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Application for Brewer of Malt Liquors 
For Annual Malt Liquor Production under 30,000 barrels (930,000 gallons) 

 
All Questions Must Be Answered Completely.  Please print legibly. 

 
 
Section I: License Status and Information 
 

1. New license or renewal of existing license?  ☐ New ☐ Renewal 
 

The fee for a new license or renewal of an existing license is $60 - $50 application fee and $10 filing fee 
 

2. If a renewal, please provide the following information; if a new license, skip to Section II: 
 

a. Current license expiration date: ______________________________________________________ 
 

b. Number of gallons produced during most recent licensure period: ________________________ 
 

c. Number of samples (servings) sold during most recent licensure period: __________________ 
See 28-A MRS §1355-A, sub-§2, ¶F regarding paid samples. 

 
3. Other optional privileges requested: (check all to be added to your primary license) 

 
☐ Farmers’ Market – additional $75 fee 
☐ Additional warehouse space – additional $600 fee per year or $50 fee per month 

 
Section II: Licensee/Applicant(s) Information 
Legal Business Entity Applicant Name (corporation, LLC): Business Name (D/B/A): 

Individual or Sole Proprietor Applicant Name(s):  Physical Location: 

Individual or Sole Proprietor Applicant Name(s):  Mailing address, if different: 

Mailing address, if different from DBA address: Email Address: 

Telephone #                                 Fax #: Business Telephone #                    Fax #: 

Division Use Only 

License No: 

Class:                      By: 

Deposit Date: 

Amt. Deposited: 

Payment Type: 

STATE OF MAINE 
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES 

BUREAU OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES AND LOTTERY OPERATIONS 
DIVISION OF LIQUOR LICENSING AND ENFORCEMENT 

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1355-A.html
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Federal Tax Identification Number: Maine Seller Certificate # or Sales Tax #: 

Federal Basic Permit Number: Website address: 

 
1. Is licensee/applicant(s) a business entity such as a corporation or limited liability company? 

☐ Yes ☐ No If Yes, complete Attachment 1 at the end of this application 
 
2. Business records are located at the following address:  

 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

3. Do you own or have any interest in any another Maine Liquor License? ☐ Yes ☐ No  
 

If yes, please list license number, business name, and complete physical location address: (attach additional 
pages as needed using the same format) 
 

Name of Business License Number Complete Physical Address  
 
 

  

 
 

  

 
4. List name, date of birth, place of birth for all applicants including any manager(s) employed by the 

licensee/applicant.  Provide maiden name, if married.  (attach additional pages as needed using the same 
format) 

 
Full Name DOB Place of Birth 

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

Residence address on all of the above for previous 5 years 
Name      Address: 
 
Name      Address: 
 
Name      Address: 
 
Name      Address: 
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5. Is the licensee/applicant(s) citizens of the United States?  ☐ Yes ☐ No 
 
6. Is the licensee/applicant(s) a resident of the State of Maine?   ☐ Yes ☐ No 
 
7. For a licensee/applicant who is a business entity as noted in Section I, does any officer, director, member, 

manager, shareholder or partner have an interest, directly or indirectly in any manner, in any other business 
entity which is a holder of a wholesaler license granted by the State of Maine? 

 
☐ Yes ☐ No ☐ Not applicable – licensee/applicant(s) is a sole proprietor 

 
8. Is the licensee/applicant(s) directly or indirectly giving aid or assistance in the form of money, property, credit, 

or financial assistance of any sort, to any person or business entity holding a liquor license granted by the 
State of Maine? ☐ Yes ☐ No 

 
9. Will any law enforcement officer directly benefit financially from this license, if issued? 

☐ Yes ☐ No 
If Yes, provide name of law enforcement officer and department where employed: 
 
___________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
10. Has the licensee/applicant(s) ever been convicted of any violation of the liquor laws in Maine or any 

State of the United States? ☐ Yes ☐ No 
 

If Yes, please provide the following information and attach additional pages as needed using the 
same format. 

 
Name: _____________________________________ Date of Conviction: _________________________ 
 
Offense: ___________________________________ Location: _________________________________ 
 
Disposition: _______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
11. Has the licensee/applicant(s) ever been convicted of any violation of any law, other than minor traffic 

violations, in Maine or any State of the United States? ☐ Yes ☐ No 
 

If Yes, please provide the following information and attach additional pages as needed using the 
same format. 

 
Name: _____________________________________ Date of Conviction: _________________________ 
 
Offense: ___________________________________ Location: _________________________________ 
 
Disposition: _______________________________________________________________________________ 
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Section III Manufacturing Facility Floor Plan 
 
In an effort to clearly define your license premise and the areas that consumption and storage of malt liquor is 
allowed, the Bureau requires all applications to include a diagram of the premise to be licensed. 
 
Diagrams should be submitted on this form and should be as accurate as possible.  Be sure to label the following 
areas: entrances, office area, coolers, storage areas, display cases, shelves, restroom, point of sale area, area of 
manufacturing, area of retail sales, area for on-premise consumption, outside area/decks or any other areas on the 
premise that you are requesting approval.  Attached an additional page as needed to fully describe the premise. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  



Application for Small Brewery – Rev. 10/2019   Page 5 of 8 
 

 
 
Section IV: Terms and Conditions of Licensure as a Brewer in Maine 
 

• The licensee/applicant(s) agrees to be bound by and comply with the laws, rules and 
instructions promulgated by the Bureau.  

• The licensee/applicant(s) agrees to maintain accurate records related to a license to be a brewer 
as required by the law, rules and instructions promulgated or issued by the Bureau if a license 
is issued as a result of this application.   

• All manufacturers of alcoholic beverages must be registered with the Alcohol and Tobacco 
Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB).  If you have not already registered, please see TTB.gov for more 
information to register your business or see  https://www.ttb.gov/public_info/5170-2a.htm 

• Any change in the licensee’s/applicant’s licensed premises as defined in this application must 
be approved by the Bureau in advance. 

• A wholesale licensee must not purchase alcoholic beverages from other than the primary 
source of supply within the United States.  “Primary sources of supply” means the brewer, the 
bottler, the brand owner or the designated agent of any brewer or brand owner. 

• The licensee/applicant(s) agrees to comply with 28-A MRS §1363 which provides, in part, that 
a manufacturer shall not, either directly or indirectly, lend any money, credit or equivalent 
thereof to any wholesaler in equipping, filling out, maintaining or conducting, either in whole 
or in part, an establishment of business where malt liquor, wine or spirits are sold, with the 
exception of the usual and customary credit of malt liquor, wine or spirits sold and delivered. 

• All manufacturers must register product with the Bureau prior to selling their product in this 
State. 
o If this application is a renewal of your license, you must renew all product using Alcoholic 

Beverage Industry Portal on our website.  There are some exceptions to this registration 
requirement, for more information, see Chapter 105, Product and Label Registration of the 
Bureau’s administrative rules. 

o For new applicants, the registration has 4 components – product registration that includes 
your TTB COLA, territory assignment, primary source designation and price posting.  
Once a manufacturer is ready to sell, you must contact the Bureau at 
Liquor.Licensing@Maine.gov to have an account created to register your products.  The 
Maine Alcoholic Beverage Industry Portal can be found by using this link.   

 
 
  

https://www.ttb.gov/public_info/5170-2a.htm
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1363.html
https://www1.maine.gov/cgi-bin/online/bablo/liquor/index.pl
https://www1.maine.gov/cgi-bin/online/bablo/liquor/index.pl
https://www.maine.gov/dafs/bablo/liquor-lottery-rules-statutes
mailto:Liquor.Licensing@Maine.gov
https://www1.maine.gov/cgi-bin/online/bablo/liquor/index.pl
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Section V:  Signature; Fee; Delivery of application 
 
By signing this application, the licensee/applicant understands that false statements made on this application are 
punishable by law.  Knowingly supplying false information on this application is a Class D Offense under Maine’s 
Criminal Code, punishable by confinement of up to one year, or by monetary fine of up to $2,000 or by both. 
 
 Please sign and date in blue ink.  
 
 
Dated: __________________________________ 
 
 
 
_________________________________________  __________________________________________ 
Signature of Duly Authorized Person    Signature of Duly Authorized Person 
 
 
__________________________________________ __________________________________________ 
Printed Name Duly Authorized Person   Printed Name of Duly Authorized Person 
 
 

A. Your completed application must be accompanied by the appropriate fee of $60.00.   
B. If you choose any optional privileges to be added to you license in Section I.3, you must adjust your 

payment to reflect the additional fees. 
1. Please make your check payable to the Treasurer, State of Maine 

C. Where to send your application: 
1. Mailing address: 

Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations 
Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement 
8 State House Station 
Augusta, ME  04333-0008 

2. Courier/overnight address: 
Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations 
Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement 
10 Water Street 
Hallowell, ME  04347 

D. For questions on this application, please contact the Bureau at (207) 624-7220 or by email at 
Liquor.Licensing@Maine.gov. 

  

mailto:Liquor.Licensing@Maine.gov
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Attachment 1 
Required Additional Information for a Brewer’s Licensee/Applicant(s) 

Who are Legal Business Entities 
 
 
Questions 1 to 4 of this part of the application must match information in Section II of the application above and 
match the information on file with the Maine Secretary of State’s office.  If you have questions regarding your 
legal entity name or DBA, please call the Secretary of State’s office at (207) 624-7752. 
 

All Questions Must Be Answered Completely.  Please print legibly. 
 
1. Exact legal name:  ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
2. Doing Business As, if any:  _____________________________________________________________ 
 
3. Date of filing with Secretary of State:  ________________ State in which you are formed:  __________ 
 
4. If not a Maine business entity, date on which you were authorized to transact business in the State of Maine:

 _______________________________ 

 
5. List the name and addresses for previous 5 years, birth dates, titles of officers, directors, managers, members 

or partners and the percentage ownership any person listed: (attached additional pages as needed) 
 

 

Name Address (5 Years) 
Date of 
Birth Title 

Percentage 
of 

Ownership 

     

     

     

     

     

     
(Stock ownership in non-publicly traded companies must add up to 100%.) 
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Farmers’ Market Schedule 
 
The following is Notification to the Bureau of date of the farmers’ market that the licensee intends to taste 
and/or sell malt liquor that is produced in Maine by the licensee.  The notification must be received by the 
Bureau 30 days prior to the first event for each farmers’ market.  This form needs to be completed for each 
farmers’ market the licensee intends taste and/or sell its products.  Note:  This form does not need to be 
submitted with the application.  For more information from Maine law on activities at farmers’ market, see Sec. 
6 of PL 2019, chapter 360. 
 

Please check ✔all that apply for the given date of the farmers’ market (attach additional pages if needed) 
 DATE RETAIL 

SALES 
ONLY 

TASTING  DATE RETAIL 
SALES 
ONLY 

TASTING 

1    11    

2    12    

3    13    

4    14    

5    15    

6    16    

7    17    

8    18    

9    19    

10    20    

 
For Office Use Only: 

 
Date Filed:  _______________________  ☐  Approved ☐  Not Approved 

 
Date Approved:  _____________________  Approved By:  _____________________________ 

 

License #: 
 

Name of the farmers’ Market: 

Name of Licensee: 
 
 
Email/Fax Number/Mailing Address to send 
Response by the Bureau: 
 

Address of the farmers’ market: 
 

Signature of duly authorized person: 
 
 

Date: 

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/bills/getPDF.asp?paper=SP0240&item=3&snum=129
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/bills/getPDF.asp?paper=SP0240&item=3&snum=129

