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MAINE LIVESTOCK AND POULTRY DEALERS LICENSE FOR 2024-2025 

(Keep for your records) 
LIVESTOCK AND POULTRY DEALER RULES AND REGULATIONS THAT APPLICANT 
UNDERSTANDS AND AGREES WITH THE STATE OF MAINE LICENSING. 
 

1. Livestock and Poultry dealers are an important part of agricultural commerce in the State and 
licensing aids in the tracing of animal disease to stop or reduce its spread and minimize the 
negative impact to livestock operations.  Licensing allows a dealer to create a business to help 
the supply of livestock meet the demand in other locations. To facilitate this supply chain 
demand, all dealers holding a license in good standing will be posted on the DACF website to 
help constituents reach licensed dealers. Dealers are given a special plate for each vehicle and a 
renewal sticker is sent to affix on it each year. 

2. A person or business that operates as a livestock dealer (Chapter 206 Maine Statute) and that 
fail to obtain a license and operate without a license commits a civil violation for which a 
forfeiture not to exceed $100 per day for each violation may be adjudged, except that the total 
of the forfeitures may not exceed $25,000. 

3. Dealers are required to keep records of location and contact information of sellers and buyers 
with numbers and type of animals transported and the animal’s individual official identifications. 

4. Dealers must keep monthly records including back tags used and supply records of sellers and 
buyers including dates and animals transported within 24 hours of a request by state officials. 

5. It is a violation of Maine statute if a person transports animals into the state with the knowledge 
that they have or have been exposed to a  reportable pathogen (see Chapter 206) [Chapter 305, 
section 1803].  Any dealer that violates provisions of Maine Statue are under Penalty to be fined 
and have their licensed revoked or suspended. A person who intentionally, knowingly, or 
recklessly introduces or takes a substantial step or action that could introduce a disease or 
pathogen to livestock or poultry commits a Class D crime.[Chapter 301, section 1707) 

6. Licensed livestock and poultry dealers must review and apply the federal and state rules as they 
pertain to official animal identification.  Specifically, the requirements for USDA Scrapie ear tags 
for any movement of sheep and goats, and official individual identification for the interstate 
movement of cattle, horses, or swine as well as movements of Maine livestock within the state. 

7. Official USDA identification is part of the Animal Disease Traceability (ADT) Program with  
support available from the DACF’s ADT technician who can be reached at our office.   

8. Find State regulations that pertain to livestock dealers, see Maine Statute Chapter 201 Rules 
Governing Licensed Livestock Dealers AND Chapter 206  Prevention, Eradication and Control of 
Disease of Domestic Animals and Poultry on our Maine Animal Health website.  

9. License will expire July 1 of each year. Renewal applications are mailed out in May and 
applications and fees are due by the end of June.  Online applications are open all year. 

https://www.maine.gov/dacf/ahw/animal_health/index.shtml 
 
Contact our Animal Health office with any questions 207-287-3701 or animalhealth.AGR@maine.gov 
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