Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations

Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement

8 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0008 (Regular Mail)

10 Water Street, Hallowell, ME 04347 (Overnight Mail)

Telephone: 207-624-7220 Fax: 207-287-3434

Email inquiries: MAINELIQUOR@MAINE.GOV DIVISION USE ONLY

License No:

APPLICATION FOR SMALL WINERY
[J $10.00 Filing Fee

[ $50.00 Application for Small Winery
[ $50.00 EACH -Additional Locations (up to 2)

[J $75.00 Farmers Market Participant
Check Payable: Treasurer, State of Maine

Class: By:

Deposit Date:

Amt. Deposited:

Cash Ck Mo:

NEW license [JYes [JNo PRESENT LICENSE EXPIRES
The undersigned hereby applies for a Winery license to produce table wine and sparkling wine up to
24% alcoholic content not to exceed 50,000 gallons per year.

ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED IN FULL

Corporation Name: Business Name (D/B/A)
APPLICANT(S) (Sole Proprietor) DOB: Physical Location:
DOB: City/Town State Zip Code
Address Mailing Address
City/Town State Zip | City/Town State Zip Code
Code
Telephone Number Fax Number Business Telephone Number Fax
Number
Federal Basic Permit #: Seller Certificate #:
or Sales Tax #:
Email Address: Website:
Please Print

1. Is applicant a corporation, limited liability company or limited partnership? [ Yes [ No
If Yes, complete the Corporate Information Required for Business Entities
2. Business records are located at:

3. Do you own or have any interest in any another Maine Liquor License? [J Yes [J No If yes, please list

License Number, Name, and physical location of any other Maine Liquor Licenses. (Please use additional sheets if
necessary.)

License # Name of Business

Physical Location City / Town
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o

Is/Are applicant(s) citizens of the United States? [1 Yes [I No
Is/Are applicant(s) citizens of the State of Maine? [J Yes [ No
If a corporation, does any officer, director, or stockholder of said corporation have in any way an interest,
directly or indirectly, as a director or stockholder in any other corporation which is a holder of a wholesale
license granted by the State of Maine? [JYes LINo

Is the applicant directly or indirectly giving aid or assistance in the form of money, property, credit, or
financial assistance of any sort, to any person, association, or corporation holding a liquor license granted by
the State of Maine? [ Yes [] No

Describe the area to be licensed (inside and outside area if applicable).

Will you maintain an additional location for tasting and retail sales other than your distillery location?
[J Yes [ No (If yes, check appropriate box(s) and enclose additional fee.)

Name of Premise: D/B/A
Address State Zip

Telephone Name of Manager

Type of Premise

10.List name, date of birth, place of birth for all applicants and managers. Give maiden name, if married.

Name in Full (Print Clearly) DOB Place of Birth

11. Residence address on all of the above for previous 5 years (Limit answer to city & state)

Name: City: State:
Name: City: State:
Name: City: State:

12. Has/have applicant(s) or manager ever been convicted of any violation of the law, other than minor traffic
violations, of any State of the United States? [1 Yes [ No

Name: Date of Conviction:
Offense: Location:
Disposition: (use additional sheet(s) if necessary)

13. Will any law enforcement officer directly benefit financially in your license, if issued?

[1Yes [INo If Yes, give name:
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Payments to the Division of liquor licensing & enforcement by check subject to penalty provided by Section 3-
B of Title 28A, MRS

NOTE: “Tunderstand that false statements made on this form are punishable by law. Knowingly supplying false
information on this form is a Class D offense under the Criminal Code, punishable by confinement of up to one
year or by monetary fine of up to $2,000 or both.”

Dated at: on , 20
Town/City, State Date

PLEASE SIGN IN BLUE INK

Signature of Owner or Corporate Officer(s) Signature of Owner or Corporate Officer(s)

Print Name Print Name

Please be sure to include the following with your application:

[1 Completed original application with original signatures.

[ Signed check with the correct fees and payment made out to: Treasurer, State of Maine

[1 Corporation Information Required for Business Entities. (if applicable)

[ ] List with name and address of each wholesale dealer authorized to distribute products of your licensed
winery.

[] Attached the distributor territory form.

[ ] Attached documentation of primary source.

[] Complete the label registration form with the associated annual fees.

[] If applying to participate in Farmers’ Markets Please include the Farmers’ Market schedule of events

Submit Completed Forms to:

Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages

Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement

8 State House Station, Augusta, Me 04333-0008 (Regular address)
10 Water Street, Hallowell, ME 04347 (Overnight address)
Telephone Inquiries: (207) 624-7220 Fax: (207) 287-3434

Email Inquiries: MaineLiguor@Maine.gov
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Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages
Division of Liquor Licensing & Enforcement
8 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0008
Tel: (207) 624-7220 Fax: (207) 287-3434
MAINELIQUOR@MAINE.GOV

Manufacturing Diagram
(Facility Drawing/ Floor Plan)

In an effort to clearly define your license premise and the areas that consumption and storage of liquor is
allowed, The Division requires all applicants to submit a diagram of the premise to be licensed in addition to a
completed license application.

Diagrams should be submitted on this form and should be as accurate as possible. Be sure to label the
following areas: ¢« Entrances « Office area « Malt/Wine Coolers » Storage areas ¢ Display Cases & Shelves *
Restroom sRegister *Area of Manufacturing *Area of retail sales * Area for on premise consumption ¢
Outside area/ decks ¢ All other areas that you are requesting approval.
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State of Maine
Division of Alcoholic Beverages and

Lottery Operations
Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement

Corporate Information Required for
Business Entities Who Are Licensees

Questions 1 to 4 must match information on file with the Maine Secretary of State’s office. If you have
questions regarding this information, please call the Secretary of State’s office at (207) 624-7752.
Please clearly complete this form in its entirety.

1. Exact legal name:

2. Doing Business As, if any:

3. Legal Entity’s FEIN #:

4. Date of filing with Secretary of State: State in which you are formed:

5. If not a Maine business entity, date on which you were authorized to transact business in the State of Maine:

6. List the name and addresses for previous 5 years, birth dates, titles of officers, directors and list the
percentage ownership: (attached additional sheets as needed)

Date of Ownership
NAME ADDRESS (5 YEARS) Birth TITLE %

(Stock ownership in non-publicly traded companies must add up to 100%.)

7. If Co-Op # of members: (list primary officers in the above boxes)
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8. Has any principal person involved in the entity ever been convicted of any violation of the law, other than

minor traffic violations, in the United States?

Yes [ No Il

9. If Yes to Question 8, please complete the following: (attached additional sheets as needed)

Name: Date of Conviction:

Offense:

Location of Conviction:

Disposition:
Signature:

PLEASE SIGN IN BLUE INK
Signature of Owner or Corporate Officer Date

Print Name of Owner or Corporate Officer

Submit Completed Forms To:

Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages

Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement

8 State House Station, Augusta, Me 04333-0008 (Regular address)
10 Water Street, Hallowell, ME 04347 (Overnight address)
Telephone Inquiries: (207) 624-7220 Fax: (207) 287-3434
Email Inquiries: MaineLiguor@Maine.gov
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Farmers’ Market Schedule

Notification of date of EACH Farmers’ Market we intend to sell wine, spirits or malt
liguor should be supplied on separate Schedule forms.

The notification must be received by the Division 30 days prior to the first event for each
Farmers’ Market.

Small Winery App/Farmers Market Rev. 4/2019, Replace 3/2019

License #: Name of Farmers’ Market:
Business Name (D/B/A):
Address of Farmers’ Market:
Email / Fax/ Mailing Address to send Approval:
Signature: Date:
PLEASE CHECK v ALL THAT APPLY FOR THAT GIVEN DATE
DATE RETAIL TASTING? (2 DATE RETAIL TASTING? (2
SALES PER SALES ONLY? | PER MONTH)
ONLY? MONTH)
1 16
2 17
3 18
4 19
5 20
6 21
7 22
8 23
9 24
10 25
11 26
12 27
13 28
14 29
15 30
For Office Use Only:
Date Filed: 0 Approved [0 Not Approved
Date Approved: Approved By:

Page 2 of 4



Farmers’ Market Participants Law

81366. RETAIL SALES AT FARMERS' MARKET

1. Retail sales at farmers' market. A licensee under section 1355-A, subsection 3, paragraph B; subsection 4, paragraph B;
subsection 5, paragraph B or an employee of the licensee who is at least 21 years of age may sell wine, spirits or malt liquor
manufactured in the State by the licensee at a farmers' market pursuant to this section.

[ 2017, c. 168, §1 (AMD) .]

2. Definitions. As used in this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, the following terms have the following meanings.

A. "Farmer" means a natural person who sells, with or without processing, agricultural products raised by the person on land in
the State owned or leased by the person. [2011, c. 280, §3 (NEW).]

B. "Farmers' market" has the same meaning as in Title 7, section 415, subsection 1, paragraph B. [2011, c. 280, §3
(NEW) . ]

[ 2011, c. 280, §3 (NEW) .]

3. Conditions. A licensee under subsection 1 may sell wine, spirits or malt liquor at a farmers' market under the following
conditions:

A. The licensee shall apply for and must have received authorization to sell at farmers' markets from the bureau and paid an
annual fee of $75. The application pursuant to this paragraph must be in a form determined by the bureau. The licensee shall
submit the application at least 30 days prior to the date when wine, spirits or malt liquor is to be sold at a farmers' market;
[2017, c. 168, §2 (AMD).]

B. Prior to each month during which the licensee wishes to sell or conduct a taste testing at a farmers' market, the licensee shall
provide to the bureau a list of the date, time and location of each farmers' market at which the licensee intends to sell or conduct a
taste testing and must receive approval from the bureau for that month; [2017, c. 168, §2 (AMD).]

B-1. The licensee shall keep and maintain a record of the dates, times and locations of the licensee's participation in a farmers'
market under this section; [2017, c. 168, §2 (NEW).]

C. The farmers' market must consist of at least 6 separate stalls or booths that sell farm or food products, not including liquor, and
must be authorized by the bureau under subsection4; [2017, c. 168, §2 (AMD).]

D. The stall or booth operated by the licensee at the farmers' market is considered part of the licensed premises of the licensee for
purposes of this chapter; [2011, c. 280, §3 (NEW).]

E. All wine, spirits and malt liquor must be prepackaged and sold by the bottle or case; [2017, c. 1, §19 (COR).]

F. Taste testing of wine, spirits and malt liquor may be conducted in accordance with section 1367; and [2017, c. 1, §19
(COR) . 1]

G. Spirits sold in accordance with this subsection are subject to the listing, pricing and distribution provisions of this Title. The
holder of a small distillery license may provide spirits for sale at a farmers' market in the same manner as permitted under section
1355-A, subsection 5, paragraph G. [2017, c. 168, §2 (NEW).]

[ 2017, c. 1, §19 (COR) .]

Small Winery App/Farmers Market Rev. 4/2019, Replace 3/2019 Page 3 of 4



Farmers’ Market Laws

4. Farmers' market authorization. At least 30 days prior to the sale of wine, spirits or malt liquor, a farmers' market must
obtain municipal approval to sell wine, spirits and malt liquor under this section and apply for and receive authorization from the
bureau for a licensee authorized under subsection 3, paragraph A to sell wine, spirits or malt liquor at the farmers' market. If the
farmers' market is held on private property, the application must include a written statement signed by the owner of the property
permitting the sale of wine, spirits or malt liquor in accordance with this section. The bureau may request a diagram of the layout of
the farmers' market. An application required by this subsection must be in a form determined by the bureau.

[ 2017, c. 168, §3 (AMD) .]

5. Rules. The bureau may adopt rules to carry out the purposes of this section. Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are
routine technical rules pursuant to Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

[ 2011, c. 280, §3 (NEW) .]
SECTION HISTORY

2011, c. 280, §3 (NEW). 2011, c. 629, §24 (AMD). RR 2017, c. 1, §19 (COR). 2017, c.
168, §$1-3 (AMD).
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Farmers’ Market Tasting Laws

81367. TASTINGS AT FARMERS' MARKETS

1. Taste testing. Subject to the conditions set forth in this section and the applicable bylaws of the farmers' market, a brewery,

small brewery, winery, small winery, distillery or small distillery licensed under section 1355-A may conduct taste-testing events at a
farmers' market. For purposes of this section, "farmers' market" has the meaning as in Title 7, section 415, subsection 1, paragraph A.
A farmers' market may allow up to 2 dates per month on which a licensee described in this subsection may conduct a taste-testing
event.

[

[

2017, c. 168, §4 (NEW) .]

2. Conditions on taste-testing activities. The following conditions apply to taste-testing activities allowed under this section.
A. An individual at a taste-testing activity may not be charged a fee. [2017, c. 168, S§4 (NEW).]

B. An individual at a taste-testing activity may not be served a taste-testing sample of more than 4 ounces of malt liquor, 1 1/2
ounces of wine or 1/2 ounce of spirits. An individual is limited to 6 samples per day per manufacturer licensed under section
1355-A. [2017, c. 1, §20 (COR).]

C. Malt liquor, wine or spirits for taste testing may not be poured in advance and made available for individuals participating in
the taste testing to serve themselves. [2017, c. 1, §20 (COR).]

D. An individual at a taste-testing activity who is visibly intoxicated may not be served malt liquor, wine or spirits. [2017, c.
168, §4 (NEW).]

E. Taste-testing activities must be conducted within the hours of retail sales established in this Title. [2017, c. 168, §4
(NEW) . ]

F. Taste-testing activities are not allowed in any municipality where on-premises and off-premises sales are not allowed pursuant
to chapter 5. [2017, c. 168, §4 (NEW).]

G. A licensee under section 1355-A conducting a taste-testing activity at a farmers' market must keep a record of when and where
the activity took place. [2017, c. 168, §4 (NEW).]

H. A licensee may provide for taste testing only liquor that is manufactured by the licensee in accordance with section 1355-A.
[2017, c. 168, §4 (NEW).]

2017, c. 1, §20 (COR) .]

SECTION HISTORY
RR 2017, c. 1, §20 (COR). 2017, c. 168, §4 (NEW).
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