
  Minimum Qualifications and Testing and Evaluation Process    

Maine Forest Ranger 

Minimum  Qualifications:  (Entry  level  knowledges,  skills,  and/or  abilities  may  be  acquired 

through, BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO the following coursework/training and/or experience). 

An Associate’s Degree in forestry, fire science, criminal justice, emergency management, biology, 
geology  ‐OR‐  any  degree  which  includes  15  hours  of  natural  sciences  ‐OR‐  an  acceptable 
equivalent two (2) year combination of directly related education, training, and/or experience. 
 
Be at least 21 years old by the time of appointment to the Maine Criminal Justice Academy ‐OR‐ 
can be only 20 years old and have completed an associate degree or 60 credit hours of post‐
secondary education. 

A valid Maine driver’s license and successful completion of all required training must be met by 
all employees prior to attaining permanent status in this class. 
 
Salary and Benefit Package: 
 

 Salary and Grade:  19  $19.94  ‐  $26.47/hr  (*Includes  $.85  salary  adjustment)  
Benefit Package: 

o Health, Dental, and Life Insurance Options 
o Paid vacation and sick leave 
o Deferred Compensation Program options 
o Clothing and telephone allowances 
o Issued uniform and field gear 
o Issued Forest Ranger patrol vehicle 
 

Testing and Evaluation Process: 
 
The  selection  process  is  extensive  and  thorough.  The process  is  conducted by  the  Bureau  of 
Human Resources and the Division of Forest Protection. It involves multiple evaluation phases 
and you must successfully complete each phase to proceed to the next. 
 
Applications are accepted during open application periods.  If you wish to be notified of an open 
application period  you  can  call  207‐287‐4990  to  be  added  to  a  recruitment  list.    Upon open 
enrollment, you will receive an application packet.   
  
Use this link to have access to open enrollment periods: 
http://www.maine.gov/nrsc/jobs/index.shtml 
 



Upon open enrollment period, interested candidates need to complete and submit an online 
State of Maine Direct Hire Application along with a detailed resume, college transcripts and 
cover letter @ https://mainebhr.recruiterbox.com/   In addition, proof of successful completion 
of the Alert and PT tests administered by MCJA will need to be forwarded 
 
Applications are screened, and each candidate is notified of an application being accepted or 
not.  Once accepted, each applicant will be sent detailed instructions and process timelines 
along with an integrity questionnaire which is required to be completed and sent back to the 
Maine Forest Service prior to the scheduling of the oral board phase of the hiring process.   
 
Alert Examination and Physical Fitness Test: 
 
Each candidate will be required to compete the Alert exam and physical fitness test prior to 
having their application accepted.  If it has been longer than 2 years since you have taken the 
physical fitness test at MCJA, you will need to retake the test for your fitness level to be 
current.  You can take the Alert exam and physical fitness test on the same day.  The link for 
scheduling is found here:  https://www.maine.gov/dps/mcja/index.shtml 
 
What is the ALERT Examination? 
 
The ALERT Examination is a reading comprehension and writing skills test. It is used to ensure 
that applicants to the Law Enforcement Pre‐Service and the Basic Law Enforcement Training 
Program have the requisite reading and writing skills to complete the programs and function as 
a law enforcement officer. 

How do I sign up to take the ALERT Examination? 

 

The ALERT Examination is offered at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro on the 
1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month. To make an appointment to take the exam please call 
(207)877‐8000. Applicants must bring with them a government issued picture identification 
such as a driver’s license and the $50.00 fee. If paying with cash, please bring the correct 
amount. If paying with check, please bring a check for $50.00 made payable to “Treasurer, State 
of Maine”. Applicants should arrive at 8:15 AM, 15 minutes prior to the start of the exam at 
8:30 AM. Anyone arriving after the exam has started will be asked to reschedule. No electronic 
devices such as cell phones or cameras will be allowed in the testing room. Please lock these 
devices in your vehicle before entering the building.  
 

Physical Fitness Test Hiring Requirements 

The following three (3) test items constitute the physical fitness test (PFT) REQUIREMENTS for 
the Maine Forest Ranger hiring process.  Applicants must successfully complete the Push Up 
and Sit Up tests at the 50th percentile and the 1.5 mile run test at the 60th percentile coinciding 
with age and gender. 



1. One Minute Push‐up test; 

2. One Minute Sit‐up test; and 

3. 1.5‐mile run 

 

 
 

 
FITNESS 

MALE (50th Percentile) 
AGE 

FEMALE (50th Percentile) 
AGE 

TEST 20–29 30–39 40–49 50-59 20–29 30–39 40–49 50-59 

One Minute Push -up Test 33 27 21 15 18 14 11 5 

One Minute Sit-up Test 
40 36 31 26 35 27 22 17 

 MALE (60th Percentile) FEMALE (60th Percentile) 

1.5 Mile Run 11:31 11:56 12:25 13.32 13:24 14:04 14:44 16:21 

 

PHYSICAL FITNESS TEST DESCRIPTIONS: 

ONE MINUTE PUSH‐UP TEST:  You will assume the standard position for a push‐up, which is the 
body rigid and straight from head to their heels (plank position) with the feet together and 
the hands slightly wider than shoulder‐width apart in the “UP” position.  An administrator 
will place a 3‐inch measuring device on the surface directly under your chest, between and 
in line with the nipples of your chest.  With the back and remainder of the body straight 
always, you will lower the body towards the floor until your sternum touches the 3‐inch 
measuring device being held by the administrator’s hand.  You will then push to the fully 
extended UP position, so that the elbows come to a near locked position.  You cannot 
wiggle to get to the UP position.  This will complete one repetition.  You will complete as 
many correct push‐ups as possible in 1 minute.  You may rest only in the UP position while 
maintaining your body in a straight position at all times during the test.  If you do not touch 
the 3‐inch measuring device or do not go all the way up, those individual push‐ups do not 
count.  If you come out of the plank position or any parts of your body touch the floor other 
than your hands and feet, the test is over.  The test administrator will count out loud only 
the number of correct push‐ups completed. 

Scoring:  The total number of correct push‐ups in 1 minute. 

ONE MINUTE SIT‐UP TEST:  The test will begin in the down position. You will lie down on your 
back with knees bent and heels flat on the same level surface that you are lying down on.  A 
partner will hold your feet down.  Your hands will be placed clasped behind your head.  
Fingers are interlocked throughout the exercise.  A correct sit‐up is performed by sitting up 
until the upper body is perpendicular to the floor.  Usually this will mean that your elbows 



must touch the top of your knees or extend beyond your lower legs.  The complete sit‐up is 
finished in the correct “UP” position.  You will return to a full lying position (with upper back 
touching the floor) before starting the next sit‐up.  The buttocks must be kept in contact 
with the surface during the sit‐up with no thrusting of the hips.  You will perform as many 
sit‐ups as possible in 1 minute.  If your buttocks come off the floor, your fingers come 
unclasped, you do not come all the way up to perpendicular or your shoulders do not touch 
the floor, those individual sit‐ups will not count.  The test administrator will count out loud 
only the number of correct sit‐ups completed. 

Scoring:  Your total number of correct sit‐ups in 1 minute. 

1.5 MILE RUN:  The applicant will walk, jog, run, or any combination thereof, a distance of one 
and one‐half miles.  A measured, level course will be used, such as an indoor or outdoor 
track.  Exact distances will be indicated.  A monitor will keep record of the distance and time 
the applicant has completed.  If using a track, a monitor will inform the applicant at the end 
of each lap the cumulative running time or a visual timing device will be observable by the 
applicant.  The assigned monitor will count out loud the number of laps completed. 

Scoring:  The time it takes to finish 1.5 miles. 

 

How do I sign up for the physical fitness test: 

The physical fitness test is offered at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro on the 
1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month. To make an appointment to take the test please call 
(207)877‐8000. Applicants must bring with them a government issued picture identification 
such as a driver’s license and the $35.00 fee. If paying with cash, please bring the correct 
amount. If paying with check, please bring a check for $35.00 made payable to “Treasurer, State 
of Maine”. Applicants should arrive by 8:30 AM, 30 minutes prior to the start of the test at 9:00 
AM.  If you are taking the Alert test on the same day, you will arrive at MCJA at 8:15 am, take 
the exam, and then proceed to take the physical fitness test.  A total of $85.00 is needed for 
both exam and test.   
 
 
Structured Oral Board 

 

All candidates that successfully complete the Alert exam and fitness test will be scheduled for a 
structured oral interview upon acceptance of their application and returning the integrity 
questionnaire that will be sent to each applicant.   You will be rated in the following categories: 
Commitment/Independence; Judgment/Logic; Communications Skills; Applied Knowledge; 
Decision Making/Decisiveness; Tact & Diplomacy; Motivation; Leadership; Problem Solving 
Ability; and may partake in a written aptitude test.  
 
Pre‐polygraph interview, polygraph examination, background investigation and psychological 
exam are conducted as steps in the hiring process. Applicants not satisfactorily passing each 
phase will be eliminated from the Forest Ranger hiring process.  



Disqualifying conduct / actions include: 
 

 Has been found guilty of murder or any crime classified in Maine Law as a Class A, B, or 
C crime (any felony) 

 Has been found guilty of any crime classified in Maine Law as a Class D crime 
(misdemeanor with a maximum term of imprisonment of less than one year) 

 Has been found guilty of violating any of the following provisions of the Maine Criminal 
Code: 1) Chapter 15 (theft); 2) Chapter 19 (falsification in official matters); 3) Chapter 25 
(bribery and corrupt practices); or 4) Chapter 45 (drugs)  

 Has been found guilty of any crime that is a violation of the domestic abuse provisions 
of any state or federal statutes 

 Has an extensive record of motor vehicle law violations 

 Has been found guilty of operating‐under‐the‐influence of intoxicating liquor and/or 
drugs within the 10 years prior to date of hire 

 Has been found guilty of conduct specified in subparagraphs 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 in another 
state or jurisdiction 

 Has been adjudicated to have committed a 0.02 violation (liquor violation under 21 
years of age) within the 6 years prior to date of application 

 Has ingested or been injected with or used a hallucinogenic drug 

 Has illegally sold scheduled drugs or drugs which require a prescription 

 Has engaged in illegal drug use beyond what is considered as experimentation 

 Is currently abusing drugs or alcohol 

 Falsifies, misrepresents, or omits information concerning a material fact in the 
application, during any of the tests, when interviewed, during the background 
investigation, polygraph examination, or on the pre‐polygraph questionnaire 

 

Colonels Interview: 
 
Applicants successfully completing all prior phases of the hiring process will be scheduled for an 
interview with the Division’s Chief.  Applicants passing this phase will be placed on the 
Division’s hiring register maintained at the Natural Resource Service Center.  The register will be 
used to fill vacancies across the State and will be valid for 18 months after it’s establishment. 
 
Once Hired 
 
New Rangers are required to attend and successfully complete a 12 to 18 week Law 
Enforcement Basic School and a 10 week advanced Forest Ranger post school. Upon graduation 
from these academies, new Rangers will work under a Field Training Officer for a period of six 
(6) months (832hrs minimum).  Employment during this probationary period is contingent on a 
new employee passing all the above requirements. 
 
 

 


