

State of Maine Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement

Application for On-Premise Taste Tasting Event Permit

Please complete this application in its entirety. This application must be signed by the licensee or an agent of the licensee.

Name of Licensee	:		
Licensee Number	:	License Expiration:	
Complete Mailing	g Address:		
	ne Number:	Fax:	
Email Address:			
Location of Event	:		
Physical Address:			
-	Street / Road	Town / City	Zip Code
		From:	
		om 5:00 am to 1:00 am of the net not deviate from this statutory requ	
Type of Tasting to	be Held: 🛛 Wine	□ Beer □ Spirits	
Is this event:	□ Private Only	\Box Open to the Public	
		be pouring beer, wine or spirits at t sing and server training of the sales	
Name of Sales Re	presentative:		
Is the Sales Repre	sentative licensed:	Has Sales Representative co	mpleted training:

On-premise taste-testing are limited to one (1) per month.

Signature of Licensee	Date	
Printed Name of Licensee	Email Address	

In order to timely process your application, you must file this application at least 72 hour prior to the event. The Bureau reserves the right to reject an application not submitted by this time.

The Division of Liquor Licensing & Enforcement is hereby authorized to obtain and examine all books, records and tax returns pertaining to the business, for which this liquor license is requested, and also such books, records and returns during the year in which any liquor license is in effect.

Once issued, this permit is not assignable and is valid only for use by the licensee named in this application and for the date, time, and location listed in this application. This permit is issued subject to Maine liquor laws, Title 28-A, and the Bureau's Administrative Rules. Penalties for failure to comply with the laws and rules are provided in Chapter 33 of Title 28-A.

Submit Completed Forms To:

Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages & Lottery Operations Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement 8 State House Station Augusta, Me 04333-0008 Telephone Inquiries: (207) 624-7220 Fax: (207) 287-3434 Email Inquiries: <u>MaineLiquor@Maine.gov</u>

For Office Use Only:

Date Filed:

 \Box Approved \Box Not Approved

Date Approved: _____

Approved By: _____

Requirements for an On-Premise Taste-testing Event:

1. Liquor <u>may not</u> be served to persons who have not yet attained 21 years of age. <u>For the</u> <u>purposes of this application, liquor is defined as malt liquor, wine and spirits;</u>

- **2.** Serving limitations:
 - A. <u>Wine:</u> A person <u>may not</u> be served more than a total of 5 ounces of wine having an alcohol content of 14% or less, or for wine having an alcohol content greater than 14%, a person <u>may not</u> be served more than a total of 3 ounces;
 - **B.** <u>Malt liquor:</u> A person <u>may not</u> be served more than a total of 12 ounces of malt liquor having an alcohol content of 6% or less; for malt liquor having an alcohol content greater than 6% but less than 12%, a person <u>may not</u> be served more than a total of 6 ounces; or, for malt liquor having an alcohol content of 12% or greater, a person <u>may not</u> be served more than a total of 3 ounces; and
 - C. <u>Spirits:</u> A person <u>may not</u> be served more than a total of 1 1/2 ounces in 1/2 ounce servings of spirits having an alcohol content of 80 proof or less; or; for spirits containing an alcohol content of greater than 80 proof, a person <u>may not</u> be served more than a total of 3/4 of an ounce in 1/4 ounce servings;
- 3. A person <u>may not</u> be charged a fee for any liquor served as part of a taste-testing event;
- 4. A person who is visibly intoxicated <u>may not</u> be served;
- 5. A taste-testing event <u>must</u> be conducted with the hours of retail sales established in Title 28-A which is every day, Sunday through Saturday from 5:00 am to 1:00 am of the following day;
- 6. An on premise licensee <u>must</u> obtain the written permission of the Bureau before conducting any taste-testing event by filing this application for a taste-testing event with the Bureau and declaring if a licensed sales representative will be pouring liquor at the event under this permit. The applicant must verify that the sales representative is licensed by the Bureau and has server education training;
- 7. An on premise licensee <u>may not</u> conduct more than one (1) taste-testing event per month;
- 8. A taste-testing event <u>is not</u> allowed in any municipality where on premise and offpremise liquor sales are not allowed;
- 9. A taste-testing event <u>must</u> be limited to a designated area as provided in the application;
- **10.** An on premise licensee <u>must</u> purchase all malt liquor and/or wine served at a tastetesting event from a wholesale licensee. The applicant <u>must</u> keep a record of this purchase transaction;
- **11.** An on premise licensee <u>must</u> purchase all spirits from an agency liquor store licensed as a reselling agent. The applicant <u>must</u> keep a record of this purchase transaction;

- 12. An on premise licensee, with prior approval from the Bureau, <u>may</u> conduct an invitationonly taste-testing event at the licensed premises in place of or to coincide with a tastetesting event that is open to the public;
- **13.** After a taste-testing event is concluded, the on premise licensee <u>mav</u> return any unused portion of liquor used to conduct the taste-testing event to the licensee's existing stock;
- 14. A certificate of approval holder, licensed sales representative or wholesale licensee who participates in a taste-testing event <u>mav</u> provide and distribute food or snacks to be consumed in conjunction with the liquor to be tasted at no cost to the public or the on-premise licensee if the total cost for the food or snacks does not exceed \$200 per event. Any remaining food or snacks provided in conjunction with a taste-testing event must be removed by the certificate of approval holder, licensed sales representative or wholesale licensee from the licensed premises at the conclusion of the event;
- 15. A certificate of approval holder, licensed sales representative or wholesale licensee who participates in a taste-testing event <u>may</u> provide material to advertise the liquor being offered at the taste-testing event or for the promotion of responsible use of liquor. A certificate of approval holder, licensed sales representative or wholesale licensee **may** use the advertising material only for promotional display on the licensed premises. Advertising material related to the taste-testing event <u>may</u> include signs, coasters, napkins, table tents and items of like value and must be removed by the certificate of approval holder, licensed sales representative or wholesale licensee from the licensed premises at the conclusion of the event; and
- 16. A certificate of approval holder, licensed sales representative or wholesale licensee who participates in a taste-testing event <u>may</u> distribute novelties to the public during the event at a cost not to exceed \$3 per novelty. All remaining novelties under this paragraph must be removed by the certificate of approval holder, licensed sales representative or wholesale licensee from the licensed premises at the conclusion of the taste-testing event.