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This memo is intended to provide guidance on requiring identification for the purchase of alcohol whether at off-
premises or on-premises establishments during these COVID-19 times.

At all times whether during these challenging times or not, proper identification is key to the safe and legal sale
of alcohol. Maine liquor law requires that any person who is under 27 years old must provide reliable
photographic identification that includes the person’s date of birth in order to prove they are at least 21 years old.
This means that a licensee can temporarily require a customer to remove a face covering when purchasing alcohol
to ensure that the buyer is the person on their ID. This applies in all situations regardless if the person is
purchasing inside your establishment, you are delivering curbside or you are delivering to a residence.

Please note that, according to the U.S. CDC, a cloth face covering is not intended to protect the wearer. It is
intended to help prevent the spread from the wearer to others. Cloth face coverings are also no substitute for
physical distancing and other safety protocols, which establishments that are open are also required to follow, to
help protect public health. Maine people should also continue to keep in mind that practicing good hygiene, such
as frequent hand washing with warm water and soap, are effective strategies to protect themselves from the virus.

The Bureau will continue to communicate updates on this matter as needed. If you have any further questions,
please contact me directly at Tim.Poulin@Maine.gov or 207.287.6750.
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