# Areas included in the Emerald Ash Borer Emergency Order or Quarantine Area in Maine

## (Updated March 2023)

The <u>emerald ash borer</u> was first detected in Maine in 2018. Regulations, including a quarantine and emergency order, are in place to prevent the uncontrolled spread of the pest. The <u>quarantine</u> (MSword docx) covers all of York and Cumberland Counties and parts of Oxford and Aroostook Counties. The <u>Emergency Order</u> covers all of Androscoggin, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc and Waldo Counties and Parts of Aroostook, Franklin, Oxford, Penobscot Piscataquis and Somerset Counties. These areas are detailed below by county. Requirements for handling ash tree material from the emergency order area parallel those of the quarantine areas.

## Androscoggin County

**Emergency Order:** Entire County

#### **Aroostook County**

Quarantine: Allagash, Caswell, Connor Twp, Cross Lake Twp (T17 R5 WELS), Cyr Plt, Eagle Lake, Fort Kent, Frenchville, Grand Isle, Hamlin, Madawaska, Madawaska Lake Twp (T16 R4 WELS), New Canada, New Sweden, Saint Agatha, Saint Francis, Saint John Plantation, Sinclair Twp (T17 R4 WELS), Stockholm, T16 R5 WELS, T16 R6 WELS, Van Buren Cove Township (T17 R3 WELS), Van Buren and Wallagrass

Emergency Order: T16 R8 WELS and T16 R9

WELS

## **Cumberland County**

**Quarantine:** Entire County

## Franklin County

Emergency Order: Avon, Carrabassett Valley, Carthage, Chesterville, Dallas Plt, Farmington, Freeman Twp, Industry, Jay, Kingfield, Madrid Twp, Mount Abram Twp, New Sharon, New Vineyard, Perkins Twp, Phillips, Rangeley, Rangeley Plt, Redington Twp, Salem Twp, Sandy River Plt, Strong, Temple, Township 6 North of Weld, Township D, Township E, Washington Twp, Weld and Wilton

#### **Kennebec County**

**Emergency Order:** Entire County

**Knox County** 

**Emergency Order: Entire County** 

Lincoln County

**Emergency Order:** Entire County

#### Oxford County

Quarantine: Brownfield, Denmark, Fryeburg,

Hiram and Porter

Emergency Order: Adamstown Twp, Albany
Twp, Andover, Andover North Surplus Twp,
Andover West Surplus Twp, Batchelders Grant
Twp, Bethel, Buckfield, Byron, C Surplus,
Canton, Dixfield, Gilead, Grafton Twp,
Greenwood, Hanover, Hartford, Hebron, Lincoln
Plt, Lovell, Magalloway Twp, Mason Twp,
Mexico, Milton Twp, Newry, Norway, Otisfield,
Oxford, Paris, Peru, Richardsontown Twp, Riley
Twp, Roxbury, Rumford, Stoneham, Stow,
Sumner, Sweden, Township C, Upton,
Waterford, West Paris and Woodstock

## **Penobscot County**

Emergency Order: Alton, Argyle Twp, Bangor, Bradford, Bradley, Brewer, Carmel, Charleston, Clifton, Corinna, Corinth, Dexter, Dixmont, Eddington, Edinburg, Etna, Exeter, Garland, Glenburn, Hampden, Hermon, Holden, Hudson, Indian Island, Kenduskeag, Lagrange, Levant, Milford, Newburgh, Newport, Old Town, Orono, Orrington, Plymouth, Stetson and Veazie

## Piscataquis County

**Emergency Order:** Abbot, Atkinson Twp, Dover-Foxcroft, Guilford, Kingsbury Plt, Medford, Milo, Orneville Twp, Parkman, Sangerville, Sebec and

Wellington

## Sagadahoc County

**Emergency Order:** Entire County

More information: www.maine.gov/eab

## **Somerset County**

Emergency Order: Anson, Athens, Bingham, Brighton Plt, Cambridge, Canaan, Concord Twp, Cornville, Detroit, Embden, Fairfield, Harmony, Hartland, Highland Plt, Lexington Twp, Madison, Mayfield Twp, Mercer, Moscow, New Portland, Norridgewock, Palmyra, Pittsfield, Pleasant Ridge Plt, Ripley, Saint Albans, Skowhegan, Smithfield, Solon and Starks

## Waldo County

**Emergency Order:** Entire County

York County

**Quarantine:** Entire County



Revised: 3/31/2023