Practical Nurse Licensure by Examination
Licensure Requirements

The following information is the general information needed for licensure and does not reflect
other information that may be requested based on review of an application.

Application

1. Apply on-line at www.maine.gov/boardofnursing. Select | want to “apply
for a license” and follow the instructions.

2. Upload a current picture (not a copy of a driver’s license, ID, or passport)

3. Upload a signature page that is manually signed (electronic signatures are
not accepted). The on-line process will provide information where to find
this form or go to www.maine.gov/boardofnursing and the form is located
in the licensing section.

4. Send in supporting documentation. All “yes” responses to questions in the

disciplinary section of the application require a signed explanation (and
court documents for any incidents that occurred less than 10 years ago).

* Maine State Board of Nursing 158 SHS Augusta ME 04333; or
e Diana.K.Lemelin@maine.gov

5. The non-refundable application fee is $50.00.
Nurse Licensure Compact Information

1. Alegal resident of another compact state cannot apply for registered
professional nurse licensure by examination in the state of Maine.

2. Alegal resident of another compact state, moving to Maine, is required to
provide a Declaration of Primary Residence Form when the applicant
relocates to Maine. The form can be found at
www.maine.gov/boardofnursing in the licensing section.

3. Maine state law authorizes the board to request any or all documents that
provide proof of legal residency in Maine, including driver’s license, voter
registration, car registration, tax forms, and validation of residence.
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Transcript(s)

1. Applicants graduating from out of state programs must have the school
send or e-mail a final transcript with degree and date conferred to:
e Maine State Board of Nursing 158 SHS Augusta ME 04333 or
e diana.k.lemelin@maine.gov

School Certification

1. The school must complete the Certification of School Form for on-line
applicants located at www.maine.gov/boardofnursing located in the
licensing section under examination.

Criminal Background Check

1. Maine state law authorizes the State Board of Nursing to require an
applicant to complete the fingerprinting process for a criminal
background check on initial licensure. Go to
www.maine.gov/boardofnursing. Select “I want to obtain a criminal
background check” and follow the instructions. The criminal background
check results are only valid for 90 days.

Applicants with Nursing Service in the Medical Corps of Any Branch of the Armed
Forces of the United States

The MAINE NURSE PRACTICE ACT, 32 M.R.S. § 2251-A(2), specifies that an applicant
who qualifies on the basis of U.S. military service must have “A. Served on active
duty in the medical corps of any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States
and spent an aggregate of at least 12 months rendering bedside patient care; B.
Completed the basic course of instruction in nursing required by the branch of the
Armed Forces of the United States in which the applicant served; and C. Was
honorably discharged from active duty.”
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1. Complete the on-line application for Licensed Practical Nurse by Examination
as stated above and follow the instructions.
2. Upload the following documents as part of the application process:
e Official transcripts or official “certificate of release or discharge from
active duty” (DD214) showing completion of basic course
of instruction in nursing required by the branch of the armed forces.
e Official DD214 or other military document showing that service in
the armed forces has been under honorable conditions, or whose
general discharge has been under honorable conditions; and
e Military performance evaluations while assigned to a military
hospital verifying 12 months inpatient bedside patient care (including
hospital assigned, specific dates to and from, wards assigned, and
duties performed).

3. For further information see FAQs-Applicants with Nursing Service in the

Medical Corps.

4. Applicants that successfully pass the Licensed Practical Nurse NCLEX
examination will be issued a “single state” (for practice in Maine only)
license.

Foreign or Canadian Applicants (Without Social Security Numbers)

1. Paper applications are available at www.maine.gov/boardofnursing,
“Licensure by Examination”.

2. The school must place a seal the third page of the application.

3. The applicant must have a transcript review by the Commission of
Graduates of Foreign Nursing Programs (CGFNS), and that information
must be submitted to the Board office by CGFNS or posted for our review
on the CGFNS website.

United States (US) Social Security Number

1. The applicant must be issued a US Social Security Number before the
applicant can be issued a Maine Practical Nursing License.
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Important Information

1. Applications are processed in the order they are received. Status of an

application may be checked by going to the following link:
www.maine.gov/boardofnursing. Select “I want to check the status of an

application” and follow the instructions.

2. Alicense will be emailed to the current email address on file with the
board.

3. After verifying an active Maine state license on the board website,
enrollment with Nursys E-Notify is recommended. Select “As a Nurse” to

complete the registration process.

4. Maintain current contact information with the Maine State Board of
Nursing. To update your information, go to
www.maine.gov/boardofnursing and select the appropriate option in
the “l want to” box.

5. Qualifications for PN licensure can be found at:
http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/32/title32sec2251-A.html
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