
Rev. October 2019 Page 1 of 9 

 
 
 

All questions must be answered completely and accurately; read all instructions 
as information required changes.  Please print legibly. 

Part I:  Information about the Licensee and the Premise 

1. License Number: ______________________________ 

2. License Expiration Date: ______________________________

3. Licensee Name and Contact Information:
Legal Business Entity Licensee Name (corporation, LLC): Business Name (D/B/A): 

Individual or Sole Proprietor Licensee Name(s): Physical Location: 

Individual or Sole Proprietor Licensee Name(s): Mailing address, if different 

Mailing address, if different from DBA address Email Address: 

Telephone #             Fax # Business Telephone #                    Fax # 

Federal I.D. # Seller Certificate # or Sales Tax #: 

If a reselling agent, your Federal Basic Permit #: Website address, if any: 

4. Is the licensee a business entity like a corporation or limited liability company?
Yes ☐ No ☐

5. Have there been any changes to the ownership of this business since the last renewal?
Yes ☐ No ☐

If Yes to questions 4 and/or 5, complete the attach form at the end of this application. 
If there have been changes, please note the changes. 

Division Use Only 

License No: 

Class:  By: 

Deposit Date: 

Amt. Deposited: 

Payment Type: 

STATE OF MAINE 
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES 

BUREAU OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES AND LOTTERY OPERATIONS 
DIVISION OF LIQUOR LICENSING AND ENFORCEMENT 

Application for Renewal of an Agency Liquor Store License 
with Retail Sales of Beer and Wine 

Class VIII License 
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6.
List name, date of birth, place of birth for all owners of this license.  Give maiden name, if married.  (attach
additional pages as needed).  If you are a registered business entity, please skip question and go to Part IV,
questions 27 to 32, and come to back question #7 to complete remainder of application.

Full Name DOB Place of Birth 

Residence address on all of the above for previous 5 years 
Name Address: 

Name Address: 

Name Address: 

7. Is everyone listed in question #6 or 32 a citizen of the United States? Yes ☐ No ☐

If No, please indicate which person(s): ______________________________________________________ 

8. Is everyone listed in question #6 or #32 a resident of Maine? Yes ☐ No ☐

If No, please indicate which person(s): ______________________________________________________ 

9. Has anyone listed in question #6 or #32 ever been convicted of any violation of liquor laws in Maine or any
other State of the United States, within the past 5 years?        Yes ☐ No ☐ (attach additional pages as
needed)

Name:  ________________________________________ Date of Conviction:  ___________________

Offense:  _____________________________________ Location:  ___________________________

Disposition:  ____________________________________________________________________________
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10. Has anyone listed in question #6 or #32 ever been convicted of any violation of any laws, other than minor
traffic violations, in Maine or any other State of the United States, within the past 5 years?

Yes ☐ No ☐ (attach additional pages as needed) 

Name:  ________________________________________ Date of Conviction:  ___________________ 

Offense:  _____________________________________  Location:  ___________________________ 

Disposition:  ____________________________________________________________________________ 

11. Has anyone listed in question #6 or #32 been denied a liquor license within the last 6 months?
Yes ☐ No ☐

If Yes, please provide details on the denial and the person who was denied. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

12. Is anyone listed in question #6 or #32,  the spouse, father, mother, child or other immediate family member of a
person whose liquor license has been revoked or denied in the last 6 months? Yes ☐ No ☐

If Yes, please provide details on the denial, the person and their relationship to the licensee.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________________

13. Does the licensee employ a manager who has been convicted of any violation of any liquor laws in Maine or
any other State of the United States within the last 5 years? Yes ☐ No ☐

If Yes, please provide details on the denial and the name of the manager. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

14. Does the licensee employ a manager who had their liquor license revoked within the last 5 years?

Yes ☐ No ☐ If Yes, please provide details on the denial and the name of the manager. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
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15. Will any law enforcement officer benefit directly from this license? Yes ☐ No ☐

If Yes, provide the name and agency of the law enforcement officer. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

16. Is any principal person involved with the license, a law enforcement official? Yes ☐ No ☐

If Yes, provide name. __________________________________________________________________ 

17. Will any other person including spouse, children or other immediate family members have any interest either
directly or indirectly in your license? Yes ☐ No ☐

If Yes, provide name:  ____________________________________________________________________ 

18. Have you received any assistance financially or otherwise, (including any mortgages), from any source other
than yourself in the establishment of your business? Yes ☐ No ☐

If Yes, please provide sources of financial assistance: __________________________________________ 

__________________________________________ 

19. Does the applicant hold any interest in any other liquor license including but not limited to a brewery,
winery or distillery in Maine? Yes ☐ No ☐

If yes, please list business/license name, license number and physical location. (attach additional pages as
needed)

Name of Business License Number 

20. Has anyone listed in question #6 or #32 formerly held a Maine liquor license? Yes ☐ No ☐

If Yes, please provide the name of the person and the name and location of the business that held the Maine
liquor license.

Name: ______________________________________________________________________________

Name of business/location:  ________________________________________________________________
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21. Does licensee own the premises? Yes ☐ No ☐

If No, provide name and address of owner: ________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________ 

22. What are the hours of operation of your store?

Day Opening Time – A.M. Closing Time – P.M. 
Sunday 
Monday 
Tuesday 
Wednesday 
Thursday 
Friday 
Saturday 

23. Please list the wholesale dollar value and types of merchandise in inventory: (Use separate sheet of paper if
necessary.)

Beer Wine Edible Food Tobacco Products Newspapers/Magazines 

Gas Paper Goods Lottery Grocery All Other Sales 

24. Please provide the current on-hand inventory of spirits, in dollars: $ ______________________ 

25. Please list the current annual retail dollar sales of spirits sales, in dollars: $ ______________________ 

26. Have you had any instances with your beer and/or wine wholesaler or the Bureau where your payment has
been returned for insufficient funds? Yes ☐ No ☐

If Yes, please provide details on when and how much you owed.  (attach additional pages as needed)

_______________________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________________



Rev. October  2019 Page 6 of 9 

Part II:  Terms and Conditions of an Agency Liquor Store License: 

• The licensee agrees to be bound by and comply with the laws, rules and instructions promulgated by the
Bureau.

• The licensee agrees to maintain accurate records of all retail alcohol sales as required by the law, rules and
instructions promulgated or issued by the Bureau if a license is issued as a result of this application.

• All retailers of alcoholic beverages must be registered with the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau
(TTB).  If you have not already registered, please see TTB.gov for more information to register your business
or see  https://www.ttb.gov/public_info/5170-2a.htm

• All agency liquor stores must have an inventory of at least $1,000 of compatible merchandise.
• Agency liquor stores must purchase all spirits from the Bureau.
• All spirit products must be priced as directed by the Bureau on a monthly and quarterly basis.
• An agency liquor store located in a municipality with a population of:

o 999 or less shall have in stock or on hand, a minimum of 50 different product codes (SKUs) and
maintain $5,000.00 minimum inventory.

o 1,000 or more shall have in stock or on hand, a minimum of 100 different product codes and maintain
$10,000.00 minimum inventory.

• Signs stating age requirement to purchase spirits must be prominently displayed in all agency liquor stores.
• Any change in an agency liquor store’s storage or selling space as defined in this application or as amended

by a public hearing on this application must be approved by the Bureau in advance.
• Agency liquors stores licensed as reselling agents may not deliver to licensees in a municipality where on

premise consumption is not permitted.
• Agency liquors stores licensed as reselling agents may establish escrow accounts for the sale of spirits to on

premise licensees with approval of the Bureau.
• All sales of spirits are final except that defective products may be exchanged or refunded, and an agency

liquor store may permit the return spirits from a consumer if the bottle has not been opened or tampered with
and is accompanied by a receipt that shows the it was purchased within the last 10 days from that agency
liquor store.

• You must make payments for spirits products to the Bureau by electronic transfer within 3 days after delivery
to your store and are subject to penalty provided by Maine law, 28-A MRS Section 3-B for failure to pay.

https://www.ttb.gov/public_info/5170-2a.htm
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Part III:  Signature(s); Fees 

By signing this application, the licensee understands that false statements made on this application are punishable 
by law.  Knowingly supplying false information on this application is a Class D Offense under Maine’s Criminal 
Code, punishable by confinement of up to one year, or by monetary fine of up to $2,000 or by both.  Please sign 
and date in blue ink  

Dated: __________________________________ 

___________________________________________ __________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant or Duly Authorized Person Signature of Applicant or Duly Authorized Person 

___________________________________________  ___________________________________________ 
Printed Name of Applicant or Duly Authorized Person  Printed Name of Applicant or Duly Authorized Person 

Please note: An incomplete application may affect the renewal of your Class VIII license. 

A. Your completed application must be accompanied by the fee of $710.00. 

• This licensing fee includes $300 for the renewal of your agency liquor store license, $400 for
your malt liquor and wine off premises retail license and the $10 application fee.

B. If you are a reselling agent, this application must be accompanied by the of $760.00.  This includes 
the fees noted in A above plus the $50.00 licensing fee for your reselling agent license. 

• Please make your check payable to the Treasurer, State of Maine

• Please return your completed application, fees and diagrams to:

Mailing address:

Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations
Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement
8 State House Station
Augusta, ME  04333-0008

Courier/overnight address:

Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations 
Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement
19 Union Street, 3rd Floor, Ste 301-B
Augusta, ME  04330

C. For questions on this renewal application, please contact the Division at (207) 624-7220 or by email 
at MaineLiquor@Maine.gov. 

mailto:MaineLiquor@Maine.gov
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Part IV: Required additional information for a Class VIII license who is owned a Legal Business 
Entity or if there has been a change of ownership in the business regardless of the type of 
owner 

Questions 27 to 32, the information must match the information provided in question #3 and must match the 
information on file with the Maine Secretary of State’s office. If you have questions regarding your legal entity 
name or the DBA associated with your legal entity name, please call the Secretary of State’s office at (207) 624-
7752. 

27. Exact legal name:  _______________________________________________________________________

28. Doing Business As, if any:  ________________________________________________________________

29. Date of filing with Secretary of State: _______________________________________

30. State in which you are formed: _______________________________________ 

31. If not a Maine business entity, date on which you were authorized to transact business in the State of Maine:

__________________________________________

32. List the name and addresses for previous 5 years, birth dates, titles of officers, directors, managers or members
and the percentage ownership (stock ownership in non-publicly traded companies must add up to 100%) of
any person listed: (attached additional pages as needed)

a. Please note:  If there have been changes in ownership since your last renewal please so indicate by
indicating with an asterisk (*).

b. If your business is not a registered business entity and you answered No to question #4 but have added
or removed a partner from your business, please use the table below indicate the change in the
ownership of your business.

Name Address (5 Years) 
Date of 
Birth Title 

Percentage 
of 

Ownership 
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Store Floor Plan Diagram
To clearly define your license premise and the area that storage of liquor is allowed, you must submit a diagram 
of your store with this application.  Please note:  This floor diagram is required at the time of renewal each year. 

Please label the areas of your store that include the following:  entrances/exits; office; storage areas for beer, wine 
and spirits, coolers for beer/wine; displays/shelves for the sale of beer, wine and spirits and general retail sales. 
If you serve food, the kitchen; dining area, if any; and restrooms.  If you have or intend to do tasting events, please 
indicate the area that either has been approved for tasting event or the area you seek to have approved for tasting 
events. 
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