

## STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES BUREAU OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES AND LOTTERY OPERATIONS DIVISION OF LIQUOR LICENSING AND ENFORCEMENT

# **Application for Special Taste Testing Event License**

This application is being submitted as required by <u>28-A M.R.S. Section 1052-D</u>. Please complete this application in its entirety. This application must be signed by the licensee or an agent of the licensee and the municipality where the event will be located. **Completed forms and payment must be in the office 15 (fifteen) days before event is to be held.** 

#### Section 1: Event Information

Title of Event:				
Location and address of Event: _				
_				
Date of Event:	Time of Ev	ent: From:	To:	
Contact Person:		_ Telephone:		
Email Address:				
Describe specific area to be licensed ar	nd <b>attach a diagram</b> :	□ Inside Event		Outside Event

## **Special Taste Testing Requirements:**

**Sample Size and Limit:** Please indicate the type of taste testing event for which you are applying. If you select "Tasting C" below, you must also choose the options of C.1 or C.2. Please note, except as otherwise provided, sample sizes and overall daily sample limits are as follows:

	Spirits $-\frac{1}{2}$ ounce Beer $-4$ ounces Wine $-\frac{11}{2}$ ounces 12 samples per person per day
A.	Taste testing-only event. There is no sit-down meal designed to promote food and alcoholic beverage pairings <u>or</u> substantial food offerings provided as part of the taste testing event. <u>Sample size applies and daily sample limit applies.</u>
В.	Taste testing event with substantial food offerings. The selection of food must include more than snack foods such as potato chips, crackers, popcorn, pretzels etc. Sample size applies but 12 sample daily limit does not apply.

С.  $\square$ Food and beverage hospitality event where 50% or more of the vendors taking part in the event represent or promote a business other than a business that manufactures or distributes liquor. Select one of the options below. Event will include a multicourse sit-down meal designed to promote food C.1  $\square$ and alcoholic beverage pairings. The sample size and the 12-sample daily limit do not apply. Date and approximate time for sit-down multi-course meal: C.2. Event will **NOT** include a multicourse sit-down meal designed to promote food and alcoholic beverage pairings but will provide substantial food offerings. Sample size applies but 12-sample daily limit does not apply.

# Section 2.A: Signature; Fee; Delivery of application

By signing this application, the licensee/applicant understands that false statements made on this application are punishable by law. Knowingly supplying false information on this application is a Class D Offense under Maine's Criminal Code, punishable by confinement of up to one year, or by monetary fine of up to \$2,000 or by both.

Please sign and date in blue ink.

Dated: \_\_\_\_\_

Signature of Duly Authorized Person

Signature of Duly Authorized Person

Printed Name Duly Authorized Person

Printed Name of Duly Authorized Person

- A. Your completed application must be accompanied by the fee of \$20.00 per applicant listed in sections 3, 4 or 5. Please be sure to calculate the fee by the number of pages submitted for each section 3, 4 or 5.
  - 1. Please make your check payable to the **Treasurer**, **State of Maine**

- B. Where to send your application:
  - 1. Mailing address:
    - Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement 8 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0008
  - 2. Courier/overnight address:

Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement 10 Water Street Hallowell, ME 04347

- C. For questions on this application, please contact the Bureau at (207) 624-7220 or by email at Liquor.Licensing@Maine.gov.
- D. Incomplete applications, applications not submitted with the appropriate fee or not received by the Bureau fifteen (15) days prior to the event may impact the Bureau's ability to approve your application.

# Section 2.B: Approval of an application for a special taste testing event for use by Municipal Officers and County Commissioners only

The undersigned hereby certifies that we have complied with the process outlined in 28	8-A M.R.S.	§653 and
approve this taste testing event application on the following date:		

Check only one:		City			Town		Unorganized Territory	
Name of City/Town/	Unorgai	nized Te	rritory:					
Who is approving thi	s applic	ation?	□ Mu	unicip	al Officers			
			□ Co	unty (	Commissione	ers of		County

Signature of Officials	Printed Name and Title

Section 3: For use by Maine licensed Manufacturer of malt liquor or wine, Wholesaler or Certificate of Approval Holder

A.	Legal name and DBA of licensee:	
B.	Maine Liquor License Number:	Expiration Date:
C.	Complete Mailing Address:	
D.	Contact Person:	
E.	Telephone/Mobile Number:	Fax number:
F.	Email Address:	
Signa	ature of duly authorized person of the licensee	Date

Printed name of duly authorized person of the licensee

Please note: Complete as many Section 3 pages as needed for this application. All pages must be submitted together with the entire application.

## Section 4: For use by a Sponsored Licensee for a malt liquor or wine event

This section only needs to be completed if a non-Maine licensed certificate of approval holder or manufacturer is sponsored by a Maine licensed certificate of approval or manufacturer. <u>A sponsored licensee must provide a copy of its state and federal licenses or permits authorizing the manufacture of alcoholic beverages.</u>

A.	Legal Name and DBA of Sponsored Licensee:	Legal Name and DBA of Sponsored Licensee:					
B.	Complete Mailing Address						
C.	Daytime Telephone Number:	Fax:					
D.	Email Address:						
E.	State where sponsored applicant is licensed:						
F.	Name of Sponsoring Maine Licensee:						
Signa	ature of duly authorized person	Date					
Print	ed name of duly authorized person						

Please note: Complete as many Section 4 pages as needed for this application. All pages must be submitted together with the entire application.

Section	on 5:	For use by a Maine lice Manufacturer of spirits	ensed Distillery or	a Broker who rep	resents a Supplie	r or
A.	Туре	of Applicant: Check only one				
		Maine Licensed Distillery	License Number:			
	Legal	Name and DBA of Licensee:				
		Broker License Num	ber:			
	Name	of Broker:				
B.	Comp	lete Mailing Address				
C.	Daytiı	me Telephone Number:				
D.	Email	Address:				
Signa	ture of l	icensee or broker		Date		

Printed name of licensee or broker

Please note: Complete as many Section 5 pages as needed for this application. All pages must be submitted together with the entire application.

# Section 6: For Bureau Use Only for Review of Application

Date Filed:		Received 15 days prior to event?	$\Box$ Yes	$\Box$ No
Date Reviewed:		Reviewed By:		
	□ Approved	□ Not Approved		
If not approved, reason:				
Other Notes to Applicant, if any:				
outer roles to repricant, if any.				

# Section 7: Instructions for Completing an Application and Important Information about Holding a Taste Testing Event

- 1. The organizer of a **Special Event** must complete the first page of the application and seek municipal or in unorganized towns, county approval. Signatures must be originals.
- 2. The organizer of a **Special Event** must be a qualifying licensee.
- 3. The entire application must be completed in its entirety and must be legible.
- 4. In-state qualifying licensees must complete Section 3 of the application and must specifically name <u>all</u> personnel participating in the event that the <u>licensee</u> is sponsoring. Another industry applicant must specifically identify the wholesaler or manufacturer being sponsored.
- 5. Out of state qualifying licensees must complete the **sponsored licensee** section (Section 4: Sponsored Licensee Information) application and must specifically name those intended representatives, personnel or pourers.
- 6. A Maine licensed distillery, out of state manufacturer or supplier of spirits, or a broker who represents an out of state manufacturer or supplier of spirits must complete Section 6 and must specifically name those intended representatives, personnel or pourers.
- 7. In order to timely process your application, you must file this application <u>at least 15 days prior to the</u> <u>event</u>. The Bureau reserves the right to reject an application not submitted by this time.
- 8. By law, liquor can only be served from 5:00am to 1:00am of the next day, Sunday through Saturday, Event times cannot deviate from this statutory requirement.
- 9. Once issued, this license is not assignable and is valid only for use by the applicants named in this application and for the date, time, and location listed in this application. This license is issued subject to Maine liquor laws, Title 28-A, and the Bureau's Administrative Rules. Penalties for failure to comply with the laws and rules are provided in Chapter 33 of Title 28-A. A license under this application may be filed jointly by multiple licensees.
- 10. All servers of alcohol must complete and have on file with the event organizer an affidavit as defined in 28-A M.R.S. §703-A and which is provided below.

11.	The following may be licensed in a special event:	An in-state manufacturer of malt liquor, wine or spirits, a Maine wholesaler, a Certificate of Approval Holder, a broker who represents suppliers or manufacturers of spirits and a sponsored applicant.
12.	The following may participate in a special event:	An in-state manufacturer of malt liquor, wine or spirits, a Maine wholesaler, a Certificate of Approval Holder, a broker who represents suppliers or manufacturers of spirits and a sponsored applicant.

- 13. The following may be a sponsored manufacturer: A manufacturer licensed in another state.
- 14. The following licensees may provide malt liquor, wine or spirits under this application:

A manufacturer licensed under section 1355-A; a wholesaler licensed under section 1401; a Certificate of Approval Holder; a broker licensed under section 1502 who represents a supplier or manufacturer of spirits and a sponsored manufacturer licensed outside of Maine who is registered with TTB and who has paid all excise taxes on product provided.

- 15. The following licensees may designate a person to pour samples of malt liquor, wine or spirits:
  - A. A manufacturer;
  - B. A sponsored manufacturer, if any;
  - C. A wholesaler;
  - D. A certificate of approval holder; or
  - E. A broker of a spirits manufacturer or supplier
- 16. Any person designated by a licensee in #15 must be identified with a badge or other means of identification that clearly provides the following information and the badge must be clearly visible to persons being served:
  - A. Name of manufacturer;
  - B. Name of the sponsored manufacturer, if any;
  - C. Name of the wholesaler;
  - D. Name of the Certificate of Approval Holder; or
  - E. Name of Broker of a spirits manufacturer or supplier and the name of the represented supplier or manufacturer
- 17. Other requirements:
  - A. All servers must complete an employee affidavit. This affidavit must attest that any person designated to serve beer, wine or spirits has not been found to have violated any state or federal law prohibiting the sale or furnishing of alcohol to a minor;
  - B. All licensee must record the number of patrons of the event; and
  - C. Samples may not be pre-poured.

**Caution:** There are a variety of ways in which various entities may conduct taste testing events under Title 28-A, Section 1052-D. Events have their own list of requirements and it is important that when you select the type of event you want to hold that you fully understand the conditions of that taste testing event. To review all requirements of a 1052-D event, please use this link.

### Section 8: Common Violations that may be cited at a Taste Testing Event

\*\*Liquor is defined by Maine's liquor laws as malt liquor, wine, hard cider and spirits\*\*

- Sale of liquor to a minor
- Allowing possession of liquor by a minor
- Allowing a minor to remain on the licensed premise unaccompanied by parent or legal guardian
- Sale of liquor to a visibly intoxicated person
- Allowing possession of liquor by a visibly intoxicated person
- Allowing a visibly intoxicated person to remain on the premise
- Employees or designated servers consuming liquor while on duty
- Employees or designated servers showing the effects of liquor
- Licensee showing effects of liquor
- Allowing entertainers to consume liquor while performing
- Allowing entertainers to show the effects of liquor
- Allowing consumption in an unapproved area
- Allowing smoking in areas where consumption of food or liquor is taking place
- Allowing samples to be pre-poured
- Servers are not properly identified
- Servers violate the sample size