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February 3, 2020 

Dear Outdoor Hemp Applicant, 

 

Enclosed is an application for a license to grow hemp outdoors. Copies of the hemp licensing 

law (7 MRS Chapter 406-A § 2231) and Departmental rules (Chapter 274) concerning growing 

hemp in Maine can be found on our website www.maine.gov/dacf/php/hemp  

 

Please read the application carefully. Be sure to complete all sections and include any additional 

required information (growing area maps, landowner affidavits) before returning the application 

with the appropriate fee.   

 

Please keep in mind when completing the application that a Hemp License is non-transferrable, 

and the application fee is not refundable.  The Hemp License covers the growing of hemp 

through harvest.  We do not license processing activities or processed products. 

 

Below is some information that you may find useful while filling out your application. 

 

Explanation of Fees 

 

Maine law requires that the Department cover the costs of operating the industrial hemp program 

by charging an application fee, license fee and a per acre fee. These fees are as follows: 

 

• $100 application fee – this fee must be submitted with the application. 

• $500 license fee – this fee is due after approval of the application and must be submitted 

with the signed licensing agreement. 

• $50/acre fee – this fee is due after approval of the application and must be submitted with 

the signed licensing agreement. 

 

Please note that license and application fees charged must cover all program costs. This includes 

travel cost for all inspections, all necessary analysis fees, and salaries for all hemp program 

personnel. 

 

Seeds, Seedlings and Clones  

 

Documentation showing that the strains or varieties of seeds, seedlings and clones you planted 

meets the definition of hemp (0.3% or less THC content) is no longer required with your 
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application. However, once you have been approved for a license, this documentation does need 

to be submitted within 14 days after planting. It is therefore important that you obtain documents 

identifying the supplier/breeder/propagator as well as THC test results for the mature parent 

material giving rise to the seeds or clones for all the hemp varieties that you planted.  Keep these 

for your records. Outdoor hemp growers can start plants in an indoor structure without obtaining 

an indoor hemp license. Once plants are hardy enough, we expect them to be transplanted 

outdoors. Be advised that indoor cultivation of plants taller than 12” or plants with flowers will 

be considered an indoor hemp operation and will require a separate indoor license application 

and fees.   

 

Deadlines and Duration of License 

 

We no longer have an application deadline. If you wish to grow hemp, you should complete an 

application no later than 30 days before you intend to plant. Hemp licenses expire 365 days after 

their date of issuance and do not automatically renew. It can take up to 30 days to generate a 

license agreement once a license is accepted. To avoid delays in the review of your application, 

double check your forms and make sure all additional documents like maps are attached.  Keep a 

copy of your application for your records. If you grow hemp again next year, you must complete 

a new license application.   

 

For additional information about our hemp licensing program, be sure to read the FAQ section of 

our hemp web page. 

 

If you have any questions, please contact me at 207-287-7545 or email gary.fish@maine.gov  

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

 

Gary Fish 

State Horticulturist 
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Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry 
Division of Animal and Plant Health 

28 State House Station 
Augusta, Maine 04333 

207-287-3891
www.maine.gov/dacf/php/hemp 

Office Use Only 

Date Received:      Check Amount:   Check Number: 

Date Reviewed:      Reviewed By:     

Approved:         Yes  No  If No, Reason: 

If Yes:  Date License Agreement Sent:   License Number: 

Please Type or print clearly (incomplete or illegible forms will be returned).  Maine law requires all growers of hemp obtain a 

license. (7MRS Chapter 406-A § 2231) 

Licensee Information 

Licensee Name: __________________________________________________Title (if applicable):__________________________ 

Company/Business Name (if applicable):_________________________________________________________________________ 

Legal status of business:  sole proprietorship   corporation    trust/non-profit    LLC    cooperative  

legal partnership    other___________________________ 

Mailing Address:  _________________________________________________________________________________________ 

City:       State:    Zip: 

Physical address of principal business location:  

Phone(s): 

Email: 

Website: 

Authorized Alternate Contact Information 
List any additional persons authorized to receive correspondence either by mail, email or phone, and/or accept legal notices. Use 

an additional sheet if necessary.  It is the licensee’s responsibility to keep the list of authorized contacts current.   

Name:____________________________________________________________Phone:_____________________________ 

Email:______________________________________________________________ 

Address:____________________________________________________________ 

City:  ___________________________________________________State:_______________________Zip_________________ 

Title or Relationship to Applicant/Business: (e.g., manager, co-owner, family member…)______________________________________________ 

License History.  List any previously held hemp license numbers and year of issuance, attach a separate sheet if necessary. 
License Number:____________ Year Issued: ___________   Was this license revoked or suspended? ______   
License Number:____________ Year Issued: ___________   Was this license revoked or suspended? ______    

OUTDOOR Hemp License Application 

Continued on next page 

http://www.maine.gov/dacf/php/hemp
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Outdoor Grow Site Information.  Please identify each outdoor grow site using the format below. Attach additional pages as need-
ed. Non-contiguous growing areas separated by more than 50 miles require a separate application and application fee. GPS coordi-
nates for each site must be provided in decimal degrees (include at least 5 decimal places). In addition, please attach aerial photos/
maps to provide inspectors with the details they need to safely navigate to your grow sites.  Your application will not be approved 
unless this information is provided.  Maps and GPS coordinates can be found on websites such as www.google.com/maps.   

Outdoor Grow Site ___ 

Address 

City 

County 

Latitude (decimal degrees) 

Longitude (decimal degrees) 

Total acreage 

List anticipated markets for crop & harvest dates 

Property Owner* 

*Statement of Property Ownership:  Are you (licensee applicant) the owner of all the above properties used to grow hemp?   yes      no

If No, attach signed & dated statements from each property owner giving consent to use their property to grow hemp. 

Application Fee and Affidavit.  A non-refundable applica-
tion fee of $100 is due with this application. Make checks 
payable to “Treasurer, State of Maine”.   

I declare that all the information provided on this appli-
cation is true and correct.  I understand that providing 
false, misleading or inaccurate information is grounds for 
license denial. I further understand that I am not licensed 
to grow hemp until the Department has approved my 
application and I have signed and returned a licensing 
agreement and paid the licensing fee of $500 plus 
$50.00/acre of hemp to be planted outdoors.   

_____________________________________________ 
Signature 

_____________________________________________ 
Printed Name 

_________________ 
Date 

Make a copy of this application for your records. 

Outdoor Grow Site ___ 

Address 

City 

County 

Latitude (decimal degrees) 

Longitude (decimal degrees) 

Total acreage 

List anticipated markets for crop & harvest dates 

Property Owner* 

Outdoor Grow Site ___ 

Address 

City 

County 

Latitude (decimal degrees) 

Longitude (decimal degrees) 

Total acreage 

List anticipated markets for crop & harvest dates 

Property Owner* 
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