Name Title/Position Nominating Authority Location
Board Members      
Carleton Barnes, Jr. Consultant and Manager Governor Calais, ME
Amy Fowler Commissioner, Waldo County Maine County Commissioner Association Palermo, ME
Joel Merry* Sheriff, Sagadahoc County Maine Sheriffs' Association West Bath, ME

Ryan Thornell Executive Director Board of Corrections  
Mallory Pollard Financial Analyst Board of Corrections  
*Chairperson of the Board

 Composition of the State Board of Corrections

The board consists of 5 members who are appointed by the Governor. Each appointment is subject to review by the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice and public safety matters and to confirmation by the Senate, except those members appointed pursuant to paragraph C. The following provisions govern member qualifications:

  • One member must be a sheriff nominated by a statewide organization sheriffs;
  • One member must be a county commissioner nominated by a statewide organization representing county commissioners;
  • Two members must be representatives of the executive branch and at least one of the 2 must be from the department; and
  • One member must be broadly representive of the public. The member appointed under this paragraph may not be an elected state or county official or municipal officer and may not derive income in substantial portion from work as an employee of state, county, or municipal government or in the field of corrections.