCP must finally adopt those rules no later than
October 8, 2024, which means the major substantive rules affecting the Adult Use Cannabis Program will become
effective no later than November 7, 2024.
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Guidance

The following is a brief review of the statutory and rule provisions of which OCP has received
questions regarding the timelines for implementation. As such, it does not address the
implementation timeline for every provision of recently enacted legislation affecting the AUCP.

The following changes will become effective on Friday, August 9, but may require
additional action on the part of a licensee to lawfully engage in the authorized activity. If
applicable, a licensee may submit to OCP an updated plan of record reflecting changes
necessitated by the statutory changes, however OCP will not start reviewing or approving those
updated plans of record until August 9.

Changes effective August 9, 2024, that may require additional licensee action:
Elimination of the requirement that co-located adult use licensees be separated by a
single, lockable door.

o Additional action: Licensees removing a single, lockable door from their licensed

premises are reminded to submit an updated facility plan of record to OCP.

Allowing purchaser age verification to occur at the point-of-sale rather than upon entry
into the licensed premises of a cannabis store, and permitting entry of minors into a
cannabis store when accompanied by a parent, guardian, or custodian.

(@)

(@)

Additional action: Cannabis store licensees choosing to move purchaser ID
checks from the entrance of the store to the point-of-sale are advised that an
update to the store’s facility plan of record is required prior to changing the layout
of the licensed premises of the cannabis store.

Additional action: An update to the licensee’s facility plan of record may also be
needed if policies related to age verification are updated in a way that changes the
licensee’s response to questions on, or information provided in, the facility plan of
record.

Expanding the definition of “visitor” to include any person who is not a minor, or a
contractor under 28-B MRS § 510 or an employee who is required to obtain and maintain
an individual identification card.

(@)

(@)

Additional action: Licensees should review existing visitor policies included in
their facility plan of record and should update the facility plan of record with OCP
if they choose to make any changes to their visitor policy.

Permitting a cannabis testing facility to retest for potency a portion of the remaining
representative sample of a batch of cannabis or cannabis products at the request of a
licensee.

Additional action: Cannabis testing facility licensees should review their sample
retention and reporting policies and procedures to ensure that the facility’s
practices are updated to require the retention of enough of the primary sample
necessary to, upon request of the licensee that originally submitted the sample,
conduct a retest of the batch’s cannabinoid potency. Such a request must be
received within 5 business days from the date the original potency result was
reported to the licensee who submitted the sample.
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o All licensees are reminded that retesting a sample of cannabis or cannabis
products can only be conducted on a portion of the original composite sample that
was submitted for mandatory testing to the cannabis testing facility. A licensee
may not submit a new sample for the purposes of retesting a batch of cannabis or
cannabis products for potency.

o The cannabis testing facility must report both the original potency result and the
result of the retest, and the licensee that requested the potency retest shall use the
potency results from the retest on the label of the cannabis or cannabis product
that was retested for potency.

e Allowing cultivation facility licensees to accept in one transaction a gift of up to 12
seedlings or up to 2.5 ounces of seeds from an individual once every 90 days.

o Additional action: Cultivation facility licensees that intend to accept a gift from
an individual of up to 12 seedlings or up to 2.5 ounces of seeds can use the
Gifting of Seeds or Seedlings Form which will soon be made available here to
request approval of the gift from OCP’s Compliance Team.

Finally, as indicated above and in guidance previously issued by OCP, several of the statutory
changes included in P.L. 2023, ch. 679 require rulemaking before they can be fully implemented.
The following changes will not be implemented until OCP finally adopts the major
substantive rules governing the Adult Use Cannabis Program later this year. As that date
approaches, OCP will issue more detailed guidance regarding the implementation timeline and
details of those new rules.

Changes not effective until major substantive rulemaking is completed later this year:

e OCP review of licensee packaging, labeling, advertising or marketing materials for
compliance with program requirements and approval of the same. (Once implemented,
licensees will be able to submit packaging, labeling, advertising or marketing materials
for review by OCP through the licensee portal on OCP’s website.)

e Manufacturing products that do not contain cannabis within the portion of the licensed
premises of a products manufacturing facility that is also licensed as a food establishment
by the Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry.

e Provision of consumer samples by a cannabis store licensee within the licensed premises
of the cannabis store.

e Entry of minors into the licensed premises of cultivation facilities, products
manufacturing facilities or cannabis testing facilities in emergency circumstances,
provided that the minor is accompanied by their parent, legal guardian or custodian who
is an individual identification cardholder responding to an emergency at the facility.

Conclusion

An Act to Protect Liberty and Advance Justice in the Administration and Enforcement of the
Cannabis Legalization Act and the Maine Medical Use of Cannabis Act, P.L.. 2023, ch. 679,
includes provisions that impact the regulation of participants in Maine’s Adult Use Cannabis
Program. In anticipation of this new law going into effect, OCP is providing this guidance to
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ensure that current and prospective adult use licensees are aware of legislative changes that could
impact their businesses.

Unless otherwise specified in this guidance, the statutory changes included in P.L. 2023, ch. 679
will go into effect on August 9, 2024. Statutory changes that will not be implemented on August
9 will be deferred until OCP finally adopts the major substantive rules governing the Adult Use
Cannabis Program later this year, specifically: the Rules for the Administration of the Adult Use
Cannabis Program, 18-691 CMR, ch. 10, Rules for the Licensure of Adult Use Cannabis
Establishments, 18-691 CMR, ch. 20, and the Compliance Rules for Adult Use Cannabis
Establishments, 18-691 CMR, ch. 30.

Program participants are encouraged to contact their own attorney for guidance regarding the
applicability of these changes to their particular circumstances, and individuals with questions
regarding this guidance can contact OCP’s Licensing Team at Licensing. OCP@maine.gov or
OCP’s Policy Director at Gabi.Pierce(@maine.gov.
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